We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Awesome experience to share the ocean with Humpback whales

Everyone should swim with whales at least once in their lives and should do it soon before it gets... read more

Reviewed 13 February 2020
S1646KRdavidl
Simply Wow and deeply moving

Swimming with the whales was a spiritual and exciting experience, Sabri and his team were fun and... read more

Reviewed 25 December 2019
lizgraham_11
,
Petaluma, California
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moorea beach whale swim tour leader boat captain recommend this trip humpback whales amazing experience sabri tonga mairie seas wildlife safety ocean tahiti
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2019

WhaleSwim Adventures in Moorea is an amazing lifetime experience. Rae has a wonderful company and a fantastic crew. The organisation prior to the trip was fantastic. Plenty of correspondence and information given. I was picked up at the ferry port without any problem. The accommodation was superb. I'm trying to think how to describe it. Small place with about maybe 10 rooms, some overlooking the beach, others looking into the private garden. Yes, the rooms were on the small side but when you've come to Tahiti to swim with humpback whales how long are you actually going to spend in your room!? There were clean and comfortable and beautifully decorated. The location was excellent - sat right on the beach and a 5 minute walk to where you get picked up from for the whales. There is no hotel restaurant but a fantastic kitchen where you can prepare your own meals. Breakfast for us was organised by an outside company and although a little bit on the slow side (with regards to getting to the boat on time) it was lovely. Some evening meals were provided by an outside company also and were all very nice.

Now onto the whales. AMAZING. The boat was large, spacious and comfortable and was perfect for getting on and off into the whales. The skipper was a man of few words but he was obviously passionate about the whales and seemed to be able to 'read' the whales well and knew when was a good time to get in the water and when it wasn't. We had incredible days out on the water. There are always going to be days which are a bit on the disappointing side (ie very few whales) but that's nature for you and why it's especially good to go with a company like this where you have several days on the water. The half day trips were a perfect time as usually it didn't take long to find the whales and it gave me the opportunity to go diving.

This is my second trip with WhaleSwim and both have been fantastic. Both times I have been fortunate enough to be with a wonderful group of people, all who are equally as passionate about whales as me.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank HannahB2826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2019

The WhaleSwim Adventure was truly AMAZING and FUN. Well organized, clean and comfortable accommodations, very tasty and filling breakfasts. Dinners that were provided by a private chef were tasty and unique. Rae was always available to keep things running smoothly and gave clear information as to what to expect and what was expected of us in terms of being on the boat, getting into the water, and Whale etiquette. We were very delighted by the consciousness of all the people who are part of making the outings safe and respectful for the Whales. The captain and first mate were highly skilled at finding the Mama Whales and Babies and knowing when it was right to go into the water with them. Every precaution was taken to keep everyone accounted for throughout the daily outings. Lots of information was shared about the Whales. And being with such a group of highly conscious people made the trip so very fun and pleasant. We made new friends, some of which we have stayed in contact with. We recommend going with WhaleSwim for the adventure, the camaraderie, the beauty of Moorea, and most important, a once in a lifetime experience to consciously swim with these amazing gentle giants.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank clara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2019

My experience was so very wonderful that it is hard to describe in purely tourists terms. Here we were, a group of world travelers together for the first time, unknown to Rae's fine staff who are to keep us safe as we float in the middle of the ocean!
There was never a moment of disappointment for me, not in terms of the accommodation or in any way I can imagine. It was really thrilling.
The whales were the focus, being safe and swimming with them peacefully on their terms was our primary purpose. They are so very generous and gentle. We observed other tours not being quite so sensitive and I appreciated being with Rae Gill's WhaleSwim group. Maire and his staff took care of us and knew whether the whales were playful or not - they were not distracted from their tasks as they took their job seriously. Thank you!
WhaleSwim is a lifetime experience and though How lucky was I to do this trip!
I have so much respect for Rae, Maire, and Magenta. I am grateful to them for providing a safe and enriching experience beyond imagination.
I also thank the kind and patient local caretakers of our stay in Moorea as it is a spectacular Island inside and out.
Travel with WhaleSwim and open your heart to a miraculous experience! They are real professionals.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank burroughspictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

We joined Whaleswim hoping to realise a life's ambition. We were not disappointed! We we're booked for 6 half day swims although due to weather conditions we had to go with 4 half days and 1 full day. I'm so glad we did!! That full day will never be forgotten. We had seen 2 adults and a calf cruising along so followed along, a respectable distance away from them....whales come first with this crew, just as it should be! We were about to call it a day with them when they turned and came our way so in we got. I can't quite describe the feeling of looking at these amazing animals in the eye but that's what happened, all 3 of them. We swam along together for over a mile, at times the Mum dropped down and left her calf to play around with us for a while then decided to part ways with us...baby was less keen and came back for more! You know you have been blessed when your captain has to take 5! On the way back we had breaching whales and a shark and ray swim. I had wondered if I would be scared to get in the water but the crew are so there for you, and have eyes everywhere! Our first swim being a great example of that....Maire got into the water to look for the whales and check that it was ok for us to get it. We swam over to him and he was pointing down into the water.....you will be amazed at how difficult a humpback whale is to see in the water! Eventually I made out the white along her pectoral fins . A short while later she let her calf come up to play before ascending herself. Sublime. On another occasion we called time on our time with a Mum and calf as there were more boats arriving and whale harassment is not acceptable with Whaleswim. We can't wait to return and have everything crossed for the same team, Rae, Magenta and Maire.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Paradise437876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019

I have traveled extensively around the world, and this is by far one of the best adventures that I have done, and will always remember my special time with the whales. Whaleswim were always contactable from the moment I made my bookings and Rae’s quick response to any queries was always helpful. Whilst I was a solo traveler, I always felt that this holiday was going to be special, and shared with like minded people who wanted the same experience, and that Rae was bringing us all together to share this wonderful experience. It was even more evident, when we all met in Moorea along with Magenta & Maire, that we had very special people to be with us during our stay.
Our accommodation at the Moorea Beach Lodge was great, it was clean and well kept with the hotel staff being very friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts on the front veranda each morning overlooking the blue waters of the ocean, just inviting us to get out their & swim with the whales, was a perfect way to start the day.
Everyday was a different experience, some days were action packed with multiple swims with whales, some days were just hovering around with sleeping whales, some days were sitting in the boat listening to their singing. One has to always remember that we are with wildlife, and its unpredictable, just like the weather and seas. We were blessed with great weather and seas for my 8 days of swimming. The care and respect that Maire & his crew have towards the whales is commendable, he is a true “Whale Whisperer”.
This is a life time experience & I recommend going with Whaleswim adventures on any of their tours to have this adventure. I can’t thank them enough for my holiday and know that I will be back in the near future swimming with Whaleswim somewhere in this beautiful world.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank RoamingRedShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews