We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner ”
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 19/04
20:00
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$65
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Contemporary, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

While walking around Fortuna we came across this restaurant and decided to return the following evening for dinner. That particular night we were craving tacos which we got at Spectacolar however I am so glad we came back to Don Rufino the following evening! The staff was so friendly and attentive. They a large wine selection as well. Restaurant was very clean and the menu had something for everyone. We enjoyed the ceviche which was just so fresh, then my husband had the catch of the day and I enjoyed a beautiful tuna steak. Every dish was absolutely delicious!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Q5421UZtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

First class all the way. Great service with good menu. The margaritas and tuna main course were outstanding.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Departure301561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

This is one of the more expensive restaurants in La Fortuna, but if you want a nice night out, Don Rufino's is a great choice. We had the Top Sirloin to Share and it was plenty of food for 4 of us and was delicious!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MilesUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021

With really convenient and affordable prices if you consider their quality, this restaurant is among the best places to eat in Costa Rica. The meat was spectacular, and the pasta was delicious beyond belief. If you are staying nearby, do not pay an all inclusive and invest a little in this great place. Your palate and your soul will thank you for that!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Li R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

We are foodie from the San Francisco Bay Area now living in the Central Highlands of Costa Rica. We have very high standards when it comes to restaurants.

We have been to Arenal area and La Fortuna and as far as we are concerned this is the best fine dining to be found there.

Great things are never cheap and cheap things are rarely good. Eat here and they will tickle your pallet with great food.

Date of visit: February 2021
3  Thank TheBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.