We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
eDreams
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
542
54
20
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
542
54
20
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hillside villa kids club lunch and dinner movie room fish fiji night kids menu heaven on earth helicopter transfer the daily snorkelling trips family holiday welcome song young kids natural beauty anywhere in the world magical place hole golf course
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Firstly, I really rarely write reviews, but I really felt I needed to share my experience at Vomo this last trip.

Our family have been to various Fiji resorts well over a dozen times and other places before that.

This is our third Vomo holiday.

I will start with the negatives so I can finish on a positive.

Negative

Once you stay at Vomo, you will not want to leave or holiday anywhere else!

No matter how long I stay, unlike everywhere else I have stayed, I do not want to leave.

Now the positives.

The location is amazing, if you are wondering if staying in Denarua
Is the same as the islands, it’s not anywhere near the climate, beaches, and the islands just have that relaxed vibe.

Vomo being the best we have ever stayed at.

Accomodation is private, air conditioned and very well
Appointed, we had the two bedroom suite with our own pool etc. incredible.

The food is very good also with an every day changing menu and the staff are so accomodating you would never be left with nothing to eat.

The beaches on Vomo are surrounded by turquoise water, white sands and amazing snorkelling reefs where you will see more tropical fish than you can imagine, right off the beach.

The guys at ocean play can take you fishing, snorkelling, scuba diving or boating to loads of amazing place.

If you have ever been to Fiji you will have experienced “Fiji time”.

It basically means very slow and unenthusiastic service from staff using the excuse for drink orders taking 45 minutes, “we are on Fiji time”.

This does not exist on Vomo. The staff are amazing. They remember us and our kids even when it had been two years between trips.

They bring you drinks without you needing to chase them down because they take an interest in you when you’re staying with them

They are always super friendly and warm and can’t do enough to help you have a great holiday.

Very genuine people that we miss when we leave every time.

It was during our first stay here that we noticed this incredible “difference” to other places. We had only really experienced this level of deep caring service one other place in the world.

That was in the Saphire resort in Tasmania.

Very soon after realising that, we became aware that the manager at saphire when we were there was now the manager at Vomo.

Justin King just creates the most amazing customer experience in two places now he had been in charge.

The similarities in the incredible “feel” Vomo and Saphire brought to us are hallmarks of what Justin King brings to the table as a property manager.

You’re not going to arrive at Vomo and see flash and bling, it’s very nice but not in that way.

But give it a day or two and you will “get it”.

It seems to have the magic ability to remove all your stress, concerns, worries and you just can’t seem to find them in your thoughts.

Vomo and Saphire are two very different properties but Justin created an environment in both that we have not found elsewhere.

This isn’t as much as a holiday as an “escape”.

Leave the world behind, switch off phones and “get it”.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bula Steve and family. What a stunning review and so very much appreciated. We are very fortunate to be led by our General Manager, Justin King who as you rightly note is a very accomplished hotelier. Together with our 200 strong VOMO family of staff, they deliver a wonderful experience that is far more than a beautiful island and contemporary accommodation, restaurants and bars. We are very happy that you found the VOMO experience to be review worthy and we are very grateful to you. Looking forward to welcoming you all back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2024

Okay, Vomo is a wonderful hotel. I have been impressed from start to finish. In stating that, little things will always be there. It could be linen running late for the bathroom, or your tea running on Fiji time - however, I am on holiday and don’t want to sweat over the small stuff. I hear you saying the room tariff is high and this hotel needs to be on their n ‘A’ game and faultless. Largely, it was amazing and really enjoyable.

Highlights:
Food - All meals are superb and so fresh. The Meke Night (Wednesday) dessert bar is something else.

Little Vomo Island Couples Snorkel and Picnic. SO special! Just do it. Book in early.

White Rock Snorkelling and Reef Shark Snorkelling. It was awesome and delivered in so many ways.

Cocktails are $$$ at $30-$35FJD. Yet they taste superb and the setting is fantastic. We packed our own alcohol and added to mocktails which were free of charge for us.

The management are really eager to please and Justin/Jason were approachable, present and popped up all over the place.

The Rocks Restaurant was amazing. The view of the island will leave you spellbound. Just be careful - it gets really hot out there.

Room - We stayed in a beachside villa. HONESTLY, it is 15 steps until the beach. The bathrooms are spacious and the room has a lovely deck which is great for a drink.

The laundry service (20 items washed and folded) was hammered. We travelled with two kids.

Kids Club - a great schedule and wide variety of things offered. You could go snorkelling, swimming, paint t-shirts, play on the playground etc. Lots offered.

Climb Mt Vomo. Great view. We went out to the yoga deck and then walked around Todd’s Trail. The walk wasn’t too bad. Just watch climbing after rain.

The spa was superb. I melted into a treatment and had to rescue myself from falling asleep a few too many times.

Adequate gym with treadmill, corded machine, jogger, bike and dumbbells. They provide towels and water in there.

If I was picky:
Sometimes communication issues can arise. They mistook the booking on one of our activities. It got sorted easily. Changing plans can also be tricky if various staff need to be told.

Fiji time exists. So what if your pot of tea takes 20 minutes. I found it best to approach the bar, order, sit nearby and then bring the beverage back to the table. I don’t sweat the small stuff and I am here to relax.

The Boutique for some items is quite $$ for certain items. Then again, I am on holidays…

Tip:
The walk to The Rocks from the reception takes 10-20 mins. It is really hot as well. They do offer a shuttle bus between the locations.

Overall
I’ve done 4 trips to Fiji. This hotel is the best by miles. It will take your breath away and relax you. We loved it!

Room tip: Towels can run out as linen is delivered from the mainland. Book experiences early as many depend on tides and who gets in first.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bula MPstoryteacher and vinaka for your wonderful and detailed review of VOMO. There are certainly areas we can always improve on and these reviews are shared with our family of staff, so we can always strive to be better. We are really pleased you loved VOMO and found it to be your best Fiji resort yet. Hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Sote tale (see you again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

Vomo is so spectacular in every way that it is an annual event we look forward to every year, all year until we are back in Vomo once again. We stay for 10 days and this was our 5th consecutive year of being at Vomo and it is always incredibly wonderful. The beauty of Vomo, the fabulous food, the luxurious accommodations, the friendly staff who treat us like family — it is better than anyplace else we’ve been to and we have travelled to many South Pacific destinations. Justin, the General Manager and Jason are terrific. Vomo is superb in every way!!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Bula!
It's such a delight to read your feedback and we are so grateful and humbled by your generous praise.
Our VOMO family always look forward to welcoming you back and we know there can be no greater compliment than our wonderful guests returning year on year. Vinaka for your continuing to entrust us as your annual holiday of choice. Sote tale & vinaka from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2023

Our first trip to VOMO, but our sixth to Fiji. And all I can say is, I have no idea what took us so long. VOMO is incredible! Our first family holiday exceeded ALL expectations. The resort and staff were incredible and the food was consistently the best of any resort I’ve stayed around the world. Trip was flawless. So much so we are already looking to re-book for next year. Our only regret was staying 7 nights. A couple more nights would have been ideal. 100% recommend.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Bula! What a delight to read this feedback. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review us and for the positive comments. We are thrilled that you had such a great stay. Funnily enough, since borders re-opened the length of stay has increased with guests staying longer as they more highly value recharging, relaxing and spending time together. We really hope you'll return to VOMO to make more family memories. Wishing you a wonderful holiday season. Vinaka from the VOMO family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2023

This is the third time we have been to Vomo Island. Unfortunately, the resort is not what it used to be. The rooms are starting to look and feel very run down. The restaurants are not the quality of previous visits. The breakfast buffet has been cut back significantly. The dinner menus have also been cut back and the food cuisine "theme" nights have been removed. I also got the impression the staff are unhappy as they did not have the happy welcoming glow of previous visits. The resort is probably making more money with the cut backs and lack of capital expenditure, but it is reflected in the average guest experience. We would not stay at the resort again.

Room tip: Ask for a new room.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank SheridanPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Bula SheridanPaul, We are disappointed to read that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay with us and for this we apologise unreservedly. We can be contacted directly on +679 7723 130 to further discuss your feedback.

We are not pleased to read you felt the staff were unhappy. In general terms, we are a resort that retains long term employees. We highly regard our VOMO family of staff and they of course are such an integral part of our operation. Your feedback is taken very seriously and acted upon. The staff were genuinely upset to hear this feedback and sorry to know that we did not portray the happy glow of your previous visits.

With regards to the cuisine, whilst we generally receive glowing reports of our cuisine, we do appreciate that you may not have enjoyed our menus and we are sorry this is the case. We have recently welcomed a new Executive Chef who has implemented some enhancements to our culinary offerings including breakfast. The Rocks will now open for breakfast, providing adults with a second option of venue and menu to start the day.

There are over 350 different dishes our culinary team prepare each week and they are perfecting these under the guidance of Chef Ajay to create menus that will appeal to all tastes.

In February and March 2024, we will be undertaking some maintenance across areas of the resort as we do understand the importance of upkeep.

We would highly value the opportunity of welcoming you back again to provide a more positive experience but we also understand you have choices of where you spend your holiday time. We apologise you felt we fell short this time but thank you for your feedback and wishing you happy holidays for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews