We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a place!”
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Wide shot of large fully equipped kitchen and dining area. Master bedroom: Queen size bed, colorful artwork and yard view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
69 reviews
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Wide shot of large fully equipped kitchen and dining area.
Master bedroom: Queen size bed, colorful artwork and yard view.
Bathroom with laurel wood counter.
Second bedroom: Unique full size bed with single top bunk.
Clean, elegant, fully equipped kitchen and dining room.
Spacious living room with volcano artwork and cable tv.
Very tranquil, secluded backyard full of iguanas, humming birds, exotic fruit trees and flowers!
So many different flowers, and so beautiful!
This is a Cherrie's Tanager perched in the back yard.
The view from the balcony this morning.
Volcano and Sleeping Indian, shot from balcony of The Riverbank at dusk.
'Trumpet of Angels' blooms bi-weekly, flowers a foot long fill the night wth incredible fragrance.
Huge iguanas in the trees in the backyard. Every day!
My absolute favourite flower; a rare type of Parrot Flower growing in the back yard.
An old wheelbarrow's retirement: Used during the building's construction now it holds bansai trees!
Check out this little guy who showed up in the backyard!
The Arenal Volcano makes its own weather and changes constantly.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewed 22 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2012
First I have to say sorry for taking a year to reply to this, I couldn't decide what to write! THANK YOU for such a great review!

What we don't say on the listings, (and probably should,) is that this rental is an experiment in sustainable tourism. I took over the lease initially to have a place for friends and family to stay, but they couldn't get down here that much. So I started hiring artists, carpenters etc. and decided that even if the place never made a dime, it would be an example of what I think tourism should be: Limited waste, local art, local tradespeople, 10% of the money to kids who can't help themselves.

I fully expected the project to fail.

It has become our most popular property, to the point that Riverbank 2 will be launched soon!

Thank you to everyone who has stayed here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
France Pertuis
Reviewed 10 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2012
When a Parisian says "Bravo!" to you, then you know that you have done something well! :)

Thank you so much for this excellent review, you are very kind and we were happy to have you here. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Reviewed 7 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
atlanta ga
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing