We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anna O

Best accommodation on Aitutaki

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 May 2024
Free airport pick up. Then was greeted by resort manager (Tiffany) who was so friendly and helpful throughout the whole stay. We were offered fresh coconut whilst waiting for room to be ready and was given tour of the facilities. The resort consists of 8 standalone villas. We stayed in garden view villa which is furthest from the beach but even then we had view of the water from villa patio and was 20 steps away from the prestine waters. The breakfast buffet selection had home made bread, eggs made to preference and fresh fruits. There is also an honesty bar where you make your own drinks. There were more than adequate number of sun beds at beach, free flippers and SUPs. The reef by the resort is one of the best spots for snorkelling (unless you go on lagoon cruise) - compared to likes of Pacific resort hotel or Aitutaki private island resort. The facility is so quiet as there is only 8 villas, it was really an exclusive and relaxing experience. The room is so thoughtfully designed with comfy bed, UV filtered drinking water tap, outdoor shower. We enjoyed renting e-buggy to go around the island for the day ($25 fee per use, 2 buggies available), there are also e-scooters and bicycle options.

I would definitely return to Aitutaki and Etu Moana would be the accommodation of our choice over and over.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana BeachVillas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kia Orana,
Thank you for your review and summary of some of the many things that make Etu Moana so special. We are thrilled you were so pleased with our thoughtful design, quiet environment and fun amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back should you return in the future!
The Etu Moana Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $915
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,349
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.8 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Bungalow no.7
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.8 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $970
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
our lodge
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
1,114
62
9
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,114
62
9
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar our honeymoon cook islands the managers lagoon cruise honor bar fish yogurt each morning pacific resort relaxing holiday heaven on earth small resort beautiful island wonderful hosts koru cafe outdoor shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2024

We stayed at Etu Moana for week two of our three week stay in the Cooks. As we were on extended travels of five months away, we had intended to find somewhere mid-range, but having looked at all the options, this place looked so amazing that we decided to blow the budget :).

I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed and our garden villa was everything we wanted and more (as Tiffany says, there are no bad views and you will still see the sea from it, even if you're not directly beach-front).

As it was shoulder-season we did have a couple of days of rain, but still managed to top up our tans. The villas are lovely (extremely high-end) and you can easily lounge about on the day bed or the lounger under-cover. The beach is super quiet and chilled and with only 8 bungalows, you are never going to be disturbed or have an issue finding space.

We would like to say thank you to Jeff and Tiffany (who are the current managers) for being so kind. Jeff taught us how to ride the electric scooters and we were soon whizzing all about the island (I think we went down every road) - we also used the buggy to do some food shopping on our first day. I loved the scooters so much that I am going to take my motorbike license in the UK and hope to buy a vespa next year - thank you Jeff!

We were also delighted that all of our postcards arrived with our friends and family, so thank you to Jeff for posting them for us...

Tiffany arranged for us to go out on the lagoon tour (with Teking) and we had a fabulous day - the water is some of the most amazing you will see anywhere in the world.

Finally just a note about food - we were on a budget so needed to self-cater - it can be a challenge to find food in the shops on Aitutaki so just bear that in mind - the nearest shop is a 20-minute walk away (Tina's). If you use the scooters then you can pop round all of the shops to see what they have (what they have may be totally different to what was there the day before)! We also ate lunch at Avatea cafe three times which was amazing, and is recommended by the team.

If you're lucky enough to be visiting the Cooks, do not miss to visit Etu Moana - you will not regret it!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woganmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Kia Orana,

We are so happy you enjoyed a little of everything that Etu Moana and Aitutaki has to offer! The warm genuine smiles of our team, the quiet beauty of our surroundings from the gardens, to the lagoon and sunset is the ideal setting for relaxation. What a delight to know our electric scooters inspired you! We hope you are soon enjoying your vespa. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back some day. A big meitaki from the entire team for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

Etu Moana Beach Villas encapsulates the essence of a serene island escape, seamlessly blending luxury, comfort, and impeccable service. From the moment of arrival, the warmth and professionalism of the staff, particularly noted with Kirstin’s thorough tour, set a welcoming tone that resonates throughout the stay. The grounds of Etu Moana are a testament to meticulous care and beauty, inviting guests to unwind in an idyllic setting that feels both manicured and naturally stunning.

While the initial warmth of the villas upon arrival hinted at the tropical climate’s intensity, this minor hiccup was quickly overshadowed by the villas’ cleanliness and the thoughtful spa-like ambiance that awaited inside. This attention to creating a tranquil environment extends to the resort’s amenities, including the consistently good breakfast with a stable selection of choices daily, ensuring a delightful start to each morning.

The option to rent buggies, although noted as steep in price, presents a unique way to explore the surroundings, suggesting a balance between cost and convenience. This detail, coupled with the proximity to a spa experience that’s just a short ride away, underscores the resort’s commitment to providing guests with accessible relaxation options.

The staff at Etu Moana deserve special mention for their exceptional service and accommodation, creating a friendly and inviting atmosphere that enriches the stay. The honesty bar and the anytime-accessible pool are thoughtful touches that enhance the sense of ease and freedom during the vacation.

Etu Moana Beach Villas stands out as a sanctuary of relaxation and beauty. Its combination of luxurious villas, exquisite grounds, and stellar service promises an unforgettable retreat. While there’s a suggestion for improvement in pre-cooling the villas for arriving guests, the overall experience is profoundly positive. The promise of returning for a longer stay reflects the compelling allure of Etu Moana, where every detail contributes to an atmosphere of unparalleled relaxation and enjoyment.

Room tip: Resort will pick you up from airport. Head to Tina’s Co for 24/7 grocery store, limited selection.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DanielP376
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

When we came to Aitutaki, we tried many different places, including the ones that got the highest reviews on TripAdvisor. Etu Moana was far, far better than anywhere else on the island! And it had the best prices, too - much more affordable than "resorts" that weren't nearly as good!

Tiffany and Jeff were the best hosts possible, attending to all our needs. They were so generous in letting guests use the e-bikes for free. (By contrast, Pacific Resort charged a fortune for guests just to take a bike for an hour!) They also let us use the golf carts to go around the island. Most of all, they are delightful people, friendly and kind and warm and welcoming.

The villas are gorgeous. The beach is just as spectacular as anywhere else on the island. And it's very close to a place where you can hike to the best view on Aitutaki.

Room tip: There are lots of roosters, so be sure to bring ear plugs to get some good sleep! (To be fair, this is true everywhere on the island.)
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Kia Orana,

We are so happy you enjoyed a little of everything that Etu Moana and Aitutaki has to offer! The warm genuine smiles of our team, the quiet beauty of our surroundings from the gardens, to the lagoon and sunset is the ideal setting for relaxation. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back some day. A big meitaki from the entire team for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024

We stayed at Etu Moana for 3 days and for most of that stay were under a cyclone warning. Not too worry. The resort managers were very helpful in providing information on the situation and advice on how to stay safe. The villa was comfortable and a perfect place to wait out the storm. The resort kindly provided us with a chacuterie board to see us through and a bottle of champagne to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was not the experience we expected in Aitutaki, but thanks to Etu Moana we made the best out of the experience. Lovely resort and would not hesitate to stay there again. Thank you!

Room tip: The resort has bikes, scooters and electric golf carts that you can use to get around the island.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bamab75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Kia Orana and thank you for your review. Mother Nature was being pesky during your 3 days here! While not the experience you expected, we appreciate that you made the best of the weather with smiles on your faces. We hope to welcome you back and give you an opportunity to see Aitutaki in all its sunny glory!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024

We just returned from five nights at this wonderful resort. Beautiful, relaxing......good for the soul. Our accommodations were clean, modern, and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable and every morning we woke up to a spectacular view of the white beach and vibrant turquoise waters of the lagoon. We were in unit 3, right on the beach and spent much of our time just sitting on the front porch, sometimes reading, sometimes playing a card game, but all the while taking in the splendors of our environment.
We enjoyed our breakfast, thanks in no small part to the two lovely young ladies, Sky and Sandy, who greeted us with smiles and hospitality each morning. Breakfast included eggs of your choice, beautiful fresh local fruit, breads, cheeses, juices, coffee and tea. Was wonderful.
Our hostess, Tiffany, was always ready to answer any of our questions about the island. She clued us in on the best places to eat as well as things to see and do. She also arranged a fantastic all-day lagoon tour that was more than amazing.
If you are looking for beauty, and relaxation the Etu Moana Resort is the place to stay. We loved our stay and the island of Aitutaki. Friendly people, who enjoy sharing their beautiful island.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Kia Orana,

We are so happy you enjoyed a little of everything that Etu Moana and Aitutaki has to offer! The warm genuine smiles of our team, the quiet beauty of our surroundings from the gardens, to the lagoon and sunset is the ideal setting for relaxation. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back some day. A big meitaki from the entire team for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews