We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$201
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$210
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
Trip.com
US$179
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$201
eDreamsUS$210
TravelocityUS$201
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
247
98
32
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
247
98
32
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian restaurant banana wind swim up bar all inclusive package costa rica game room pura vida open to the public bunk beds dive shop perfect size an umbrella pool area loud music a great vacation local restaurants family vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

Myself, my wife and our 10 year old daughter enjoyed a wonderful eight night stay at the Margaritaville Hotel. This was not our first or even our second stay at this property, in fact we had visited here four or five times previous to Margaritaville taking over the running and operations of the hotel, and so we were very familiar with ‘Flamingo’ both before and after the Margaritaville transition and the Jimmy Buffet vibe and mantra had its corporate theme of approval stamped on the resort. Not in a bad way though, not at all, I am happy to add. I have always given this resort top reviews on an annual basis and that is still the case now after our February visit once again this year. We have always been very fond of the staff at Margaritaville and fortunately many of those kind ladies and gents are still plying their trade at the hotel. That is a big net positive and plus, since we have always been treated so well by so many, if not all of them - Manuel, Elias, (Jaime, Erica, Janette - Capriccios), Manolo, Orlando, Michael, Cynthia (TAM Tours) et al, et al, et al. Everyone across the entire spectrum of employment at the hotel are great ambassadors, super sound, friendly and good people - Thank you all for taking such good care of myself and my family on our most recent visit. We went to the rodeo one evening in Brasilito (Manuel’s recommendation- thanks pal) which was interesting, we did two catamaran sunset trips - Panache was the best (booked expertly through the always helpful lady Cynthia at TAM Tours in the lobby), also a day long trip to Diamanté Animal and Adventure Park, two dives with the on site Rocket Frog Divers (English Hannah and Taryn from Savannah (via Belfast like me!) were both professional, fun and excellent) and plenty of invigorating swims in the Ocean and relaxing family dips in the pool amongst daily Temple bar esque visits to the swim up Oasis for a yarn and a brewski served up in always fun fashion by Elias or Manolo. The bar food was great, also dinners at Capriccios Restaurant under the stewardship of Jaime (best waiter and loveliest bloke) were delicious, breakfasts were okay, not as good as on previous visits perhaps, but the wonderful Costa Rican coffee and a table outside in the mornings made the lack of porridge and limited variety of buffet not that much of a big deal. The live entertainment upstairs in the bar was always enjoyable when that was on the itinerary on some evenings and the servers were always friendly and hospitable. I did politely ask at reception three times for a second chair to be allocated to our room / balcony (like all the other rooms had) but we never did receive twin chairs, which was a marginal disappointment, but yet again, hardly a major grievance and don’t read much into that minor omission. Hopefully we shall continue visiting Margaritaville in our future trips to Costa Rica. We love the country, we love the lifestyle and we love the people and I’m happy to say that Margaritaville enhances that overall complimentary and positive experience myself and my family enjoy and have enjoyed on many occasions as your guests. Keep on keeping on. Cheers. Be well my Margaritaville friends.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank PugwashSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olmanu, Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Thank you very much for your amazing review and for sharing your comments about your recent experience in our beautiful resort. It is always encouraging to hear a positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Please note it has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences here in Margaritaville Playa Flamingo.
Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is our main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel team takes in providing exceptional customer service to our valued guests speaks strongly of our efforts to ensure everyone experiences the PURA VIDA!
We hope you choose to create more memories with us whenever your travels bring you back to Costa Rica.

Kind regards from the sunny Flamingo Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Room was clean comfortable and spacious. Location was great, only hour and a quarter from Liberia airport, stroll across narrow dirt road to beach. The best service and workers ever, especially Marjorie from breakfast and lunch, she is such a kind, caring, helpful person and Italian Dinner with Jaime who is an extremely competent hard working person along with Jenneth & Erika, they all deserve raises! The pool bartender also made great drinks and a excellent worker

Room tip: pool view is nice
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank V119BGterryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raquesalas, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent travels to Costa Rica, It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with our hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service to guests like you.

We hope you choose to create more memories with us whenever your travels bring you back to Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Friendly from the start and very welcoming. Beautiful open lobby and clean, comfortable rooms.

Many Pros: Steps from beautiful beach, big pool with swim-up bar, well-maintained grounds, friendly staff, on-site restaurants (breakfast buffet was very good at Banana Wind), breezy open-air lobby

One Con: Our 2nd floor poolside room was unexpectedly very noisy in the afternoons and evenings in which there was karaoke and various games held near the pool bar. The noise in our room was so loud that it was difficult to even have a conversation. After approaching the front desk, they worked very hard to find us a new room away from the pool area (a special thank you to William (supervisor) who facilitated the room change!) and we were very happy for the remainder of our stay.

Room tip: Pool-view rooms are good for those that enjoy the upbeat music and activities associated with being at poolside.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexhI2384KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raquesalas, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Thank you very much for taking your time to provides your with your review during your stay in our hotel, we appreciate it! Thank you for your comments and we are really sorry to learn that you experienced those problems during your stay. Please know that your feedback is valuable to us and will be used to improve our facilities and service in order to make sure all our customers will have the nicest experience as possible.

We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

When we first arrived at Margaritaville, we were greeted with a refreshing welcome drink, which tasted great after a long day of travel. We walked into our room and there were 2 full size beds. I was unhappy about that because we'd booked a king size bed. We went back to the front desk and explained the situation. Long story short, William found us a king size bed, which happened to be in a suite! We loved it! Thank you, William. The pool area and the beach were nice. The food was so-so, however, there are a couple other places nearby we could eat.

Room tip: Rooms were clean and all had AC and refrigerators.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 11jayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raquesalas, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Thank you so much for your great review, we are pleased to receive your positive feedback and to read you that had a wonderful experience with us during your stay in our resort. Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is our main focus, so am glad to know that you received a proper assistance from our coworker William who is in charge of the Front desk department. We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent travels, It was truly a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to Costa Rica.

Kind regards from sunny Playa Flamingo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

The hotel was great in almost every respect. The facility itself, the pool, proximity to the beach, the bar and even the breakfast buffet. The only negative was low water pressure in our room on the top floor.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank drzvoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raquesalas, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Thank you very much for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are pleased to receive your positive review and will share it with our entire team. And on behalf of the management I would like to inform you that we are working on your suggestions. We appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again in the near future whenever your travels bring you back to Costa Rica.

Best regards from the sunny Playa Flamingo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews