We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
22 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$439
Booking.comUS$439
Westin.comUS$439
eDreamsUS$439
CheapTicketsUS$439
TravelocityUS$439
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,618)
Filter reviews
5,618 results
Traveller rating
3,607
1,301
449
134
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,607
1,301
449
134
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal beach club erik garcia swim up bar zip lining room service dinner reservations pizza costa rica italian restaurant swiss travel all inclusives our honeymoon hot springs make reservations pura vida horseback riding mud bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 5,618 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2019

Costa Rica is one of my most favorite places that I have ever travelled to and the Westin played a huge part in our experience!

For me, the Westin provided the perfect setting for my family vacation. We traveled as a family of four with two boys (ages 7 and 13.) We traveled as Marriott Titanium Elite members and booked two rooms, the atrium enclosed ones, Poolside. Prior to our arrival we noticed that we had received a complimentary upgrade to the family club which meant we would have added amenities in our rooms and access to additional resources within the resort.

When we got to the resort, we were placed into adjoining rooms by the shops on the second level. We loved that location because of the wildlife! Every morning and evening the family of monkeys would swing past our rooms. I could have sat on the porch all day and watch all of the animals. We were in building 29.

The food was far superior to any other all-inclusive we have ever been to! The only thing I would change is the availability of sit down breakfast restaurant where kids are allowed. The only option, if you have kids, is the buffet (or room service) ...and after a few days it can get redundant. This is also the only all-inclusive I have been to with reliable room service! So easy and on time!

We loved the pool and beach. We walked down to the right on the beach to snorkel daily and also ventured left. There is a swamp area to the left that warns of crocodiles in its waters...so be aware! The sand at Playa Conchal is unique and so beautiful. We also walked to the right on the beach and down the walkway to Brasilito Beach. It was a small town that had a few shops and bars/restaurants to enjoy. There were crabs all over the beach to Brasilito. So fun for the boys to see them all running around while we walked.

The pool is beautiful! We love resorts that have a very active and outgoing entertainment crew. The Westin could improve in this area. Our kids missed the 'Crazy Games' that we have experienced at many resorts and the theme parties (beach/white/luau, etc.) We did have fun playing water polo, volleyball, ping pong, and basketball daily. We also went on the tequila and sangria tastings which was fun!

The only thing that really went wrong for us was at check out. We had paid for the resort using points and a monetary amount that we had agreed upon months prior to our trip via the Marriott website. When we arrived we paid for the monetary amount we knew we were going to be charged. Upon check out we were presented with a new bill for us to pay for the upgraded rooms. We explained that we had received a complimentary upgrade prior to even arriving in Costa Rica as Titanium Elite members and were never made aware that we would be charged for the upgrade. It took a long time to get straightened out, but, we were not charged in the end. It was frustrating to end a nearly perfect vacation with an issue that could have been presented at check in if it was a valid charge.

Overall, we loved the Westin and Costa Rica! We will return to Costa Rica and may try the rainforest next time to see more of what this beautiful country has to offer.

Room tip: Building 29, 2nd floor! Was close to everything and the animals were everywhere. I did not see monkeys closer to the beach as much.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 48KathleenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

My family and I stayed at the Westin after a week touring around Costa Rica, and we were all in need of a bit of luxury. The check in was slow and our room was not ready on time, but this was ok as we went for something to eat and when we came back we had been upgraded to a room closer to all the facilities which I was very pleased about. The room was amazing with lots o room and storage space.

The Restaurants were all amazing and although we did have to book in advance this was not a problem and the buffet was also really good with a varied menu .

The pool was lovely and warm and was never overcrowded and we always managed to get a sun lounger regardless of what time we arrived at the pool. The staff worked really hard and everyone was very pleasant. The beach was lovely but the tide was a bit strong for me as I am not a confident swimmer. Overall the Westin is a fantastic place and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room tip: We were close to all the facilities which was perfect. . The golf carts run so frequently that it really does not matter where you are.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed at The Westin Hotel as guests at the Royal Beach Club for 10 nights after a five day tour of the Arenal and Monteverde regions and we had a fabulous, relaxing stay.

The staff at the hotel were really courteous and welcoming and I would particularly like to mention Andreas on reception for making the check-in process so stress free.

Because we were staying for ten nights we managed to dine at all of the restaurants and the food quality was excellent in them all. Having breakfast at Faisanela was lovely and relaxing and I particularly liked Manglar for dinner. The vegetarian choices were good and the menus were clearly marked. Food allergies were also catered for.

Rooms were well equipped with comfortable beds and good air conditioning. The pool at the Royal Beach Club was lovely with good quality sun loungers and waiter service.

The beach is superb and part of the reason we chose to stay at this hotel. We ended up spending a lot of time walking on the Robinson Crusoe-like beach and swimming in the clear, warm water.

The hotel grounds were amazing from a wildlife perspective - large groups of howler monkeys and coatis were roaming freely and we also saw iguanas and armadillos. Buggies are easy to catch when walking seems a little too tiring.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nina_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

This is our second time at reserva Conchal we love This place so much we de decided to come every year. Not only we love the hotel, the property and amazing beach but we come to see our guides and friends from ConchalFun. They are like family and they will make you feel the same also. Don't take chances waiting until last moment or looking for people on the beach to book activities in a Country you never been. Contact ConchalFun and they will do everything for you like true professionals.
See you next time para Vida.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 243ioanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

My husband and i went on our honeymoon,and had a lifetime experience this place is truly breath taking.T hey upgraded our room to the royal beach club which is VIP and private area.Our concierge staff was great his name was Jairo he attended to us for about 5 days and is hard working and great social skills.,Guest services the young men driving the carts picking up guest are so polite.At the family pool bar there was a young man which i forgot his name that had tattoos and black short curly hair was so kind as i sat and watched him work he treated each person as if there were the only guest there.This place is great the food.service,drinks,room service,shows,Bussers,waiters,front desk,house keepers,Not to mention the $20 message we got on the beach best ever!!We also went to tamarindo city great food there just be aware of your surrounding since its more of a city and more locals but great people.Please make sure you carry loose bills to tip or you will regret it because the service you will receive is amazing..Very safe and for sure going back with our kids.(My only complaint was during one of our excursions through Costco in Liberia our tour leader left us and assumed we were on a different bus they were not taking count of people through out this 12 hour tour called the Mega Combo thank goodness they sent another shuttle for us we waited around 30 min but being 7:00 pm you can imagine it was unsettling again this was with Costco travel (tours)...We recommend this hotel 100%....

Room tip: royal beach club the best tower
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gueragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews