We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$361
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$320/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$258
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pura Vida Hostel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$40
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antema Lodge(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
La Oveja Negra Tamarindo Surf Club(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$333
US$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$303/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
201
16
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
16
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshot of tequilaplace to stayother guestshome away from homebanana breadoctopus roomfriendly dogsperfect locationcosta ricaevery morningnew friendsclean and comfortable roomspura vidafresh fruitlaid backhotel ownersrecommend hotel
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

We came into Tamarindo with no accommodation and found this amazing place. Right next to the beach. You can walk out to surf. Rooms are spacious and stylish. Cinde will go out of her way to help you with everything, she is amazing. We love it here. Walking distance to everything. Watch the sun go down over the beach from your deck chair. Best place in Tamarindo.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank slbmessages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you so much for these kind words.
Hope you will come back again.
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Location cannot be beat for beach, restaurant, and shopping access. Atmosphere is relaxing and Cinde is a “people person” who is most helpful to her guest. Our room was small but clean and comfortable with almost new beds and mattresses. Cinde is definitely an animal lover with five dogs on site but they are used to people and well behaved. At times it could be noisy but at night it quieted down and we slept very well. The air conditioner worked great and provide some white noise against any outside noise.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dan
Thanks for reviewing Hotel Villa Amarilla. Also we are so happy that the dogs were well behaved ....
sometimes they try to jump in bed......Hope to see you soon.
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Had a little hiccup with our reservation, owner did more than needed to make it right, and I'm not easy to please. My two daughters and I had two awesome days of fun and relaxation! Great access to the beach and super waves for surfing right in front of the hotel. We didn't surf though. Massages were AMAZING!--Highly recommend getting one, or two..... NOT a resort, don't expect that. More of a B&B atmosphere. Clean and colorful rooms. GREAT location, close to restaurants and shops! Only negative is "the Princess room" can get some street noise, we came in late every night so wasn't an issue. Owner has friendly lovable dogs in the courtyard. We would definitely stay here again if/when we get back there! (oh, the complimentary tequila shot at check-in wasn't too bad either) ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Diane
Sorry about the hiccup. But glad it all worked out.
Yes we do hope to see you soon.
Thank you Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Loved the relaxed atmosphere and the cool, friendly people that run the place. They made me feel right at home.
Greatest banana bread ever for breakfast every morning! Right in front of the best surf break in Tamarindo which was a big bonus too!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hey Ben
So glad to here from you. Thank you so much for your review.
Hope the banana bread brings you back soon.....
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I will go back to Hotel Villa Amarilla and I have passed the word around that it's a great place to stay TJ and Cindy are great hosts they know all the great restaurants and where the music is good and the night life. The beach is right outside the gate you just walk down to the water with a good book and chair and enjoy the beach.

Room Tip: close drapes to keep room cool other then that my stay was wonderful and I will go back again
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jgrane927735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Isn't it great to just sit on the beach and read a book.
Sometimes it's the simple things in life.
Thanks for the great review.
Hope to see you soon.
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews