We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Pamela M
Absolutely One-of-a-Kind!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Nov 2023
We spent romantic, sun-filled days going from beach to outdoor shower to pool back to beach -- not worrying about life. We cannot recommend Etu Moana, Aitutaki, and its wonderful people nearly enough!
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Bring bug spray for dawn and dusk at the beach, as well as ear-plugs. Like many islands,...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$795
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $794
  • Vio.com
    $749
  • Priceline
    $795
0.4 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$1,500
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,500
  • Expedia.com
    $1,503
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,503
1.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
$572
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
    0.5 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Absolutely Beautiful
    Booking.com
    $195
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $195
    • Expedia.com
      $279
    • Hotels.com
      $294
    3.0 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Beach villas
    Booking.com
    $200
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $200
    • Agoda.com
      $200
    1.5 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Beachfront
    Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    our lodge
    Agoda.com
    Multiple ways to pay
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    1.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    ZenHotels.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    4.0 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    ZenHotels.com
    • StayForLong
    • Expedia.com
    • Priceline
    0.0 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    Pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    1.0 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Aitutaki
    Reviews (1,190)
    Filter reviews
    1,190 results
    Traveller rating
    1,112
    62
    9
    1
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,112
    62
    9
    1
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews honesty bar our honeymoon cook islands the managers lagoon cruise honor bar fish yogurt each morning pacific resort relaxing holiday heaven on earth small resort beautiful island wonderful hosts koru cafe outdoor shower
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 1,190 reviews
    Reviewed 1 November 2023

    For the Resort alone we would give 5 stars. It is beautiful, nice tendered gardens, ideal location and only 8 villas, so an exclusive, luxury feel to it. The staff are friendly and so attentive. We chose Aitutaki for a calm, relaxing and peaceful holiday, and the Etu Moana resort for that extra bit of pampering, which was so needed after illness,

    Unfortunately rest, peace and quiet was the last thing we got, with peace shattered from 5am to 7pm with the constant crowing/screaming of roosters. Not just the usual dawn alert, but a constant scream as they all competed for the girls and territory. There were dozens of them either in the resort (under the villa at 5am!) or in the grounds around it.

    It is a problem throughout the island unfortunately, but some other luxury resorts we visited told us they had a management programme in place, knowing it was affecting their guests stay. It was certainly quieter at these resorts, and we only heard one or two crows in the hours we were there. It is a shame that the management at the Etu Moana resort isn't following similar management programmes as the others, to ensure their guests stay is relaxed and peaceful, rather than telling us 'oh well you just get used to it'.

    Having visited the other resorts on the island, the Etu Moana is one of the nicest luxury resorts, but if you want peace and quiet it is probably the worst ... unless you love roosters, early starts and crowing all day.

    Room tip: Not a quiet, peaceful resort. Sadly rooster numbers are not managed as with other resorts, so this is not a resort for a tranquil holiday.
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Debbie P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

    Kia Orana, thank you for acknowledging Etu Moana as one of the nicest luxury resorts. We do pride ourselves on the beauty, location and high level of service by our friendly, attentive team. Your positive remarks are much appreciated.
    Regarding the roosters. Please may we take the opportunity to explain a few points. As with tropical islands worldwide, the Cook Islands as a whole has indigenous bird species with loud calls, especially in the early mornings. Aitutaki is the same and we, as with other properties, mitigate this by discouraging feeding by guests, etc. to the level where any disruption is considered minimal. The birds you name as roosters are not domestic chickens. We do not feed them or encourage them. These birds arrived in the Cook Islands around 1500BC with the first Maori settlers. These birds originated in India and spread to Polynesia over time and became naturalized in the South Pacific a very long time ago. As an interesting note, these birds are actually named as red jungle fowl, and are on the indigenous Bird List of Aitutaki. The “management programs” you mentioned at another resort are not what you may think they are. These programs involve measures that can include air rifles, and or, poison and sometimes less savoury options. The level of bird calls does not warrant nor will we employ rifles or less savoury methods in our small resort. Neither will we poison them as these toxins bio-accumulate and seep into our fragile ecosystem and our beautiful lagoon. Our lush tendered gardens , while they do permit birds to walk across the property at times, as opposed to a property that is walled and fully paved, are a stunning feature in our ideal location as you mentioned. The trade-off for this beautiful landscape that meets the lagoon may be to share it with a few birds, but we are sorry you found your rest to be disturbed during your stay.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 November 2023

    We recently had the most glorious 5 nights at Etu Moana in a Beach View villa - it was beyond our expectations in every way. The location, the view and proximity to the lagoon and beach, our beautiful bure with a lovely spacious deck to sit out on. Hosts Tiffany and Jeff were so welcoming and helpful and have excellent suggestions on places to eat and things to do. Having access to the electric golf buggy or scooters an added bonus. A delicious breakfast pool side every morning, lovely friendly staff. It's a private, tranquil piece of paradise. I also had an amazing spa treatment based on site, lots of choice re massages and treatments.

    Room tip: We had a beach view rather than beach front and felt it was just as good as beach front
    Date of stay: October 2023
      • Value
      • Service
    Thank JOBELL1973
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

    Kia Orana,

    We are so happy you enjoyed a little of everything that Etu Moana and Aitutaki has to offer! The quiet beauty of our surroundings from the gardens, to the lagoon and sunset is the ideal setting for relaxation. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back some day. A big meitaki from the entire team for your kind review!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 October 2023

    If you are looking for elegance, a sense of intimacy, attention to detail, glorious views of the lagoon, then look no further. Staff are outstanding and are focused on making your experience full of wonderful memories. From the minute you are collected from the airport, the pampering does not stop. Breakfast is provided every day with meals offered on certain nights as well. However, we took advantage of the golf carts that allowed us very easy access to the two closest resorts nearby. An amazingly outstanding experience!

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank JaneTuai
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

    Kia Orana Jane, thank you for the kind mention of Etu Moana's highlights. Especially our outstanding team that is happy to hear they contributed to your amazing experience! We are glad you took the opportunity to explore the island with one of our golf carts. They are convenient and FUN! Thank you again for your stay. We are thrilled you took home such wonderful memories.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 October 2023 via mobile

    Visiting Aitutaki has been on our bucket list for awhile now, so finally getting there was fantastic! From the moment we were greeted at the airport by Tiffany and Jeff to our farewell, everything was superb. The setting was beautiful, the gardens lush and well manicured, the villa wonderfully spacious and private, the lagoon and pool area amazing and all the staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly. We had a very enjoyable few days, loved the peace and quiet, and would have loved to have stayed longer, maybe next time.
    p.s. having use of the bikes, e-scooters and buggy was just the icing on the cake!! Thank you Tiffany and Jeff.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Margaret D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

    Kia Orana, thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our paradise! We strive to maintain the most serene and comfortable setting for you to enjoy after your day's adventures. It is always a treat to watch our guests make use of our eco-friendly transport to explore the island. Aitutaki does have so much to offer. We hope to welcome you back so you may explore even more!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 September 2023

    I loved this place! It's small, quiet and only provides breakfast. Two evenings a week you have the option to eat in - one night is fish and chips - which were delicious, and the second night was a choice of local dishes.

    It's within walking distance of a dew restaurants and it's easy to get a taxi to others, as long as you order in advance.

    Breakfast was simple and tasty and they have a honesty bar which is extensive - I was pleasantly surprised with the range.

    You can only get wifi in the reception/lobby area unless you pay extra. this worked for me and encourages you to digitally detox!

    Close to the airport and marina

    Room tip: Make sure you take bug spray! Fins are available for snorkelling and you have to buy your mask. Kayaks reef shoes were available.
    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Dawn B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2023

    Kia Orana,

    Thank you for your lovely review! We are so happy you enjoyed the quiet serenity and ease of Etu Moana. The ability to choose between our varied in-house dining delights or taking a stroll to local restuarants is a great way to experience even more of what Aitutaki has to offer. How wonderful that you took some time to digitally detox and take in our beautiful surrounds! We are glad you loved it and we would love to welcome you back some day!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews