We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Tortuguero Canals Including Playa Bonita and Puerto Limon Highlights
257

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Playa Bonita
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
29
35
22
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
35
22
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Playa Bonita is a nice beach about 4 kms from Puerto Limon town. It's a short ride and taxi drivers ask $10 one way for the trip. You can probably get it for less. Alternatively, there are public buses that head out there fairly frequently from downtown Puerto Limon. The beach is okay but certainly not the best that the Caribbean has to offer, There are two restaurants on the beach that serve drinks and decent meals for a reasonable price. If you're on a cruise and don't want any of the over-priced excursions, then this is a reasonable option for you. A guy on t/he beach will also rent you chairs.

Date of experience: November 2014
12  Thank skink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2014

When our cruise ship docked in Puerto Limon, Costa Rica, and we had seen pictures of this beautiful beach. We found that it was a $10 per person each way, cab ride from the cruise pier. We had to pay for both ways and our cab driver set a pickup time with us. It was a Sunday so this free beach was probably more crowded than normal. There were several groups of people from our ship along with some performers from the theater. The beach had palm trees for some shade and a nearby restaurant and bar for food and drink. The surf is a little rough but fun, reminding me of New Jersey. It was an inexpensive way to see the area without booking an excursion.

Date of experience: March 2014
14  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2024
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2023 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2022
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews