We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Not to be missed

Cruising through the super beautiful Aitutaki lagoon to varied islands in the morning was lovely... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2018
flytofreedom
Great day out

We had a lovely day with Captain Useless!(self named). We went to 7 islands, had a delicious bbq... read more

Reviewed 17 July 2018
BrigitB948
,
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 87 reviews
  
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
73
10
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
10
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews speed boat snorkeling spot honeymoon island aitutaki lagoon cook islands fruit fish delicious lunch one foot island potato salad snorkelling stops sand bar andrew useless cancellation motu spots
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2015

The tour has a good price value, and you can rent the boat privately if you do not want to share the day with strangers. The price is very good compared to others, also cause the route is more or less the same that offering the other tours, but a little bit more completed. A must is the lunch prepared by Andrew, really special !! They come out even on holidays

Date of experience: November 2014
2  Thank Andreasupertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Andrew (Captain Fantastic) is as real as it gets. He is very knowledgeably and made the experience unforgettable. We booked him for a private snorkeling trip after our initial cruise and both experiences were amazing. The food on the island/snorkeling cruise is amazing and his smoked parrot fish was star attraction. If you want to have a more personal experience and you want to stay away from the large cruise companies, go with Kia Orana. It is better to book directly(cheaper) and we found him in town on Saturdays (His day off).

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank DanDeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2014

We tried several lagoon cruises during our stay, and we prefer this one to the offered by Aitutaki Adventures.

Kia Orana Cruises uses a smaller boat and operates a tour that avoids larger crowds. The tour starts a bit earlier in the day than the other cruises, and visits the touristy spots in the lagoon before every one else. This gives one a more personalised tour and creates a very nice intimate atmosphere.

The lunch was wonderful, prepared by Andrew himself. The smoked parrot fish was amazing (I wish I could have had more!), and the salads and fruit some of the best we had on Aitutaki.

What bothered me a little was that two personal friends of Andrew's were with us on the tour, and this somehow made us feel as if we were intruding on a private trip. It also didn't help that Andrew refused to learn our names and decided to call us 'honeymoon' instead. I found that a bit rude.

Date of experience: November 2014
3  Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

My girlfriend and I did the Seven Wonders trip on Oct. 19. Outstanding. Fabulous. Incredible. The beauty of the water, and the islands, and the sandbars, and the water, the water, the water. Beyond words. Blues of every hue. For me, a beach person, a slice of heaven. I have spent a week on Bora Bora, and the water compares, for sure. But this lagoon is different that Bora Bora's. Lots of small islands to visit. This is why we picked the Seven Wonders trip; to see as many of these little atolls as possible. And we picked the right lagoon trip. It was all perfect. Shared the trip with great folks from all over the world. Andrew was nice and shared some good historical facts and stories. We had an absolutely great lunch which Andrew prepared himself. We did some ok snorkeling. And, as promised, we visited 7 islands, having plenty of time on each for swimming and photos. All in all, it was just what we had wanted. I cant recommend this lagoon trip highly enough!

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank beachjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We decided to do the all day 7 wonders cruise on a Sunday with Captain Fantastic (Andrew) with lunch and were blown away at how beautiful and amazing this lagoon and the islands really are . The clarity of the water, the coral, the islands, the fish , the birds. And not to forget George ( Kon Kon ) the giant trevally that Andrew feeds while we swim and take photos. Lunch was very tasty with local fruits , fish and other specialties from Andrew served on his plates made from island materials. Andrew has great knowledge of this place and his stories are to be listened to and you feel like you almost belong here because he treats you like his friend, and not another customer. We were impressed and will return . Meitaki Atupaka Andrew.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Jeepman d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews