We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was like walking into the photograph, very...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Bathroom
Bathroom
Shower
Living room
Pool
Night pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Teri1717
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“It was like walking into the photograph, very modern... beautiful!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It was a very comfortable space, David and Renée were great!! they met us at the bus station and took us to the grocery store, the apartment was comfortable for two people, but, it is true it's on the side of the mountain, and quite a jaunt, going down is not too bad, but, coming back up the hill, was more trying,
so as long as you're a walker and you can do an incline it's a perfect spot....however my husband is retired with bad knees.. not so good for us, but we rented a car and no problem, a little scary at first, but after a couple times driving up the mountain it was okay.
Great stay! We enjoyed it! Teri & Larry. Las Vegas , Nv.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeetleBai...
Marysville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, wonderful host in tropical paradise!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a great week enjoying a little bit of heaven on earth at this wonderful tropical paradise. David was a gracious host and the views at this property were outstanding. This property is just far enough off the main road to get away from the noise of buss and trucks, but close enough to get everywhere you need to see when you want to go explore the many things there are to do in the area.
I can not wait to get back to visit, sit by the pool and watch the sunset with a cool beverage!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavillama...
Orange, France
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would highly recommend this place!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2013

I stayed at the Hummingbird for four nights this summer, and the place was great! I will definitely be returning in the future. The one-bedroom apartment was the perfect size for a single traveler, and it had everything that I needed in the event that I wanted to cook. The place was very quiet, so whenever I was ready to pass out after a day in the sun, I could sleep soundly. The hosts - David and Rene - are knowledgable about the area and were very accomodating. They were always hospitable, offering to drop me off/pick me up at the airport and give me a lift to the beach. All in all, a wonderful stay. I would highly recommend this place!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Calm
Liked least: Duration ;-)
Travelling group: Seul(e)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCtravel...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luckiest find in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Staying at Renee and David's was a highlight of our trip to Costa Rica for several reasons. Their hospitality went far beyond what we would have expected, e.g. driving us into Quepos, allowing us to do laundry, having us for appetizers, etc. They made us feel like we were being hosted by friends actually. They were excellent communicators before and during our trip, promptly answering all emails and giving us great logistical advice while we were there. The apartment is located slightly off the beaten path, half way between Quepos and M.A., but still accessible from the main road by foot. We were fine there without a rental car. We were also impressed with how new the apartment felt, a very modern feel to the place. It was a blend of feeling like we were in a contemporary city apartment while being surrounded by the jungle. We also gotta say that the AC was powerful and the bed comfy, very important at the end of a long hiking day. We would absolutely recommend the hummingbird to friends and hope to stay again if we come back to C.R.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition and decoration of the apartment
Liked least: It's not super easy to find upon first arrival if you come by taxi (but the hosts pick up from the bus station)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolasCh...
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This place was great!
The owners, David and René are amazing! They are very friendly, they gave us the a warmth welcome upon arrival and great advises about the activities and restaurants around. The condo is located in the middle of the jungle, you cannot hear any noise form the city, very relaxing. The first morning we were waken up by toucans which was amazing! It is very well located, close to Manuel Antonio park, Quepos, beaches and more. I would recommend it more for people with a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up in the middle of the jungle
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing