We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Trip.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Debbie - NZ
Not the place for peace & quiet. Amazing resort & staff, perfect location, but spoiled by constant crowing of roosters.
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Nov 2023
For the Resort alone we would give 5 stars. It is beautiful, nice tendered gardens, ideal location and only 8 villas, so an exclusive, luxury feel to it. The staff are friendly and so attentive. We chose Aitutaki for a calm, relaxing and peaceful holiday, and the Etu Moana resort for that extra bit of pampering, which was so needed after illness,

Unfortunately rest, peace and quiet was the last thing we got, with peace shattered from 5am to 7pm with the constant crowing/screaming of roosters. Not just the usual dawn alert, but a constant scream as they all competed for the girls and territory. There were dozens of them either in the resort (under the villa at 5am!) or in the grounds around it.

It is a problem throughout the island unfortunately, but some other luxury resorts we visited told us they had a management programme in place, knowing it was affecting their guests stay. It was certainly quieter at these resorts, and we only heard one or two crows in the hours we were there. It is a shame that the management at the Etu Moana resort isn't following similar management programmes as the others, to ensure their guests stay is relaxed and peaceful, rather than telling us 'oh well you just get used to it'.

Having visited the other resorts on the island, the Etu Moana is one of the nicest luxury resorts, but if you want peace and quiet it is probably the worst ... unless you love roosters, early starts and crowing all day.

Date of stay: October 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$795
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $754
  • Hotels.com
    $779
0.4 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$1,500
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,500
  • Expedia.com
    $1,503
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,503
1.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Absolutely Beautiful
Booking.com
$195
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $279
  • Hotels.com
    $294
3.0 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Beach villas
Booking.com
$200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $200
1.5 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.8 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Bungalow no.7
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.8 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
3.1 km from Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
1,112
62
9
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,112
62
9
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar our honeymoon cook islands the managers lagoon cruise honor bar fish yogurt each morning pacific resort relaxing holiday heaven on earth small resort beautiful island wonderful hosts koru cafe outdoor shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2023

We recently had the most glorious 5 nights at Etu Moana in a Beach View villa - it was beyond our expectations in every way. The location, the view and proximity to the lagoon and beach, our beautiful bure with a lovely spacious deck to sit out on. Hosts Tiffany and Jeff were so welcoming and helpful and have excellent suggestions on places to eat and things to do. Having access to the electric golf buggy or scooters an added bonus. A delicious breakfast pool side every morning, lovely friendly staff. It's a private, tranquil piece of paradise. I also had an amazing spa treatment based on site, lots of choice re massages and treatments.

Room tip: We had a beach view rather than beach front and felt it was just as good as beach front
Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JOBELL1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Kia Orana,

We are so happy you enjoyed a little of everything that Etu Moana and Aitutaki has to offer! The quiet beauty of our surroundings from the gardens, to the lagoon and sunset is the ideal setting for relaxation. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back some day. A big meitaki from the entire team for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2023

If you are looking for elegance, a sense of intimacy, attention to detail, glorious views of the lagoon, then look no further. Staff are outstanding and are focused on making your experience full of wonderful memories. From the minute you are collected from the airport, the pampering does not stop. Breakfast is provided every day with meals offered on certain nights as well. However, we took advantage of the golf carts that allowed us very easy access to the two closest resorts nearby. An amazingly outstanding experience!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JaneTuai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Kia Orana Jane, thank you for the kind mention of Etu Moana's highlights. Especially our outstanding team that is happy to hear they contributed to your amazing experience! We are glad you took the opportunity to explore the island with one of our golf carts. They are convenient and FUN! Thank you again for your stay. We are thrilled you took home such wonderful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023 via mobile

Visiting Aitutaki has been on our bucket list for awhile now, so finally getting there was fantastic! From the moment we were greeted at the airport by Tiffany and Jeff to our farewell, everything was superb. The setting was beautiful, the gardens lush and well manicured, the villa wonderfully spacious and private, the lagoon and pool area amazing and all the staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly. We had a very enjoyable few days, loved the peace and quiet, and would have loved to have stayed longer, maybe next time.
p.s. having use of the bikes, e-scooters and buggy was just the icing on the cake!! Thank you Tiffany and Jeff.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Kia Orana, thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our paradise! We strive to maintain the most serene and comfortable setting for you to enjoy after your day's adventures. It is always a treat to watch our guests make use of our eco-friendly transport to explore the island. Aitutaki does have so much to offer. We hope to welcome you back so you may explore even more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023

I loved this place! It's small, quiet and only provides breakfast. Two evenings a week you have the option to eat in - one night is fish and chips - which were delicious, and the second night was a choice of local dishes.

It's within walking distance of a dew restaurants and it's easy to get a taxi to others, as long as you order in advance.

Breakfast was simple and tasty and they have a honesty bar which is extensive - I was pleasantly surprised with the range.

You can only get wifi in the reception/lobby area unless you pay extra. this worked for me and encourages you to digitally detox!

Close to the airport and marina

Room tip: Make sure you take bug spray! Fins are available for snorkelling and you have to buy your mask. Kayaks reef shoes were available.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2023

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so happy you enjoyed the quiet serenity and ease of Etu Moana. The ability to choose between our varied in-house dining delights or taking a stroll to local restuarants is a great way to experience even more of what Aitutaki has to offer. How wonderful that you took some time to digitally detox and take in our beautiful surrounds! We are glad you loved it and we would love to welcome you back some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2023 via mobile

From the moment we were greeted by managers Tiffany and Jeff at the airport, we felt relaxed and welcomed at Etu Moana. The location is stunning and the facilities are excellent. We enjoyed SUPing and canoeing in the lagoon, as well as chatting to other guests on the beach while having drinks and watching the magical sunsets. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Speaking to other regular Aitutaki visitors who knew the other accommodation options, I was told this was one of the best places to stay on the island. Breakfasts are provided every day and were of good quality. We chose not to use the self catering option but the kitchen had enough equipment to allow that if needed. We also chose to rent our own scooters but there are electric scooters available at Etu Moana for guest use. A car or scooter is necessary in Aitutaki if you want to get out and about on the island. We would happily recommend Etu Moana for anyone looking for a boutique and personal place to stay on Aitutaki.

Room tip: Best to ask about lunch and dinner options ahead of time. The island has limited options on different nights and bookings are essential.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etu Moana Beach Villas, General Manager at Etu Moana Boutique Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Kia Orana Peter, thank you for your kind review and capturing the essence of magical Etu Moana. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed the hospitality of our team and the relaxed warmth of all that is Etu Moana and Aitutaki. We agree, it is a special place! We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews