We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
182
49
19
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
49
19
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica nice pool howling monkeys samara beach fresh fruit iguanas guanacaste surfing
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2015

My wife, our toddler and I just spent 9 amazing nights at this hotel, and nothing I can say here will come close to expressing how sad we are to have left this morning. IT's just that kind of place.

The grounds are beautiful, the bungalows private, cozy, and very well-designed. We really enjoyed just walking the paths that lead from bungalow to bungalow, and which are full of beautfiul plants and trees.The pool, slide and waterfall were also fantastic. The managers Petra and Andrea are both wonderful people who truly have your enjoyment as their goal. They will help you with anything that you need, they will cook you fantastic food, and they will even let you drag them to go look at frogs in the middle of the night. I'm not making that last part up!

But the main attraction is that you're minutes away from three of the best beaches in all of Guanacaste! Playa Buena Vista, which is the closest, has an unbelievable view of the soft, volcanic hills that make the area around Samara and Nosara so gorgeous. Next door to that is Playa Barrigona, a world class surf spot with a gorgeous tube break. There's also a 35 million dollar villa on this beach, but you can't see it at all, and the Hollywood celeb who owns it seems to value his privacy. And the next beach down is Playa Barco, which has large pebbles on the beach, but an amazing setting surrounded by cliffs. These three beaches are more beautiful than anything you'll find in Samara, Carrillo, Nosara, and especially Tamarindo. Not only that, but you'll have them mostly to yourself!

When we got to Playa Buena Vista, we actually bumped into some guests who had stayed at the same hotel as us in La Fortuna. They came to look at our place, and booked a night, but were making their way down the coast, as far south as they could go. We saw them 8 days later, and said that our hotel, and our beach, was the most beautiful they had seen in their 8 days down the coast, and that we had done well to stay put! We drove a fair amount up and down the Nicoya coast ourselves, and nothing really came close.

Room tip: The Chagall bungalow opens up to the pool, but is much more private than you'd think. Book it!
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

We traveled as a group of 10 people and had an absolutely amazing time at the Flying Crocodile. Each bungalow was unique and took us all by surprise with its details, artwork and character. The wildlife and the beaches nearby were all added bonuses, as well as the food served in the Croc's restaurant. Would highly recommend booking a gyrocopter tour as well, one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica! Although a little remote, it is well wort making the effort to stay at the Flying Croc!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben19880504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

The pictures can not capture the beauty and uniqueness of this amazing property! First, the pool...my 5&7 year old adored the slide, lounging pools, and perfext depths to jump, cannonball, and dive down to retrieve rings on the pools unique mosaic bottom! The temperature for adults was perfect everyday! BOTH couples and kids had plenty of space to quietly enjoy the poolside together without bothering one another.
There was ping pong and foose ball Ali g with a play yard that my kids took full advantage of during our stay!
Andrea, the co-manager/chef, made the best meals that I had during our two weeks in Costa Rica! She was also willing to expand the menu to meet the needs of our children's palettes, which we greatly appreciated.
The bathrooms in the two apartments we stayed in were amazing with plenty of towels and tons of hot water! My kids loved the unique bathrooms as did my husband and I.
Pedra was an amazingly gracious and attentive hostess, willing to do whatever to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable!
The wildlife was amazing and diverse, the plants and landscape was incredibly Costa Rica, beautifully maintained!
The town of Samara is small and quaint but large enough to meet your shopping, eating and Eco-adventure needs, along with amazing beachside restaraunts and bars!
My only advice, bring beach towels!

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank MRJB-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We loved the environment, amenities, and the hosts. European charm along the coast, and jungle.

Access to the Gryo-Copters was a high point, (pun intended).

Wi-Fi to the rooms would have been a plus.

We'll be back.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Realjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

this was one of the nicest places on our costa rica vacation.it is located in a very quiet ,rural area only 10 minutes walk from a beautiful beach.the comfortable and unique rooms are scattered about a huge garden with lots of flowers and big trees.lots of animals around,birds ,butterflies,monkeys,iguanas.the restaurant serves great breakfast and dinner and also tasty smoothies and juices.the two owners are extremely nice and helpful.so this is a perfect place to spend a few days in the samara area and to chill at their beautiful pool.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Achim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews