We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alison M

Cast Away Island

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Apr 2024
Anshu - Lady Chef
Amazing Roast Pork and excellent personal service. One of the best roast pork’s that I have had. Incredible chefs all around, Anshu the lady chef is charismatic and a great person to be delivering service during our family holiday.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 28 Apr 2024
Bula Camper830191,
Thank you for appreciating the work of Chef Anshu! She is a great recent addition to our kitchen team and we are blessed to have her on our team.

We will pass on your compliments to her.

Camper830191, we look forward to welcoming you back to the island.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$1,076
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $246
  • Booking.com
5.0 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,294
  • Booking.com
8.5 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Beachfront
Restaurant
$264
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $358
  • Agoda.com
    $231
  • Hotels.com
    $322
16.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Beachfront
Pool
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $297
  • StayForLong
17.1 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $453
  • Hotels.com
    $458
  • Trip.com
20.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
$1,004
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,015
  • Expedia.com
    $1,017
  • Agoda.com
    $1,009
25.6 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$2,030
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $2,009
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,969
  • Expedia.com
    $2,030
25.8 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$942
No prepayment needed
  • Sofitel
    $958
  • ZenHotels.com
    $873
  • Hotels.com
    $952
26.3 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free parking
Beachfront
$1,246
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,240
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
26.4 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveller rating
1,147
230
72
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,147
230
72
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club meal plan kids pool bush walk outer reef fish family holiday pizza bar beach bure main beach north side swim up bar banana boat a la carte waters edge water sports young kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2024 via mobile

We stayed at Castaway for 5 nights with our 2 year old & loved the friendly, chilled atmosphere. The beach is beautiful and the snorkelling is BRILLIANT right off the beach. The live music at all meal times and daily welcome songs were a highlight! We loved the authentic Fiji feel of the accomodation & it was great to be able to easily walk everywhere and find our way around. The staff are so lovely and everyone greets you with a smile and “Bula!”. There are also complementary snorkels, kayaks & paddle boards ready for use all day! It took us a day or so to get the hang of the meal ordering system & adjust to the “Fiji time” at the dining areas. HINT: Make yourself known to wait staff as you arrive, order food and drinks straight away rather than sitting/waiting at tables for someone to come to you & be prepared to chase up some orders. The buffet is a really easy option for breakfast, lunch and dinner if you have kids! Also important to note that there is very limited wifi and no wifi/tv’s in the rooms, which we loved but may be a no go for some people.

Room tip: Meal times - buffet is the fastest option. A Le cart - make yourself known to wait staff and order as you arrive.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Bula Georgia S,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Castaway Resort!
It sounds like you had a wonderful time with your family enjoying the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.

I agree that the beach and snorkeling right off the shore is amazing, and it's great that the staff added to the experience with our daily live music.

It's nice to hear that the accommodation had an authentic Fiji feel and that you found the activities like snorkels, kayaks, and paddle boards convenient.

Our limited wifi and absence of TVs in the rooms allows our guests to disconnect and immerse in the island experience.

We appreciate you sharing your insights and hope you left with wonderful memories of your stay.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2024

Castaway is an amazing place, the staff were fantastic and the food was amazing. A special mention to the many chef who accomodate our needs for a Gluten free diet for our young daughter. Also the water sports and activities were fun, lots of equipment and advice provided by the beach staff, and kids club was amazing.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go187909
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Bula Go187909,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your cuisine experiences on island.
Thank you for appreciating the work that our chefs do. I will certainly pass on your compliments and I know they will be as pleased to receive them.

Great to know that you got to enjoy the array of activities we offer on island.

Go187909, we look forward to welcoming you back to the island.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2024

Make sure you go and see Dave at the pool bar!!!!!! He is the most awesome and best barman I've ever met. He is thoughtful, and remembers everyone's names and favourite drinks!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jodie and graha... f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Bula grahamf160,
Thank you for your review on Dave and for appreciating the work that he does at our Malua Pool Bar.
I certainly I agree that guests do visit Dave try out his special cocktails.

grahamf160,, we look forward to welcoming you back on island. By the way, Dave said "Bula"!
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2024

We had the best time here .

I read a review from March 2024 about certain creatures in the food - that has to be dishonest as it talks about it being a motel - which it’s not and taking the first flight out of there - there is no airport ! Seems all a bit suspicious and not at all what we experienced….!

The place is perfect The rooms are really well laid out and very comfortable - great for two adults and two kids.

It’s never too busy as it’s a nice small resort and never seemed to get crowded.

Snorkelling is fantastic and so close the “house reef” is excellent and just gets better and better the more “ to the left “ north? you go - past monkey rock. Saw the biggest clam I have ever seen - about 80cm.

Beautiful coral free sandy beaches facing two directions, SUPs , kayaks and a hobiecat we used half a dozen times. Lots to do

Food was very good - massive choice at buffet and a station to cook you an omelette or eggs etc. the guy running the egg station ( Nikhail) was very warm and friendly and really went out of his way for me and my family. A real good guy that made our time here just that bit more special.

Messa at the dive centre sorted us all out and organised some amazing trips. The highlight was with captain Si when he took us to the sand spit island. This was the among the best snorkelling we have done - saw 4 reef sharks and 3 turtles as well as a few Spanish mackerel , GTs , emperor angels , massive parrots amongst the usual suspects …!

We had a brilliant time and really were sad to leave. I stuffed up the transfer on the ferry and we had to return to the island …. But the head of the boat staff …. Can’t remember his name …. Sorted us in minutes and water taxied us to our next resort within 5 minutes.

Beautiful people …. Beautiful place. I can’t wait to return!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Bula T661Maalh,
Thank you for sharing your comprehensive and fantastic experience at Castaway Island, Fiji Resort!

It sounds like you had an amazing time with your family, enjoying the comfortable rooms, beautiful beaches, and excellent snorkeling right off the house reef.

The variety of activities like SUPs, kayaks, and the hobiecat added to the fun.

It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the food options, especially Nikhail's warm hospitality at the egg station.
Messa and Captain Si also seem to have made your snorkeling trips unforgettable with sightings of reef sharks, turtles, and various marine life.

It is great to hear that the staff swiftly resolved the hiccup with your transfers and ensured you were taken care of promptly.

Your review truly highlights the charm of the resort, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay!
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2024

Spent 7 nights in a northern beach bure and what an epic holiday!
1st time for us at castaway. Went to Plantation island back in Sep/Oct of 2016.
The people at this beautiful island are amazing and so accomodating. They have treated us like family all week. Amazing memories for my wife and 3 kids and I. We will never forget our time here.
Highly recommend a 4 hr private charter on Teivovo (400hP boat). Benji (guide) and Joel (captain) were excellent. 1st up went for a swim in the infinity edge swimming pool while sipping cocktails on MalaMala island, then jetted off to snorkel at Aloha Reef, follow by another wicked snorkelling session just off Yanuya Island, then onto the “swimming pools” for an idylic blue water swim on the northern side of Monu Island, then onto Monuriki island (Castaway with Tom Hanks was filmed there), then sunset drinks at Malolo Island with the family before heading back to castaway for dinner.
Highly recommended holiday with family and one day I reckon we will be back. BULA!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPark_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Bula Q659RWchrisk,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you got to experience the magic of Castaway Island.

Thank you for recommending Castaway to our readers and we look forward to welcoming them and you back to the island.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews