We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tuna tacos & cocktails ”
Review of Coco Loco

Coco Loco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A casual beach restaurant offering gourmet local cuisine at very reasonable prices. Feet in the sand outside or covered area. Gorgeous sunset view or watch the waves any time of day. Open for lunch and dinner. Visa and Master card accepted. We close annually from September to November for the rainy season.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Their tuna tacos and frozen pipa cocktail inside the pipa were DELISH! Nice service that didn’t hassle me either so I had a nice relaxing afternoon in the shade of their umbrellas eating a long lunch and reading until the sun wasn’t too strong to go on the beach. Desserts are also ok, just don’t get the iced coffee (not much coffee in it, a weird nut/caramel mixture is most of the concoction). The coconut ice cream inside a coconut was great tho!

Thank Adele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018

this is a great restaurant to go to at sunset. It is right on the beach and the food was good. We ordered the lobster and coconut shrimp and were both really satisfied.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank haileyekoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jltaulere, Owner at Coco Loco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hello, haileyekoch. Thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. Sunset is a very popular time at Coco Loco. Even if you miss the exact moment of sunset, the sky is full of color these days for a good while afterward. Glad you enjoyed our lobster & coconut shrimp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Sit on beach in the /sand and take in the sunset. Great local cuisine, friendly service. Great spot, for all diners

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jltaulere, Owner at Coco Loco, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Caroline H., Thanks very much for taking the time to review Coco Loco on Trip Advisor. We are well known for cocktails at sunset, and we're glad you enjoyed this popular tradition. Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

The food is good, typical bar food, a lot of fried food. The drinks are great, loved the coco loco coconut drink. Service was great. Expect to pay for parking. I can’t say enough about the view and beautiful beach!

Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jltaulere, Owner at Coco Loco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi, Rachel. Thanks for reviewing us! In addition to the fried selections, we also offer salads, a soup, and several grilled options. For the fried selections, we use light frying oil to keep things as light as possible. There is an independent parking attendant to assist people with off street parking. You can always park further down the beach if you wish. Glad you liked our Coco Loco!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

I was all over costa this time round and found this sweet spot tucked into the far corner of the beach . I have three things to say . 1 staff wonderful, 2 food exiting and 3 you have to drink at least 3 House drinks “coco locos “ try and have a bad night after that I dare you !! Impossible.

Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jltaulere, Owner at Coco Loco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Jonathan J, Thank you so much for your 5 circle review! We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and letting people know you were happy with our staff, food & drinks. We hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coco Loco also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Coco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing