We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great service with Hans at Occidental Tamarindo resort

We booked a surf lesson at the reception Lobby with Hans and Kelly’s surf shop. We also rent a long... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Capricciosa76
,
Montreal, Canada
via mobile
Good vibes!!

All the staff was very kind and helpful! They have everything you need to surf and have good prices... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 1 week ago
Gaby R
Read all 647 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tamarindo
from US$115.00
More Info
from US$175.00
More Info
from US$56.25
More Info
from US$85.00
More Info
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
589
32
9
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
589
32
9
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf shop great instructor rent boards private lesson pura vida hour lesson board selection two hours riding waves witches rock skill level great customer service learn how costa rica these guys laid back an amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The team provides you with recommendation for board rental and let’s you switch the board during midday. Friendly prices and friendly team, will definitely visit again.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank andreykasatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desk K, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Surf Shop and School, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi!
Thank you for the great review! Can't wait for your return.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first surfing experience. Diego was extremely helpful and friendly from the start when we first walked into the shop. He was flexible with our time to accommodate us. And then was so helpful, personable, patient and friendly with his instructions. Once he gave us an overview, his instruction and help in getting us up and surfing quickly was faster than we expected. The little things he did to coach us made a big difference. He was enthusiastic and also made sure we had fun while we learned so much. Overall it was one of the highlights of our trip and it was because of his attention to detail in everything he taught and did. We would highly recommend going to Kelly’s and asking for Diego!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desk K, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Surf Shop and School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Hi there,

We are so grateful for this awesome review! Thank you so much. We are glad that we were able to accommodate your needs and that everyone had a fun time surfing!
Hope to see you back at Kelly's!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Jeff and the guys down at Kelly's hooked us up. We rented three boards for a week. It's not always easy riding a different board than your own. My son had to swap out boards a couple of time until he found the right one. Good selection, good guys.

Alan

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank aja141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desk K, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Surf Shop and School, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi there!

We are so glad that we were able to meet your needs and help find you the right board! We really appreciate your review. Thank you for visiting us at Kelly's!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Great guys and great prices but I was bullied into paying $80 for an old torn up styrofoam beginner longboard that broke during my rental. Before I took it out to surf it it was delaminating, torn, ripped, dented, etc. It broke in half during my rental. The thing about it is, it was in really bad shape when I got it and Im just the poor soul that rented it when it decided to finally break. DONT RENT ANY OF THEIR OLDER WORN BOARDS! Insist on a newer one with little or no damage.

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank deltaseanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Kelly’s became our go-to spot during our stay in Guanacaste. They had very reasonable prices for surfboard rentals ($90/wk as of time of writing) and we’re happy to store our boards, throw in freebies such as equipment to strap the boards to our cars, scrape and wax our boards whenever we wanted, letting us store our stuff there while surfing, etc. Every member of the staff was very friendly - shout out to Jeff! Kelly’s helped make our Tamarindo surf experience awesome!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Krogdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desk K, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Surf Shop and School, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi!
We are so happy that we were able to accommodate your needs. Thank you so much for the great review. Hope to see you back in Costa Rica soon!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews