We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alicia T
Sydney, Australia

We'll be booking our trip back!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2024via mobile
Such a wonderful island with staff that truly treat you like family. Not a big resort but that's what we loved about it. We did go during the rainy season but there was still so much to see and do. The snorkeling off the beach was fantastic as was the diving around the island.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 28 Apr 2024
Bula 186aliciat,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your Castaway experience and already planning to book your next trip back.

186aliciat, we cant wait to welcome you back.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $264
  • Hotels.com
    $234
  • Expedia.com
    $275
5.0 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
Looking across the bay
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $32
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
6.8 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Beachfront
Restaurant
$771
  • Expedia.com
    $813
  • ZenHotels.com
    $756
  • Priceline
8.3 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$955
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $981
  • Hotels.com
    $902
  • Trip.com
8.5 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Beachfront
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $1,098
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
12.3 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
$280
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $234
  • Expedia.com
    $362
16.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Beachfront
Pool
Beach at the Treasure Island Resort
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    $303
  • StayForLong
17.1 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
$875
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    $877
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
    $871
17.3 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Pool
$546
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $549
  • Priceline
    $546
  • Hotels.com
    $550
20.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,021
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
25.6 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveller rating
1,147
230
72
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,147
230
72
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club meal plan kids pool bush walk outer reef fish family holiday pizza bar beach bure main beach north side swim up bar banana boat a la carte waters edge water sports young kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

There were maggots in the food. I’m sorry to tell you, but if you are looking at this hotel, do not book it. Save your health and your family’s health. This was day one, so we lived off of snacks that we brought. Absolutely disgusting. Got the earliest flight we could to get out of there. DO NOT BOOK here.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Bula Richard L,
We are deeply troubled to hear about your experience. The health and well-being of our guests are our utmost priorities, and we take reports of food-related issues very seriously.

Upon investigation, we found no evidence to support the presence of maggots in our food. Our kitchen staff maintains strict hygiene standards and follows rigorous food safety protocols to ensure the quality and safety of our meals.

We understand the importance of transparency and accountability, and we encourage guests to bring any concerns to our attention immediately so that we can address them promptly. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of this issue during your stay, and we regret that we were unable to investigate and resolve the matter to your satisfaction.

We genuinely apologize for any inconvenience and disappointment you experienced, and we assure you that we are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness and food safety at all times.

We value your feedback and take it seriously as we continuously strive to improve our services.

Our resort has a rich history in our 58 years of of providing amazing holiday experiences, including food, and you comments discouraging our readers to NOT book here is sad.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

This was our second visit to Castaway exactly 12mths from the previous time. We enjoyed our first trip there so much re returned. We stayed 5 nights and had a great time however the weather was wet most of the time but this is expected this time of the year...our last visit we had sun out everyday.

The food again was good and also the service. We did lots of snorkelling around the island and you need to get out to the drop off to see some good colourful fish. It was a shame to see the amount of rubbish floating in the water when the wind got up and blew it in..a lot of this comes off the mainland.

We took a snorkelling trip out to the sandbar but the visibility was not great so our guide took us close to his home island to a place called paradise and dropped us in the middle of the ocean and that was very cool spot.


The pool itself is overdue for a tidy up. Its suppose to be Adults only but this is not true..even the kids from kids club with their minders were in the pool. Also maybe the chairs need all the cushions replaced at the eateries as they are probably the original ones and look worn from years of use.

Max was great and remembered us from our last visit.
Please check your final account also as it would be easy to charge to other bures as its all paper written notes when you eat and drink.

Note. Please use the 'in house' safes for valuables as we ran into our Bure neighbours at the airport and they had over $1000 in cash taken from their room. They acknowledged they didn't use the safe and were tipping the cleaner so be aware.

The Fijians are amazing friendly people.

We will be back again but not for so long next time.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guide35981386768
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Bula Guide35981386768,
Thank you for returning to Castaway Resort and for sharing your feedback with us.
We are delighted to hear that you chose to visit us again and had an enjoyable stay overall, despite the weather challenges.

We are glad that you found the food and service to be good, and that you were able to explore the underwater world through snorkeling, albeit with some visibility issues and the unfortunate sight of floating rubbish. We will continue our efforts to address environmental concerns and maintain the beauty of our surroundings.

It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the personalized service from Max and enjoyed the unique snorkeling experience at "Paradise."

We appreciate your suggestions for improvement, relating to our pool and furniture. These are already part of plans to enhance the guest experience.

Thank you for raising awareness about the importance of using in-room safes for valuables, and we're sorry to hear about your neighbors' experience. While we will continue to emphasize the importance of security measures to ensure the safety of our guests' belongings, we have ensured full investigation into the incident.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

People are great, food is good, spa services are nice. Manager and some of the restaurant staff was very friendly, the ladies at the front desk not so much. They seemed a bit grumpy which is very rare as compared to other Fiji resorts. People genuinely seem kinder and friendly.

Kids club is fun, a lot of kids and well organized activities etc. We got amazing sun one day and rain the other. Snorkeling was not that great either, hardly any sea life and where they took us for snorkeling in a chartered boat did not having great corals (I have seen much better in other areas of Fiji).

Reason for low stars - Overall the resort can use some upgrades. Rooms are old and dainty. They feel wet all the time with the weather and bedding towels, floor etc all feel wet. poor air conditioning (hardly works) and very old. And smell moldy.

Concept of room service does not exist, there is no phone or cell phone reception in rooms. Even for towels or ice or making any reservations for boat or spa etc you have to constantly keep getting out. It pours a lot during the wet season, and very tricky to keep Walking to the front desk for anything basics. I get the concept of island time and no cell phone network in rooms but Checkin into our flights etc was not so fun.

Not a place for luxury but jut basic island with nice friendly staff around.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mehak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Bula mehakk2013,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the food and spa services during your stay. However, we apologize for the shortcomings you experienced, particularly regarding the front desk service and the condition of the rooms.

Your comments regarding the condition of the rooms and the challenges with room service are duly noted. We understand the importance of a comfortable and convenient stay for our guests and will look into the comments raised.

We are sorry to hear that the snorkeling experience did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate your feedback.

We appreciate that despite the challenges you encountered, you were still able to enjoy the friendly atmosphere and the activities offered, especially at the kids club.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an improved experience.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Absolutely amazing resort, with amazing staff. Best holidays that we will never forget. We will be going back again for sure.
Best food I’ve ever eaten, most friendliest staff I’ve ever come across. 5 star service!!!!!
If you’re looking for a beautiful place in Fiji it’s the place to go.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lizzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Bula 920lizzyr,
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an unforgettable experience at our resort and that our staff made your holiday truly special. Your kind words about our food and service is humbling.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay!
Vinaka,
The Castaway Vuvale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

What an incredible resort absolutely the most outstanding experience of my life it was packed with awesome activities like snorkeling in the crystal clear ocean, all you can eat buffet with the most delicious food and you can’t forget about the most wonderful bartender Dave, Dave was one of the most kindhearted, welcoming and funny people I have ever met he served world classes drinks and gave wonderful hospitality to all customers. 10/10 I can’t wait to go again.

Room tip: Please go and give Dave all your love
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Bula K9291DLsamr,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such an incredible experience at our resort and that it was the most outstanding experience of your life.

It sounds like you truly made the most of your time here, enjoying the activities on offer and indulging in our delicious all-you-can-eat buffet. We're delighted that you enjoyed our cuisine offering.

And of course, we couldn't agree more about Dave! He is indeed one of our shining stars, and we're delighted to hear that he made such a positive impact on your experience. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him, as I'm sure he'll be thrilled to hear them.

Thank you for rating us 10/10, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful stay.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Vuvale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews