We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,632)
Filter reviews
1,632 results
Traveller rating
952
425
131
61
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
425
131
61
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool full ocean view room main building costa rica corner room highest point amazing views degree view free shuttle watch the sunset beautiful hotel national park swim up bar yogurt cafe milagro the pacific ocean loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,632 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Boyfriend and I were very impressed with this hotel. We stayed for a night and it was the pouring the one night we were there. We decided to eat at the hotel for dinner and were impressed! In the morning, we had a great free breakfast which also included some monkey spottings! We wanted to use the pool bar but weren’t sure since no one wasn’t in it. We went for it anyways and the hotel staff opened the bar just for us which was great. Mojitos were yummy and the views from the pool bar were amazing!

Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Byron made our stay very comfortable and assisted with booking a catamaran whale watching tour and Jungle tour. The staff at the restaurant, and Joxan F. our waiter for our last breakfast , were very attentive. My husband and I had a wonderful time and we will definitely be back again. The room was clean and had the most spectacular view of the valley and the ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

A beautiful hotel, great location, and lovely pool and views.
HOWEVER, we were very unhappy with the general unfriendly vibe we experienced from the staff, mostly at the front desk, some of them being actually rude- including the manager himself. This is the only place in Costa Rica we were not greeted with welcome drinks and/or big smiles.
We feel the hospitality and friendliness are THE most important factors for having a nice and happy stay, not less than having beautiful grounds. If you feel the same- this isn’t the place for you.
Besides not being welcoming or friendly, or caring what we were up to and if we were happy, they weren’t generous in any respect- starting with too few bath towels (not even one per person, even when we asked for it, we were short by one), no fridge in the room we stayed at (even though it’s posted on the site), and no coffee machine or a kettle to make your own hot drinks. This is in fact the only place we stayed in costa rica that didn’t provide this (along with excellent costa-rican coffee).
Along the same lines, when we asked for late checkout to adapt for our long flight leaving the same day, we were only granted half an hour.
They also didn’t honor the booking price, which got us there in the first place, but that due to technical travel difficulties, we couldn’t complete the booking online.
We felt we were there simply as paying entities rather than being actual guests.
One important thing to note: if you intend to stay in one of the garden units (as we did). Those are 4 units that are in fact a single house that was divided into 4, without any sound isolation whatsoever between the units. We heard everything the guys next door were doing and talking, and woke up several times at night every time the group of people upstairs got up and walked around. We can’t really see how these units can be rented separately rather than to a single group.
On a positive note: There were a couple of really nice staff people, like Felippe the housekeeper and Leo at the bar, they just seemed out of place in the general unfriendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: RE garden units: Those are 4 units that are in fact a single house divided into 4, without any sound isolation between the units.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary 2 weeks ago and highly recommend. The staff is incredibly friendly and the location is perfect, very close to town and beautiful scenery. The sunsets don’t get any better than this!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hollynoel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Spectacular breathtaking ocean view is the best about this hotel. Is our first time at La Mariposa Hotel by friends recommendation. We didn’t know what to expect, we knew there will be ocean view but when we arrived it was surprising to see such panoramic ocean view, totally recommended if ocean view is your thing!

This getaway was to celebrate my husband’s birthday so it was definitely an unforgettable time for us, he said that “it feels like if we were at the Olympus”, and I agree with him, the property is located at the highest point in the area, beautiful sight, a lot of wildlife animals visiting the hotel during different moment of the day, hotel staff and service was great, friendly and very helpful, love the breakfast next morning, served at the table while we delighted the panoramic ocean view!

The property it self is a beautiful old style boutique hotel but a bit dated and some updates could definitely benefit the hotel, specially their rooms, and it seems to be that remodelling works it’s already taking place for some sector, at first we were staying at a standard room but due to its “damp condition and smell” we had to personally check few more rooms options, we were able to see that some of the rooms were already been remodelled which was great, so we finally decided for a “Premier Ocean View room”, if you are looking for an unforgettable stay, don’t go for the standard rooms.

Overall, our experience at La Mariposa boutique hotel was great and we’ll definitely visit the hotel again!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GrandTour753830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews