We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mark S
Sydney, Australia
Spectacular! A Desire to impress…
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jan 2024
Okay, Vomo is a wonderful hotel. I have been impressed from start to finish. In stating that, little things will always be there. It could be linen running late for the bathroom, or your tea running on Fiji time - however, I am on holiday and don’t want to sweat over the small stuff. I hear you saying the room tariff is high and this hotel needs to be on their n ‘A’ game and faultless. Largely, it was amazing and really enjoyable.

Highlights:
Food - All meals are superb and so fresh. The Meke Night (Wednesday) dessert bar is something else.

Little Vomo Island Couples Snorkel and Picnic. SO special! Just do it. Book in early.

White Rock Snorkelling and Reef Shark Snorkelling. It was awesome and delivered in so many ways.

Cocktails are $$$ at $30-$35FJD. Yet they taste superb and the setting is fantastic. We packed our own alcohol and added to mocktails which were free of charge for us.

The management are really eager to please and Justin/Jason were approachable, present and popped up all over the place.

The Rocks Restaurant was amazing. The view of the island will leave you spellbound. Just be careful - it gets really hot out there.

Room - We stayed in a beachside villa. HONESTLY, it is 15 steps until the beach. The bathrooms are spacious and the room has a lovely deck which is great for a drink.

The laundry service (20 items washed and folded) was hammered. We travelled with two kids.

Kids Club - a great schedule and wide variety of things offered. You could go snorkelling, swimming, paint t-shirts, play on the playground etc. Lots offered.

Climb Mt Vomo. Great view. We went out to the yoga deck and then walked around Todd’s Trail. The walk wasn’t too bad. Just watch climbing after rain.

The spa was superb. I melted into a treatment and had to rescue myself from falling asleep a few too many times.

Adequate gym with treadmill, corded machine, jogger, bike and dumbbells. They provide towels and water in there.

If I was picky:
Sometimes communication issues can arise. They mistook the booking on one of our activities. It got sorted easily. Changing plans can also be tricky if various staff need to be told.

Fiji time exists. So what if your pot of tea takes 20 minutes. I found it best to approach the bar, order, sit nearby and then bring the beverage back to the table. I don’t sweat the small stuff and I am here to relax.

The Boutique for some items is quite $$ for certain items. Then again, I am on holidays…

Tip:
The walk to The Rocks from the reception takes 10-20 mins. It is really hot as well. They do offer a shuttle bus between the locations.

Overall
I’ve done 4 trips to Fiji. This hotel is the best by miles. It will take your breath away and relax you. We loved it!
Date of stay: December 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $299
  • eDreams
18.4 km from Vomo Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Beach at the Treasure Island Resort
Tripadvisor
$327
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $327
  • Agoda.com
18.5 km from Vomo Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    $423
  • Hotels.com
19.9 km from Vomo Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
the bures
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $89
  • eDreams
19.9 km from Vomo Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$389
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
20.8 km from Vomo Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$581
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $581
22.6 km from Vomo Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $226
  • Hotels.com
23.1 km from Vomo Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$222
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
24.6 km from Vomo Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
21.2 km from Vomo Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
View more hotels in Vomo Island
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
542
54
20
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
542
54
20
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hillside villa kids club lunch and dinner movie room fish fiji night kids menu heaven on earth helicopter transfer the daily snorkelling trips family holiday welcome song young kids natural beauty anywhere in the world magical place hole golf course
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

Vomo is so spectacular in every way that it is an annual event we look forward to every year, all year until we are back in Vomo once again. We stay for 10 days and this was our 5th consecutive year of being at Vomo and it is always incredibly wonderful. The beauty of Vomo, the fabulous food, the luxurious accommodations, the friendly staff who treat us like family — it is better than anyplace else we’ve been to and we have travelled to many South Pacific destinations. Justin, the General Manager and Jason are terrific. Vomo is superb in every way!!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Bula!
It's such a delight to read your feedback and we are so grateful and humbled by your generous praise.
Our VOMO family always look forward to welcoming you back and we know there can be no greater compliment than our wonderful guests returning year on year. Vinaka for your continuing to entrust us as your annual holiday of choice. Sote tale & vinaka from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2023

Our first trip to VOMO, but our sixth to Fiji. And all I can say is, I have no idea what took us so long. VOMO is incredible! Our first family holiday exceeded ALL expectations. The resort and staff were incredible and the food was consistently the best of any resort I’ve stayed around the world. Trip was flawless. So much so we are already looking to re-book for next year. Our only regret was staying 7 nights. A couple more nights would have been ideal. 100% recommend.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Bula! What a delight to read this feedback. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review us and for the positive comments. We are thrilled that you had such a great stay. Funnily enough, since borders re-opened the length of stay has increased with guests staying longer as they more highly value recharging, relaxing and spending time together. We really hope you'll return to VOMO to make more family memories. Wishing you a wonderful holiday season. Vinaka from the VOMO family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2023

This is the third time we have been to Vomo Island. Unfortunately, the resort is not what it used to be. The rooms are starting to look and feel very run down. The restaurants are not the quality of previous visits. The breakfast buffet has been cut back significantly. The dinner menus have also been cut back and the food cuisine "theme" nights have been removed. I also got the impression the staff are unhappy as they did not have the happy welcoming glow of previous visits. The resort is probably making more money with the cut backs and lack of capital expenditure, but it is reflected in the average guest experience. We would not stay at the resort again.

Room tip: Ask for a new room.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank SheridanPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Bula SheridanPaul, We are disappointed to read that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay with us and for this we apologise unreservedly. We can be contacted directly on +679 7723 130 to further discuss your feedback.

We are not pleased to read you felt the staff were unhappy. In general terms, we are a resort that retains long term employees. We highly regard our VOMO family of staff and they of course are such an integral part of our operation. Your feedback is taken very seriously and acted upon. The staff were genuinely upset to hear this feedback and sorry to know that we did not portray the happy glow of your previous visits.

With regards to the cuisine, whilst we generally receive glowing reports of our cuisine, we do appreciate that you may not have enjoyed our menus and we are sorry this is the case. We have recently welcomed a new Executive Chef who has implemented some enhancements to our culinary offerings including breakfast. The Rocks will now open for breakfast, providing adults with a second option of venue and menu to start the day.

There are over 350 different dishes our culinary team prepare each week and they are perfecting these under the guidance of Chef Ajay to create menus that will appeal to all tastes.

In February and March 2024, we will be undertaking some maintenance across areas of the resort as we do understand the importance of upkeep.

We would highly value the opportunity of welcoming you back again to provide a more positive experience but we also understand you have choices of where you spend your holiday time. We apologise you felt we fell short this time but thank you for your feedback and wishing you happy holidays for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2023

This island is an experience beyond words !! Amazing - wonderful staff who honour of their way to make your stay nothing short of the best, the food and presentation exquisite. Thank you 🙏 we loved every minute including experiencing a cyclone and will be back !!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderer29072780463
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Bula! thanks so much for your feedback. Despite some inclement weather, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay and we are glad the VOMO family made you feel safe and welcome and you were well catered for. Hoping to see you back on VOMO again. In the meantime, take care and happy holidays. Warmest regards from the VOMO family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023

This was our second visit to Vomo, this time we opted for the entire week at the resort to get a relaxing break from a very hectic few months at home. We stayed in a beach front villa again with ocean views, day beds and hammocks out front and only a few steps to the shore! The staff are vibrant, helpful and kind. The resort managers Justin, Jason and Michael certainly know the perfect formula for an exceptional holiday. The staff are fantastic and make you feel more like a friend than a guest. We enjoyed scuba, snorkelling, fishing (including the kitchen preparing the fish for lunch which was divine) copious amounts of cocktails, and a cyclone! (Which was exciting, not scary, the staff know exactly what to do). We will probably make it a yearly destination.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Marvell, Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Bula and thank you so much for your lovely review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and just love reading all the comments. We are very proud of our amazing VOMO family of staff and we are glad you have found your happy place with us in
Fiji to recharge and relax. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards from the Vomo family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews