We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Birders paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Arenal Luxury Paradise, wildlife paradise!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Arenal Luxury Paradise, wildlife paradise!
Front view of the house View from the BBQ area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Welcome to Arenal Luxury Paradise, wildlife paradise!
Front view of the house
View from the BBQ area
Beautiful property
Big & Confortable living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Master bedroom
Welcome to Arenal Luxury Paradise
Master bedroom with queen sized bed and full bathroom
Upstairs bedroom, very nice view around
Pool chairs to relax
Wildlife around the property
The way to the pool area
View around the house
View of the house from the pool
On the way to the BBQ or to the Pool area
Rocking chairs
Living & TV  Room
Beautiful open areas with two creeks
Comfortable living room
Guest room with comfortable bunk beds
Guest room with a lot of space
Creek right next to the house
Front view, chairs to relax and enjoy the view
Back side view, nice green areas where your kids can play
Typical Costa Rican BBQ area
Just nature around you
Private path to explore the creek
Creek close to the house
Backside terrrace overlooking the birds and iguanas
Creek right next to the house
Dinning room
Entrance to house
Front view of Arenal Luxury Paradise
Inside kitchen
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elaine D
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birders paradise”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This casa was perfect for the 7 of us! Very clean, spacious, well equipped, comfortable mattresses! We appreciated being outside of the noise of the town, but an easy drive into town! We’ve been to La Fortuna a number of times, but have never stayed at a place that has such a large variety of birds! We were entertained during the morning hours!
We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stinkynoo
Oak Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanted”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 nights in mid-July with our two teenage sons. The house is situated in the most amazing location between two converging streams that help attract loads of wildlife. During our short stay we saw a Howler monkey, 3 sloths, too many birds species to count and some large spiny tailed iguanas. Lorenzo, who lives on a neighboring property, ensured that we were well looked after and he went to a lot of effort to point out wildlife that we would have otherwise not seen (Toucans and Sloths in particular). Lorenzo also put out fresh fruit each morning to attract the multitude of birds.

The house itself is secluded with more than enough room for just the four of us. The house was very clean and the grounds were impeccably kept. As far as locations go, there are very few places that can beat this one.

The BBQ area is magical, looking like a cross between a tree house and a rustic beach hut. Definitely worth the effort of having your own BBQ.

Eder, one of the owners, was extremely helpful in suggesting and booking excursions... every one of which was incredible from the white water rafting and canyoneering to the more sedate, Chocolate tour. Certainly worth taking his advice and having Eder book on your behalf to save money.

If we ever return to La Fortuna we would definitely stay here again. Simply amazing.

Elizabeth & Marcus

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertAnd...
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for a lovely, spacious house with gorgeous grounds: birder's paradise!”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

There were only five of us for this house that sleeps 12 and it was still a great value. Comfortable beds, excellent, quiet AC, excellent and well-furnished kitchen. Every morning the owner skewers a couple dozen bananas on a small tree in the back yard to attract the birds (and squirrels and iguanas). We sat in lazy comfort on the back deck for meals and relaxation, listing 27 bird species in the 3 days we were there:

Gray-headed Chachalaca Ortalis cinereiceps
Scaly-breasted Hummingbird Phaeochroa cuvierii
Rufous-tailed Hummingbird Amazilia tzacatl
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan Ramphastos swainsonii
Black-cheeked Woodpecker Melanerpes pucherani
Hoffmann's Woodpecker Melanerpes hoffmannii
Streak-headed Woodcreeper Lepidocolaptes souleyetii
Paltry Tyrannulet Zimmerius vilissimus (heard)
Piratic Flycatcher Legatus leucophaius (heard)
Great Kiskadee Pitangus sulphuratus
Social Flycatcher Myiozetetes similis
Tropical Kingbird Tyrannus melancholicus
Southern Rough-winged Swallow Stelgidopteryx ruficollis
House Wren Troglodytes aedon
Clay-colored Robin Turdus grayi
Bananaquit Coereba flaveola
White-lined Tanager Tachyphonus rufus
Passerini's Tanager Ramphocelus passerinii
Golden-hooded Tanager Tangara larvata
Blue-gray Tanager Thraupis episcopus
Palm Tanager Thraupis palmarum
Green Honeycreeper Chlorophanes spiza
Red-legged Honeycreeper Cyanerpes cyaneus
Variable Seedeater Sporophila americana
Grayish Saltator Saltator coerulescens
Buff-throated Saltator Saltator maximus
Montezuma Oropendola Psarocolius montezuma
Yellow-throated Euphonia Euphonia hirundinacea

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Excellent count of birds! Thanks for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my extended family (9 people) stayed here for 3 nights before boarding a Costa Rica cruise. This house has it all!

Lorenzo (property owner), Eder (property manager), and Gilbert (driver) couldn't have been better hosts!

The house is kinda out of the way, but we loved it that way. There are two streams, a large yard full of trees, a pool, and barbecue area. The walk to town is probably about 20 minutes. The area is beautiful!

Eder also arranged our transportation to / from the airport (San Jose). We hired that same driver (Gilbert) for some day trips on our own at a predetermined daily rate.

I just can't say enough about all of these guys! First rate. Top notch. Great experience.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2017
Hi Kathleen
Thanks for your review, we were pleased to host you in our property.
Cheers,
Eder
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimro13
boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Eder and Allen were wonderful guides to the area, their suggestions we spot on every time and they made it all easy. Lorenzo's house, is a wonderful place. It has everything you need and is very well kept. His family is kind and helpful and it was our pleasure spending time with them, our kids especially enjoyed playing and exploring the beautiful property with his children.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2017
Pura vida, thanks for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing