We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
$593
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Magnus O
A truly amazing experience
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Apr 2022
Visited with friends in March and brought my family back in April. Cathy and her team are amazing, such an incredible and relaxing experience. Great food, fun waves, good fishing, and utter relaxation. Staff are incredibly warm and accomodating, nothing is to much trouble. Kids ( including teenagers ) had one of their best holidays ever - offgrid and zero complaints, they didn’t want to leave. You will rethink the 5 star options once you have been here and will almost certainly come back. A truly amazing experience of the real Fiji and the nicest staff in the South Pacific. Simplicity at its best
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
218
36
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
36
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maqai beach other guests fish low tide surf resort made us feel village visit every night local village boat ride get away beachfront bure wonderful staff beautiful island tropical paradise our honeymoon sand bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2022

The experience me and my partner had at Maqai was incredible!! Amazing!! The way how Kathy treated us was excellent! There is no words to describe how Luci and Fabi cook, you will be having the best food of your life! John will keep you entertained while he gives you an awesome hospitality service and for those ones who surf and spear fishing Uli and Bali will take you to the best spots!!

Maqai is just simply amazing place, surrounded by nature and peace but most importantly every single person that work there to make possible your dream holidays.

I’ll come back for sure! Vinaka Maqai ;)

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emiliomH3412YA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine Tokabai, General Manager at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2022

Bula Emilio!
On behalf of the team, I thank you for your wonderful review.- we are over the moon. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Maqai as much as we enjoyed your company
We look forward to your return visit
Vinaka Vaka Levu
Cathy,Wani & The Maqai Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2022

The setting of the resort is beautiful, on the water surrounded by lush rainforest. The rooms are just a few steps away from the beach offering great views. Lie in the hammoc on what feels like your own private beach, or swim, snorkel or dive on the reef just off the beach.
Enjoy empty waves or spear some fish, and come back to consistently delicious meals prepared every day.
All of the staff were so kind and welcoming and helpful and put in every effort to make sure we had everything we wanted.
The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and the girls always added a thoughtful touch to make sure we were always comfortable.

We loved every minute and were sad to leave! But we will be back 🥰
Vikana !

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 342josephinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Mead, General Manager at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Bula Josephine
Thank you for your amazing review! That's great news you will be back to join us in our little pic e of paradise. We loved having you stay with us and look forward to the next time we meet again.
Sota tale
Cathy, Wani and the team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2022

If you're looking for a true Fijian experience, I highly recommend Maqai! Beautiful beach, great surf, and snorkeling just outside your front door. The staff were highly receptive to all our needs and made us feel like members of their family. Volleyball with the staff, fishing tours, and an amazing snorkeling adventure filled our five day adventure. The most impressive was the wonderful food! Do yourself a favour and visit soon.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andrewk741
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Mead, General Manager at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Bula vinaka Andrew,
Thank you for your kind review, we miss you already! We would love to see you again in our loittle pice of paradise
Sota tale
Cathy, Wani and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2022 via mobile

I came to Macai for a solo vacation, without knowing they upgraded my room, that was a plus 👍🏽. Everything was so nice and neat here, thanks to mama Lucy and Fabi for the delicious food, and amazing tours with Tex, Willie(boat Captain), and amazing Papa John at the bar, and Sarah my lovely house keeping, all made a incredible stay for me. I just want to say thank you all, and I will be visiting you guys soon.
I recommend this place to everyone! It is a lost paradise!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Mead, General Manager at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Bula Ashley,
On behalf of the team, I thank you for your wonderful review.- we are over the moon. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Maqai as much as we enjoyed your company
We look forward to your return visit
Vinaka Vaka Levu
Cathy,Wani & Maqai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2022

We cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay at Maqai. After a week at Maqai we were made to feel like part of the family. Cathy and Wani were so accommodating and looked after our every need. The meals were delicious thanks to Fabi and Lucy. Ruli took us out to the Maqai Right surf break almost every day, and the waves were incredible. We had a lot of fun with John, Tex, Bale, Jerry and Pela. Highly recommend trying John’s banana coladas! The day trip to the Taveuni three waterfalls was well worth it. We had a lot of laughs during volleyball and kava ceremonies with the whole gang. We hope to come back soon, and plan to make this a regular trip. Until then, we will miss you all! Lots of love, Emmie and Sam

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emanuellebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Mead, General Manager at Maqai Beach Eco Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Bula Emmie & Sam!
On behalf of the team, I thank you for your wonderful review.- we are over the moon. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Maqai as much as we enjoyed your company
We look forward to your return visit
Vinaka Vaka Levu
Cathy,Wani & The Maqai Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews