We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Relax315184
Goulburn, Australia

Toberua, a quiet hidden gem.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jun 2024
This was our 10th visit and as always we thoroughly enjoyed it. The management could not be faulted, the staff were very friendly and it was good to meet up with old friends again. Toberua is a very special place; private if you wish it but equally a pleasure to mix with all the guests when you wish. The food is very tasty and the activities excellent, especially the fishing offshore on the reef. Looking forward to returning some day.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resort Manager, General Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded 5 Jun 2024
Bula Relax315184,
We are honoured to have welcomed you to Toberua ten times, and to hear that you continue to enjoy these visits and even look forward to a return stay! We thoroughly appreciate the warm words in your review and so pleased the fishing and food were highlights.
Along with many of our very special return guests, 'Team Toberua' so look forward to seeing you again. Vinaka vaka levu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$676
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $836
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
    $752
0.0 km from Toberua Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $59
16.6 km from Toberua Island Resort
$207
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $209
35.7 km from Toberua Island Resort
Free parking
The entrance to the property. Opposite the Colo-i-Suva Police Post
$65
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • Expedia.com
    $75
27.9 km from Toberua Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Asian fuse decorations marveled me!
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $85
  • Hotels.com
    $70
  • Expedia.com
    $88
29.2 km from Toberua Island Resort
The pool set amid the units
$223
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $222
  • Tripadvisor
    $222
  • Priceline
32.7 km from Toberua Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
$78
  • Agoda.com
    $72
32.8 km from Toberua Island Resort
$144
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $122
  • Vio.com
33.4 km from Toberua Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$106
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $103
  • Agoda.com
33.6 km from Toberua Island Resort
$59
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $60
33.9 km from Toberua Island Resort
View more hotels in Toberua Island
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
423
41
11
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
423
41
11
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch and dinner fish other guests sea snakes reef golf wonderful staff day trip scuba diving boat ride bar area meal plan high tide table tennis year old son dive master new managers feel like family
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2024

Toberua is the perfect place to unwind, relax and slow down from the normal day to day.
Our trip on the island was nice.
We didn’t have the best weather so my review may have been slightly different if we got some sun and were able to enjoy the activities more.
The staff are friendly and always greet you with a Bula and a smile.
The rooms are a little outdated however, this does add a certain Fijian charm.
Food was good, however you do need to select your meal options in the morning for the day ahead. Completely understand being a small island they need to ensure they have the produce to facilitate guest menu choices but sometimes what I chose in the morning wasn’t what I fancied come the evening.

We did have a lot of bugs in our room, but again, being an island, this is inevitable. They provide a plug to plug in to deter insects which we did use and this helped but still some creepy crawlies were in the room.

The spa was wonderful and so reasonably priced.
The entertainment from the band was fabulous, they played music during cocktail hour at the bar and during lunch and dinner service. They are incredibly talented.
The highlight of my whole trip was the village tour they put on, it is an absolute must if you stay here.

Overall the stay was nice and relaxing.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayleighp598
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resort Manager, General Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Bula Kayleigh
We are sad you did not enjoy the normal warm sunshine at Toberua during your stay, but happy that you found some warmth in the staff, the village visit, the Toberua Serenaders and in the day spa. We are indeed a vintage property with charming traditional Fijian Bure interiors. So glad you got to slow-down and relax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2024

Amazing location. Small island with low guest numbers. Hosts Nick and Pip and all their staff were wonderful. Great reefs for scuba, great food. The island has its own resident talking parrot, answers to Jack. Regular visits to 2 mainland villages can give guests a different perspective to a resort holiday, plus a chance to benefit the locals and drink a lot of kava. There were many guests who had been before, which has got to be a good sign, and I'll be back for sure.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juannevillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resort Manager, General Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2024

Bula Juannevillo
On behalf of Jack the talking parrot and the entire team at Toberua Island Resort, we are extremely grateful for your review and so pleased that your Family Holiday with us was '5 stars' - and worthy of a return! The village visits, the meals plus the local reefs for snorkelling and diving - along with sharing a bowl of kava with the staff or the locals - all highlights of a visit to Toberua. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2024

Such a wonderful stay! We stayed here for a whole week but it felt like just a few days. The perfect place to relax and fully unwind away from modern life. The villas are authentic but with modern and comfortable amenities and the views of the ocean are just incredible.

From the moment we arrived on the island, we felt the ‘family atmosphere’ here… The staff were magical and so hard working. The food is really delicious (you certainly won’t go hungry!!). Plus, live Fijian music is sung every evening by the staff! Such a nice touch.

The activities on offer are fantastic; snorkelling, scuba diving, sailing etc… but our personal favourite was the local village tour. An absolute must to immerse yourself in the authentic Fijian lifestyle/culture. Something we will never forget!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londongirlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resort Manager, General Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2024

Bula Londongirlea, what wonderful words - we are all so pleased your Island stay was authentic, the activities enjoyable and the food, music and staff memorable. Toberua is fortunate to have the nearby villages on Kaba Point, where many of our staff come from, so our guests can really experience the local culture. We hope you will join us again in the future, from us all at Team Toberua, Vinaka vaka levu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Fantastic place to just relax and get fresh energy, enjoying great food, stillness and a wonderful view. Service is really amazing, the Fijian people are so kind, helpful, make sure, the stay is a pleasure, nothing a problem. Snorkelling a must do.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lukas975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resort Manager, General Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Bula Lukas,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, the team at Toberua are so pleased that you enjoyed the snorkelling, meals and island experience. We are glad you left with happy memories of 'paradise' and we hope to meet again. Vinaka vaka levu (thank you very much).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

This resort was absolutely the best family trip for the $$. We stayed at the villa which can house 10 people and had 3 full baths. The gourmet food was incredible. This will be our new family summer trip every 2 years. Staff is excellent!! Heaven

Room tip: Watch for additional expenses such as required meal plan.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resort Manager, General Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Bula 377nasg.
The team at Toberua Island Resort are thrilled that your stay was so positive and worthy of repeating, of course we look forward to welcoming you again to our little 'heaven'
Vinaka vaka levu from Team Toberua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews