We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
woganmog
London, United Kingdom

Outstanding...

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Apr 2024
We stayed at Etu Moana for week two of our three week stay in the Cooks. As we were on extended travels of five months away, we had intended to find somewhere mid-range, but having looked at all the options, this place looked so amazing that we decided to blow the budget :).

I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed and our garden villa was everything we wanted and more (as Tiffany says, there are no bad views and you will still see the sea from it, even if you're not directly beach-front).

As it was shoulder-season we did have a couple of days of rain, but still managed to top up our tans. The villas are lovely (extremely high-end) and you can easily lounge about on the day bed or the lounger under-cover. The beach is super quiet and chilled and with only 8 bungalows, you are never going to be disturbed or have an issue finding space.

We would like to say thank you to Jeff and Tiffany (who are the current managers) for being so kind. Jeff taught us how to ride the electric scooters and we were soon whizzing all about the island (I think we went down every road) - we also used the buggy to do some food shopping on our first day. I loved the scooters so much that I am going to take my motorbike license in the UK and hope to buy a vespa next year - thank you Jeff!

We were also delighted that all of our postcards arrived with our friends and family, so thank you to Jeff for posting them for us...

Tiffany arranged for us to go out on the lagoon tour (with Teking) and we had a fabulous day - the water is some of the most amazing you will see anywhere in the world.

Finally just a note about food - we were on a budget so needed to self-cater - it can be a challenge to find food in the shops on Aitutaki so just bear that in mind - the nearest shop is a 20-minute walk away (Tina's). If you use the scooters then you can pop round all of the shops to see what they have (what they have may be totally different to what was there the day before)! We also ate lunch at Avatea cafe three times which was amazing, and is recommended by the team.

If you're lucky enough to be visiting the Cooks, do not miss to visit Etu Moana - you will not regret it!
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Orana,

We are so happy you enjoyed a little of everything that Etu Moana and Aitutaki has to offer! The warm genuine smiles of our team, the quiet beauty of our surroundings from the gardens, to the lagoon and sunset is the ideal setting for relaxation. What a delight to know our electric scooters inspired you! We hope you are soon enjoying your vespa. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back some day. A big meitaki from the entire team for your kind review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $654
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.8 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
    0.5 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Bungalow no.7
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    0.5 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    2.8 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $1,645
    • Priceline
    3.2 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    Pool
    our lodge
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    1.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Aitutaki
    Reviews (1,191)
    Filter reviews
    1,191 results
    Traveller rating
    1,113
    62
    9
    1
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,113
    62
    9
    1
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews honesty bar our honeymoon cook islands the managers lagoon cruise honor bar fish yogurt each morning pacific resort relaxing holiday heaven on earth small resort beautiful island wonderful hosts koru cafe outdoor shower
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 1,191 reviews
    Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

    Etu Moana Beach Villas encapsulates the essence of a serene island escape, seamlessly blending luxury, comfort, and impeccable service. From the moment of arrival, the warmth and professionalism of the staff, particularly noted with Kirstin’s thorough tour, set a welcoming tone that resonates throughout the stay. The grounds of Etu Moana are a testament to meticulous care and beauty, inviting guests to unwind in an idyllic setting that feels both manicured and naturally stunning.

    While the initial warmth of the villas upon arrival hinted at the tropical climate’s intensity, this minor hiccup was quickly overshadowed by the villas’ cleanliness and the thoughtful spa-like ambiance that awaited inside. This attention to creating a tranquil environment extends to the resort’s amenities, including the consistently good breakfast with a stable selection of choices daily, ensuring a delightful start to each morning.

    The option to rent buggies, although noted as steep in price, presents a unique way to explore the surroundings, suggesting a balance between cost and convenience. This detail, coupled with the proximity to a spa experience that’s just a short ride away, underscores the resort’s commitment to providing guests with accessible relaxation options.

    The staff at Etu Moana deserve special mention for their exceptional service and accommodation, creating a friendly and inviting atmosphere that enriches the stay. The honesty bar and the anytime-accessible pool are thoughtful touches that enhance the sense of ease and freedom during the vacation.

    Etu Moana Beach Villas stands out as a sanctuary of relaxation and beauty. Its combination of luxurious villas, exquisite grounds, and stellar service promises an unforgettable retreat. While there’s a suggestion for improvement in pre-cooling the villas for arriving guests, the overall experience is profoundly positive. The promise of returning for a longer stay reflects the compelling allure of Etu Moana, where every detail contributes to an atmosphere of unparalleled relaxation and enjoyment.

    Room tip: Resort will pick you up from airport. Head to Tina’s Co for 24/7 grocery store, limited selection.
    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank DanielP376
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 March 2024

    When we came to Aitutaki, we tried many different places, including the ones that got the highest reviews on TripAdvisor. Etu Moana was far, far better than anywhere else on the island! And it had the best prices, too - much more affordable than "resorts" that weren't nearly as good!

    Tiffany and Jeff were the best hosts possible, attending to all our needs. They were so generous in letting guests use the e-bikes for free. (By contrast, Pacific Resort charged a fortune for guests just to take a bike for an hour!) They also let us use the golf carts to go around the island. Most of all, they are delightful people, friendly and kind and warm and welcoming.

    The villas are gorgeous. The beach is just as spectacular as anywhere else on the island. And it's very close to a place where you can hike to the best view on Aitutaki.

    Room tip: There are lots of roosters, so be sure to bring ear plugs to get some good sleep! (To be fair, this is true everywhere on the island.)
    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Alisco
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Kia Orana,

    We are so happy you enjoyed a little of everything that Etu Moana and Aitutaki has to offer! The warm genuine smiles of our team, the quiet beauty of our surroundings from the gardens, to the lagoon and sunset is the ideal setting for relaxation. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back some day. A big meitaki from the entire team for your kind review!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 March 2024

    We stayed at Etu Moana for 3 days and for most of that stay were under a cyclone warning. Not too worry. The resort managers were very helpful in providing information on the situation and advice on how to stay safe. The villa was comfortable and a perfect place to wait out the storm. The resort kindly provided us with a chacuterie board to see us through and a bottle of champagne to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was not the experience we expected in Aitutaki, but thanks to Etu Moana we made the best out of the experience. Lovely resort and would not hesitate to stay there again. Thank you!

    Room tip: The resort has bikes, scooters and electric golf carts that you can use to get around the island.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Bamab75
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Kia Orana and thank you for your review. Mother Nature was being pesky during your 3 days here! While not the experience you expected, we appreciate that you made the best of the weather with smiles on your faces. We hope to welcome you back and give you an opportunity to see Aitutaki in all its sunny glory!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 March 2024

    We just returned from five nights at this wonderful resort. Beautiful, relaxing......good for the soul. Our accommodations were clean, modern, and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable and every morning we woke up to a spectacular view of the white beach and vibrant turquoise waters of the lagoon. We were in unit 3, right on the beach and spent much of our time just sitting on the front porch, sometimes reading, sometimes playing a card game, but all the while taking in the splendors of our environment.
    We enjoyed our breakfast, thanks in no small part to the two lovely young ladies, Sky and Sandy, who greeted us with smiles and hospitality each morning. Breakfast included eggs of your choice, beautiful fresh local fruit, breads, cheeses, juices, coffee and tea. Was wonderful.
    Our hostess, Tiffany, was always ready to answer any of our questions about the island. She clued us in on the best places to eat as well as things to see and do. She also arranged a fantastic all-day lagoon tour that was more than amazing.
    If you are looking for beauty, and relaxation the Etu Moana Resort is the place to stay. We loved our stay and the island of Aitutaki. Friendly people, who enjoy sharing their beautiful island.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Bruce M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Kia Orana,

    We are so happy you enjoyed a little of everything that Etu Moana and Aitutaki has to offer! The warm genuine smiles of our team, the quiet beauty of our surroundings from the gardens, to the lagoon and sunset is the ideal setting for relaxation. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back some day. A big meitaki from the entire team for your kind review!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 February 2024

    We celebrated our 22nd anniversary here at Etu Moana and stayed for 6 nights and so glad we did, what a delightful stay! We were in a garden view room and when we arrived it was beautifully decorated with flowers everywhere. The porch is huge & the surrounding gardens nice. The room has lots of natural wood, bed was comfy, super nice to have filtered water in the kitchen sink and having a refrigerator to stash our drinks and fruit was good too. The bathrooms are very stylishly remodeled, tho a bit dark. Pool was quite warm while we were there, because of the hot weather, but still enjoyed it a few times. We took the stand up paddle boards out lots, even once at night to enjoy the sky full of stars. Definitely recommend using the reef shoes on offer. Managers Tiffany and Jeff are hospitable, helpful and knowledgable and totally on it! Loved all the staff too- very friendly and kind. The honor bar is very thoughtful and nice to have access to, tho we didn't indulge. And breakfast was better than average with good coffee, nice omelets and plenty of other choices too. But I would have to say our favorite perk of staying here was easy use of the E-scooters. These little electric scooters have plenty of pep and are so quiet too! we took them around the island and saw all the sights. SO fun! easy to learn and easy to drive. Thanks Jeff for the lessons.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Dannyanddrew
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Kia Orana,

    We are so happy you enjoyed a little of everything that Etu Moana and Aitutaki has to offer! The quiet beauty of our surroundings from the gardens, to the lagoon and sunset is the ideal setting for relaxation. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back some day. A big meitaki from the entire team for your kind review!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews