We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and knowledgeable”

Kelly's Surf Shop and School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kelly's Surf House is a exclusive premier Retreat/Sports/Education Center in Tamarindo. We started out as Kelly's Surf Shop, where we specialized in surfing and SUP. We have grown to offer bike tours and rentals as well as as full tour center. Now, we provide the ultimate vacation packages. We focus heavily on giving you a safe, fun, and professional experience. Our staff are real, professionals who take great pride and enjoyment in sharing with those who want to enjoy every second of their experiences. We also have the newest, most extensive equipment selection in Tamarindo for all kinds of activities.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Experienced surfer visiting a d didn't want to shop a board. Emailed ahead and they reserved a board fitting my requirements. Diego at the shop was Friendly and helpful

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mbarb0ur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desk K, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Surf Shop and School, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi
Thank you for the great review. We are always happy to hear that we are making our customers happy!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"surf shop"
in 53 reviews
"great instructor"
in 24 reviews
"rent boards"
in 19 reviews
"private lesson"
in 13 reviews
"pura vida"
in 34 reviews
"hour lesson"
in 10 reviews
"two hours"
in 14 reviews
"riding waves"
in 8 reviews
"witches rock"
in 8 reviews
"great customer service"
in 9 reviews
"board selection"
in 6 reviews
"costa rica"
in 39 reviews
"skill level"
in 7 reviews
"learning how"
in 8 reviews
"these guys"
in 18 reviews
"the owner"
in 20 reviews
"laid back"
in 10 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The team provides you with recommendation for board rental and let’s you switch the board during midday. Friendly prices and friendly team, will definitely visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank andreykasatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desk K, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Surf Shop and School, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi!
Thank you for the great review! Can't wait for your return.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first surfing experience. Diego was extremely helpful and friendly from the start when we first walked into the shop. He was flexible with our time to accommodate us. And then was so helpful, personable, patient and friendly with his instructions. Once he gave us an overview, his instruction and help in getting us up and surfing quickly was faster than we expected. The little things he did to coach us made a big difference. He was enthusiastic and also made sure we had fun while we learned so much. Overall it was one of the highlights of our trip and it was because of his attention to detail in everything he taught and did. We would highly recommend going to Kelly’s and asking for Diego!

Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desk K, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Surf Shop and School, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

We are so grateful for this awesome review! Thank you so much. We are glad that we were able to accommodate your needs and that everyone had a fun time surfing!
Hope to see you back at Kelly's!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Jeff and the guys down at Kelly's hooked us up. We rented three boards for a week. It's not always easy riding a different board than your own. My son had to swap out boards a couple of time until he found the right one. Good selection, good guys.

Alan

Thank aja141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desk K, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Surf Shop and School, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there!

We are so glad that we were able to meet your needs and help find you the right board! We really appreciate your review. Thank you for visiting us at Kelly's!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great guys and great prices but I was bullied into paying $80 for an old torn up styrofoam beginner longboard that broke during my rental. Before I took it out to surf it it was delaminating, torn, ripped, dented, etc. It broke in half during my rental. The thing about it is, it was in really bad shape when I got it and Im just the poor soul that rented it when it decided to finally break. DONT RENT ANY OF THEIR OLDER WORN BOARDS! Insist on a newer one with little or no damage.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank deltaseanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly's Surf Shop and School also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Kelly's Surf Shop and School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing