We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional!”
Post Card Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Post Card Views
Casa Tranquila: Exactly what you need Our Location . . .Your View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Post Card Views
Casa Tranquila: Exactly what you need
Our Location . . .Your View
Your View Every Day
Authentic Bali Furnishings
Second Living Room . . .just off your pool
Luxury Bedding
Huge pool
Modern Kitchens
Fine Linens
Newly Expanded Dining and Viewing Deck
Tropical Feel
The Private Casita . . .for the guest who needs more independence
The Casita's Jungle Shower
View from Upper Balcony
Tasteful Touches
Marble Basins
Daily Monkey Visits
Large Showers
Afternoon Refreshments
Views from Every room
Computer Station . . .if you just can't leave work at home
Poolside Relaxation
Kid-Friendly; Kid-Safe
Morning Coffee
Spacious Suites
Dining for 12
Bali Baths
Cathedral Ceilings
Travertine Tile
Monkey's View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael F
Dalton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed here recently with a group of friends and had a great time. The house keeper, Paulette, was amazing. I had to sleep on the pull out couch, but to my surprise it was extremely comfortable. The view was exceptional! We will definitely be returning here in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thanks, Mike!! True . . .it's the most comfortable bed in Casa Tranquila: we hear it all the time. Even though all the other beds are traditional kings & queens, it seems our happiest guests are always the ones who sleep in the Private Casita. (Must be that "cushy" down topper we have on it). You were the Lucky One this time. And Paulette loved you guys too! We all did, We're waiting for your return in October 2015 for your next fishing tournament!! Donald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlester3
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful Home and Views with Unparalleled Service”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Well... what can I say? It was just as advertised as far as the property. What could not be advertised is the level of personal service and attention to detail that was delivered by Donald, Nathan, Paulet and the rest of the team at Casa Tranquila including Sombra. They made us feel more like old friends than first time guests. Nathan set up all of our desired excursions and all we had to do was make sure we were out of bed in time to meet the transportation that was always on time and waiting in the driveway.
Location was good for us-close to restaurants and the beach. You will need a car or taxi to take you to most places but there are markets and restaurants in walking distance as well. The bus is safe and not difficult to utilize. The pool was our normal afternoon spot for cool drinks and outstanding views.
This was our first time in CR so I do not have a reference as far as properties, but this place was just what we were looking for. Modern kitchen and comfortable furnishings. I would prefer to keep this place a secret so we will have easy access to book next year, but that would be selfish. This will be our destination again next year. I think you will feel the same once you have stayed at Casa Tranquila.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Thanks Duane. It seems like the only thing better than your week with us, was our week with YOU. You guys were so thoughtful and welcoming. And you treated Casa Tranquila like it was your own: that is what we strive for. We will look forward to your 2016 visit!! Donald & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyanne...
1 review
“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

In one word, Casa Tranquila is AMAZING! From the moment we arrived at the Casa's doorstep, it felt like home. Donald and Nathan greeted us with a fresh fruit beverage and gave us a royal tour of our home in paradise. They were always a call away and orchestrated many of our spur of the moment excursions. There was not a request they could not bring to fruition. Paulett brightened our morning each day with her infectious smile and bubbly personality and ensured that our new home was spotless. The love that has gone into Casa Tranquila is apparent and the love for each new visitor cannot be surpassed. Thank you for sharing your home with us - we cannot wait to come back! ~ Cheyanne and Matt.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2015
Cheyanne, You and Matt were such a pleasure. With your "Family", Nathan & I felt comfortable from the first moment. You all really know how to relax and settle into "Pura Vida". Thanks for making our week such a perfect one! Donald & Nathan, Paulet and Juan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The 'can-do attitude' of the team looking after the house! Location amazing
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jan 2015
Shelly and her family perfected the art of "Pura Vida" from their first day. What amazing spirits they have. And they treated Casa Tranquila wis utmost honor and respect. They were so gracious that Nathan's and my biggest challenge was tearing ourselves away from them so they could enjoy their vacation alone. Please come back soon to see us! Donald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
J S
1 review
“Trip of a Lifetime!”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My family and I went to Costa Rica to celebrate my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. My parents are in there 70s so we wanted a vacation spot where they had options from relaxation to adventure. Casa Tranquila was exactly that! The view is absolutely breathtaking. We spent many mornings enjoying the view and drinking our coffee and talking about our plans for the day. Nathan, Casa T’s concierge arranged all of our excursions, so we did not have to plan out the details of our day except to be ready at the time to be picked up. That was great! The beach was absolutely gorgeous. The waves were fun and the sand was soft! We spent many afternoons by the pool. In fact, we had a few visitors… monkeys! They were very curious and entertaining! On a couple of occasions we had their private chef, Celia, prepare a couple of amazing dinners. It was nice to sit back and enjoy the view and the breeze on the balcony before dinner. Other nights we enjoyed a short walk to restaurants with great drinks, food, and a lively atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. This was a trip of a lifetime! Thank you Donald and Nathan for making my parents 50th a memorable anniversary!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the house and the view from the balcony and pool area
Liked least: We hated having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Jackie, You, Teresa, Barbara and Richard we so gracious to invite Nathan (Sombra) and me to be a part of your family while you were at Casa Tranquila. It's rare we are so comfortable. And I am ecstatic that you all had such a great time. It's nice to know Casa Tranquila was your perfect choice. We'll be looking for next year! Donald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing