We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
John P
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Best snorkelling tour of our lives
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Aug 2023
We stayed in the garden unit, slightly back from the beach, but the indoor bathroom made it worth it. We cooked at home some nights - fill your suitcase with groceries in NZ if you can, because shopping is limited.

Matriki has a new gas BBQ near the shore where the spectacular sunsets happen, so bring meat too! The picnic tables on the beach are a great place to socialise with other guests. One night we even had a fire on the sand.

I highly recommend the Island Night at the next-door Tamanu Beach Resort, but suggest reserving a table as soon as you have flights booked because it is popular. We found it difficult to get tables at other restaurants and resorts as well.

Matriki's owner Matthias took us on the best snorkelling tour we have ever done, so we did it a second time. Swam with humpback whale and calf, green turtles, flocks of eagle rays, heaps of coloured fish, landed on several islands to see rare birds, giant clams, a shipwreck, and finally a dozen giant trevally and a Napoleon wrasse all about a metre long and swimming all around us.

I think it fairly likely I will make a return visit one cold winter.
Date of stay: July 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$1,353
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,353
0.9 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$881
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $613
  • Expedia.com
    $651
0.1 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bungalow no.7
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
3.1 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free parking
Beachfront
our lodge
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Matriki Beach Huts
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
185
33
9
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
185
33
9
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared toilet rustic beach outdoor shower mosquito net delicious lunch snorkeling tour lagoon cruise star accommodation scooter hire outer islands drinking water giant clams watch the sunset beautiful island bikes bungalow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2023

Matriki Beach Huts is a fantastic option for people seeking a tranquil accommodation option, beach front, amongst beautiful, mature gardens. Rikki and Matthias were exception hosts - helping us get set up with transport, taking me on a small, informative lagoon and snorkelling boat tour, and generally being friendly, with daily fascinating chats. If we return to Aitutaki, we'll definitely be booking in again. We loved the atmosphere at Matriki.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2022 via mobile

We loved this accomodation but if your looking for a flashy resort Holiday this may not be for you. The spot is magic! Rustic beach HUTS , built by your host Mattius , nestled among the coconut palms and a lovely tropical garden. The outdoor shower is solar and the toilets were separate but spotlessly clean. Step out out of your hut and onto the beach to go snorkeling (see the giant clams!) Light a small fire on the beach snd watch the sunset. All equipment including bikes ( not the flashiest but fine) provided free. We paid for Mattius to take us on a snorkeling tour ( cheapest on the island) and found once again we had avoided the main tourist industry to experience something unique. Not only did we did we see whales, swim with turtles and Giant Trevally but we got to see and learn about the nesting birds and the problems they face on the outer islands. Nesting boobies and Red Tailed Tropic birds. A delicious lunch ( described by the very understated Mattius as a light snack. ) was perfect. It was also nice to know that our money was going 100% into the local economy. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to get back.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank H9939VMsarahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2022 via mobile

While its not everyones cup of tea, we just loved this cute bungalow experience. Back to the basics, beach front holiday. While its prob only a 2 star accommodation it is all we needed. Everything supplied, sheets, towels, fully equipped kitchen, fly spray, bug burners, mosquito net over bed, mesh on windows, fan, fridge with wee freezer box and ice trays, drinking water, great snorkeling directly infront, white sand, onsite scooter hire, bonfires, amazing island/lagoon cruise and more. (Shared Toilet is 1 min walk from bungalow)

Room tip: The winter here is similar to NZ summer. Take a sweater and raincoat. Sun doesnt burn like NZ. Local shops have plenty of basic goods sim $
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TG123NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2022

We stayed for 8 nights in this absolute beach front hut. This is not the place if you want aircon and other luxuries, but these back to basic huts were perfect. A few metres to the beach, SUPs available, and on a beach that was fantastic for the sunsets and the snorkelling out from the huts. We took a lagoon cruise with the owner- great all day cruise to beautiful spots- highly recommended.
We hope to return and do it all over again.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikebutcher2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

The location on the lagoon, the loving quirkiness of the huts, the warm welcome of the hosts and the ambience make this a jewel of a place to stay. You can't help but feel happy here in this perfect little paradise. Of course it was superb weather during my stay, but I expect it is also special in the rain.
I loved this place and would return if given the chance. For a single traveller it was perfect.

Room tip: Three huts all with lagoon views. Garden hut set back but with lagoon views.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews