We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Montelaguna Residences”
other travellers have booked this property
Complex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Complex
front Complex 3rd. floor Condo #32
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Complex
front Complex
3rd. floor Condo #32
Enter a caption for your photo
3rd floor CONDO *32 CRSRental-property [ PURA VIDA ] in total 'RELAX'
plan of the CONDO #32
balcony
laguna
shared swimmingpool
Chora Island
Chora Island from Samara beach
vyew of Samara and Carrillo beaches
Chora Island
Carrillo beach
flowers of Costa Rica
Punta Islita
In relax
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pooky01
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My stay”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The condo needs some attention to detail. Simple things like coffee filters, toilet paper and paper towel should be provided as well as sugar and salt and pepper!
A mirror in the second bathroom would also be helpful.
The property needs some work as well!
The deck is rotting and is actually dangerous as people could actually fall through some of the boards.
It is a long 30-40 minute walk from Playa Samara. Much further than I was told originally.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly137
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Dump”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I wrote about this apartment when I reviewed the complex.
The apartment was this space with the potential to be lovely. It was a very sad apartment.
The owner has given it no love. The walls are bare and painted a stark primer white. There are wires in the kitchen where lighting fixtures should have been installed. The t.v. set was very small and old. The dining room had an ancient depressing couch. The linens were ugly and unappealing.
I liked the complex and its owners. Georgia and her husband were extremely kind, and helpful. They also ran a delicious Italian restaurant. The complex and my apartment were clean. The air conditioner worked well. I had adequate hot water. The undersized television had plenty of channels. I loved Samara and Carillo Beach. This complex is in a good location and convenient to both beaches. However Playa Carillo is the unforgetable jewel.
You can easily walk to either beach but to do other stuff I suggest renting a car.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
Kamloops
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Montelaguna Residences”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This condo is located between Playa Samara and Playa Carrillo in Costa Rica. Our condo faced the laguna where we saw birds of every description. We could hear the howler monkees across the laguna. Georgia and Mario were extremely helpful and made our stay sreally enjoyable. There is a bus about every hour that goes into Samara where you can enjoy a day in town. The Olympics were on so we would go into town and watch some of the coverage at the Arriba bar in downtown Samara. Playa Carrillo was about a 5 minute walk along the road towards Pto. Carrillo and, in our opinion, a nicer beach that Playa Samara. There are palm trees along the roadway where you can relax and get out of the hot sun before heading into the ocean. We also discovered bannana splits down the road to Playa Samara at the Hideaway hotel that included home made ice cream and home made brownies. These were to die for! Dinner at the Montelaguna Boutique hotel was fantastic, but having the ability to prepare and cook you own meals was great. You don't really need a car while staying here, but you either walk into town or use the bus system, which are both great. If you crave an active nightlife then you may want to have a car, but watch out for the horses that wander the roads at night and are almost impossible to see in the dark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proimity to 2 beaches
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
131cachou
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I was at Montelaguna Residence for 18 nights in January 2013 and I totally enjoyed my stay there. Nice condo, very comfortable bed, beautiful pool and grounds. Plus the italian host is very easy to communicate with through internet.
Besides, the on-site manager is really awesome. She offers her help on any matter.
The condo is situated just at the border of Playa Samara and Playa Carillo, this latter being the nicest one, I do think.
Perfect site to go on longs walks on both beaches.
And the local bus stops just in front of the building!
I highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: El sonido del mar, de noche.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCalBeac...
Seal Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Monte Laguna”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Just finished an extended stay at the Monte Laguna and my wife and I had a very enjoyable visit. The condo's are quite nice and situated in a quiet local, with a great view of the countrside, between Playa Carrillo and Samara beach. Approximate 10 minute walk to Carrillo and 35 minute beach walk to Samara. The pool is also quite nice following a day at the beach. If you prefer not to cook, numerous restaurants are available in either of the aforementioned towns. Management at the Monte Laguna was quite attentive to our needs and very supportive. Great stay !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing