We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very private, close to Quepos, good host”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GRAN chalet

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
messy kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
messy kitchen
bathroom huge place
shower
shade garden
shade garden
from inside
third side
inside shade garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rachelle...
Sainte Anne de Beaupre, Canada
1 review
“Very private, close to Quepos, good host”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Staying at Pierre's Gran chalet was very pleasant. It has a beautiful terrace where we spent most of our time. Pierre was a good host, I would recommend this place to everyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris M
Ortonville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and heavenly retreat”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the gran chalet which is beautifully appointed with a spacious wrap around patio. If beauty and peace is your thing, then this is the place for you. The chalet is all wood and tile with comfortable chairs and a hammock too. I stayed alone for a week and was happy as a clam. Very close to Quepos and all the restaurants en route to Manuel Antonio, not to mention the park and beaches. Pierre is a generous and friendly host and he has these three lovely dogs.....

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty and quiet
Liked least: Weather was hot
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R A
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
“Wow! Incredible host and great place!”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

To many things to list that made us happy. 3rd time in Costa Rica, I would say that it is a quality-price perfect place for us. 1 large and 2 small quiet cottages, in the forest, in a gated cumunity. 4km east of Quepos, just far enough from the action. 5-6$ taxi ride. Easy acces to main road. D'ont need a car if you can speak a little spanish. All kinds of transport are available. And our Host, Pierre, original from Québec, is so devoted! He realy want's you to be confortable living in Quepos.
Sleep good, eat good (you have got to go to the local market on Friday), good water, live music here and there. The best beaches are not in Quepos because of the marina. Take the bus and go south to Manuel Antonio. We hade fun and did not want to leave. We will definitely come back in Quepos!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the tropical forest, out of town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian E
Juneau, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great tropical location with a wonderfully knowledgable host”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We spent ten days at two of Pierre's chalets on this property. They were each unique and nicely furnished. We felt like we were the only ones in the area since the tropical fauna nicely concealed any other cabins. The price was a bargain for this area. The chalet is on a private gated property just far enough away from town and the activity of the beaches that we felt comfortably secluded.
It is only a few minutes drive to the quaint and vibrant town of Quepos and few minutes beyond that to Manuel Antonia park and many incredible beaches. Manuel Antonio is a must see and if you are there over the weekend check out the public market down at the waterfront in Quepos.
Pierre is a perfect and enjoyable host. He checked in on us several times to make sure we were well set but was never intrusive. Since he has been in Costa Rica for decades he is a wealth of information and gave us many great tips for places to see and eat.
I highly recommend this rental chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safe location, seclusion, proximity to beaches town and park
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBrown99
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nestled into the rainforest surrounded by trees, birds, flowers”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It is so quiet here that the first thing to hear is bird song. When the sun goes down, the air fills with the scent of ylang ylang flowers that are an unexpected perfume at dusk. Despite being surrounded by palms and other trees, there are few bugs and none that bother people. There are 2 smaller chalets here, but one does not hear or see them.The size and quality of the Gran Chalet is way more than I expected for the cost, compared to other local rentals. The location is perfect, in a secluded spot, yet minutes from town by bus or in the abundant taxis. We enjoyed walking to the village to visit the local bakery, and frequently went to Quepos and Manuel Antonio for beach, dinner, music or shopping. And it was always sweet to come home to the lovely chalet. Our host was helpful and accommodating beyond expectations, with kindness and humor.The chalet is well appointed and comfortable. The veranda is an open room that was our most favorite spot. I hope to return next year to this very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: waking to the sounds of exotic birds; having coffee on the veranda in the sweet morning air
Liked least: walking up the hill from the road would be a challenge to anyone infirm, but well within the capacity of any regular person
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2015
hi CATHERINE AND DAVID , WELCOME BACK HOME , SO YOURS FRIENDS AT FOUR FEET ARE ALRIGHT ?
CARE , PIERRE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing