We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
al h

Perfect place. Beautiful people.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We had the best time here .

I read a review from March 2024 about certain creatures in the food - that has to be dishonest as it talks about it being a motel - which it’s not and taking the first flight out of there - there is no airport ! Seems all a bit suspicious and not at all what we experienced….!

The place is perfect The rooms are really well laid out and very comfortable - great for two adults and two kids.

It’s never too busy as it’s a nice small resort and never seemed to get crowded.

Snorkelling is fantastic and so close the “house reef” is excellent and just gets better and better the more “ to the left “ north? you go - past monkey rock. Saw the biggest clam I have ever seen - about 80cm.

Beautiful coral free sandy beaches facing two directions, SUPs , kayaks and a hobiecat we used half a dozen times. Lots to do

Food was very good - massive choice at buffet and a station to cook you an omelette or eggs etc. the guy running the egg station ( Nikhail) was very warm and friendly and really went out of his way for me and my family. A real good guy that made our time here just that bit more special.

Messa at the dive centre sorted us all out and organised some amazing trips. The highlight was with captain Si when he took us to the sand spit island. This was the among the best snorkelling we have done - saw 4 reef sharks and 3 turtles as well as a few Spanish mackerel , GTs , emperor angels , massive parrots amongst the usual suspects …!

We had a brilliant time and really were sad to leave. I stuffed up the transfer on the ferry and we had to return to the island …. But the head of the boat staff …. Can’t remember his name …. Sorted us in minutes and water taxied us to our next resort within 5 minutes.

Beautiful people …. Beautiful place. I can’t wait to return!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Bula T661Maalh,
Thank you for sharing your comprehensive and fantastic experience at Castaway Island, Fiji Resort!

It sounds like you had an amazing time with your family, enjoying the comfortable rooms, beautiful beaches, and excellent snorkeling right off the house reef.

The variety of activities like SUPs, kayaks, and the hobiecat added to the fun.

It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the food options, especially Nikhail's warm hospitality at the egg station.
Messa and Captain Si also seem to have made your snorkeling trips unforgettable with sightings of reef sharks, turtles, and various marine life.

It is great to hear that the staff swiftly resolved the hiccup with your transfers and ensured you were taken care of promptly.

Your review truly highlights the charm of the resort, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay!
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $2,015
  • Booking.com
2.6 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,049
  • Booking.com
3.7 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Beachfront
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $281
  • Hotels.com
5.0 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $611
  • Hotels.com
8.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,004
  • Hotels.com
8.3 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Beachfront
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $279
  • Priceline
16.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Beachfront
Pool
Beach at the Treasure Island Resort
Tripadvisor
$340
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $340
17.1 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$451
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
20.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$1,082
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
25.6 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Reviews (1,477)
Filter reviews
1,477 results
Traveller rating
1,141
230
72
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,141
230
72
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club meal plan kids pool bush walk outer reef fish family holiday pizza bar beach bure main beach north side swim up bar banana boat a la carte waters edge water sports young kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,477 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2024

Spent 7 nights in a northern beach bure and what an epic holiday!
1st time for us at castaway. Went to Plantation island back in Sep/Oct of 2016.
The people at this beautiful island are amazing and so accomodating. They have treated us like family all week. Amazing memories for my wife and 3 kids and I. We will never forget our time here.
Highly recommend a 4 hr private charter on Teivovo (400hP boat). Benji (guide) and Joel (captain) were excellent. 1st up went for a swim in the infinity edge swimming pool while sipping cocktails on MalaMala island, then jetted off to snorkel at Aloha Reef, follow by another wicked snorkelling session just off Yanuya Island, then onto the “swimming pools” for an idylic blue water swim on the northern side of Monu Island, then onto Monuriki island (Castaway with Tom Hanks was filmed there), then sunset drinks at Malolo Island with the family before heading back to castaway for dinner.
Highly recommended holiday with family and one day I reckon we will be back. BULA!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPark_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bula Q659RWchrisk,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you got to experience the magic of Castaway Island.

Thank you for recommending Castaway to our readers and we look forward to welcoming them and you back to the island.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

We stayed in Castaway recently with our young family and absolutely loved this place!
Accommodation, food and kids club were all fantastic. We would definitely stay here again and can't wait to go back! Special shout out to Elizabeth from the nanny service who looked after our little guy so well :)

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bula Rebeccajking,
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you had an amazing stay.

Thank you for appreciating all that we offer on island.
We will pass on your comments to Elizabeth.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the island.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2024 via mobile

Such a wonderful island with staff that truly treat you like family. Not a big resort but that's what we loved about it. We did go during the rainy season but there was still so much to see and do. The snorkeling off the beach was fantastic as was the diving around the island.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 186aliciat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bula 186aliciat,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your Castaway experience and already planning to book your next trip back.

186aliciat, we cant wait to welcome you back.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

There were maggots in the food. I’m sorry to tell you, but if you are looking at this hotel, do not book it. Save your health and your family’s health. This was day one, so we lived off of snacks that we brought. Absolutely disgusting. Got the earliest flight we could to get out of there. DO NOT BOOK here.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Bula Richard L,
We are deeply troubled to hear about your experience. The health and well-being of our guests are our utmost priorities, and we take reports of food-related issues very seriously.

Upon investigation, we found no evidence to support the presence of maggots in our food. Our kitchen staff maintains strict hygiene standards and follows rigorous food safety protocols to ensure the quality and safety of our meals.

We understand the importance of transparency and accountability, and we encourage guests to bring any concerns to our attention immediately so that we can address them promptly. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of this issue during your stay, and we regret that we were unable to investigate and resolve the matter to your satisfaction.

We genuinely apologize for any inconvenience and disappointment you experienced, and we assure you that we are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness and food safety at all times.

We value your feedback and take it seriously as we continuously strive to improve our services.

Our resort has a rich history in our 58 years of of providing amazing holiday experiences, including food, and you comments discouraging our readers to NOT book here is sad.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

This was our second visit to Castaway exactly 12mths from the previous time. We enjoyed our first trip there so much re returned. We stayed 5 nights and had a great time however the weather was wet most of the time but this is expected this time of the year...our last visit we had sun out everyday.

The food again was good and also the service. We did lots of snorkelling around the island and you need to get out to the drop off to see some good colourful fish. It was a shame to see the amount of rubbish floating in the water when the wind got up and blew it in..a lot of this comes off the mainland.

We took a snorkelling trip out to the sandbar but the visibility was not great so our guide took us close to his home island to a place called paradise and dropped us in the middle of the ocean and that was very cool spot.


The pool itself is overdue for a tidy up. Its suppose to be Adults only but this is not true..even the kids from kids club with their minders were in the pool. Also maybe the chairs need all the cushions replaced at the eateries as they are probably the original ones and look worn from years of use.

Max was great and remembered us from our last visit.
Please check your final account also as it would be easy to charge to other bures as its all paper written notes when you eat and drink.

Note. Please use the 'in house' safes for valuables as we ran into our Bure neighbours at the airport and they had over $1000 in cash taken from their room. They acknowledged they didn't use the safe and were tipping the cleaner so be aware.

The Fijians are amazing friendly people.

We will be back again but not for so long next time.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guide35981386768
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Bula Guide35981386768,
Thank you for returning to Castaway Resort and for sharing your feedback with us.
We are delighted to hear that you chose to visit us again and had an enjoyable stay overall, despite the weather challenges.

We are glad that you found the food and service to be good, and that you were able to explore the underwater world through snorkeling, albeit with some visibility issues and the unfortunate sight of floating rubbish. We will continue our efforts to address environmental concerns and maintain the beauty of our surroundings.

It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the personalized service from Max and enjoyed the unique snorkeling experience at "Paradise."

We appreciate your suggestions for improvement, relating to our pool and furniture. These are already part of plans to enhance the guest experience.

Thank you for raising awareness about the importance of using in-room safes for valuables, and we're sorry to hear about your neighbors' experience. While we will continue to emphasize the importance of security measures to ensure the safety of our guests' belongings, we have ensured full investigation into the incident.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews