We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Richard L

Sorry to be disgusting but maggots in the food

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2024via mobile
There were maggots in the food. I’m sorry to tell you, but if you are looking at this hotel, do not book it. Save your health and your family’s health. This was day one, so we lived off of snacks that we brought. Absolutely disgusting. Got the earliest flight we could to get out of there. DO NOT BOOK here.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 29 Mar 2024
Bula Richard L,
We are deeply troubled to hear about your experience. The health and well-being of our guests are our utmost priorities, and we take reports of food-related issues very seriously.

Upon investigation, we found no evidence to support the presence of maggots in our food. Our kitchen staff maintains strict hygiene standards and follows rigorous food safety protocols to ensure the quality and safety of our meals.

We understand the importance of transparency and accountability, and we encourage guests to bring any concerns to our attention immediately so that we can address them promptly. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of this issue during your stay, and we regret that we were unable to investigate and resolve the matter to your satisfaction.

We genuinely apologize for any inconvenience and disappointment you experienced, and we assure you that we are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness and food safety at all times.

We value your feedback and take it seriously as we continuously strive to improve our services.

Our resort has a rich history in our 58 years of of providing amazing holiday experiences, including food, and you comments discouraging our readers to NOT book here is sad.
Vinaka,
The Castaway Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $274
  • Booking.com
5.0 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Pool
Beachfront
$813
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
8.3 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$979
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
8.5 km from Castaway Island Fiji
Beachfront
Restaurant
$332
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    16.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
    $280
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $360
    • Agoda.com
      $234
    • Expedia.com
      $362
    16.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Beach at the Treasure Island Resort
    $333
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Trip.com
    • Agoda.com
      $303
    • StayForLong
    17.1 km from Castaway Island Fiji
    Pool
    Beachfront
    $875
    No prepayment needed
    Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
    • Priceline
      $871
    • Booking.com
      $871
    • Expedia.com
      $876
    17.3 km from Castaway Island Fiji
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    $546
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      $549
    • Hotels.com
      $550
    • Priceline
      $546
    20.2 km from Castaway Island Fiji
    Pool
    Beachfront
    $1,026
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    25.6 km from Castaway Island Fiji
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $1,836
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • Booking.com
    25.8 km from Castaway Island Fiji
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
    Reviews (1,483)
    Filter reviews
    1,483 results
    Traveller rating
    1,147
    230
    72
    24
    10
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,147
    230
    72
    24
    10
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews kids club meal plan kids pool bush walk outer reef fish family holiday pizza bar beach bure main beach north side swim up bar banana boat a la carte waters edge water sports young kids
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    15 - 20 of 1,483 reviews
    Reviewed 23 March 2024

    This was our second visit to Castaway exactly 12mths from the previous time. We enjoyed our first trip there so much re returned. We stayed 5 nights and had a great time however the weather was wet most of the time but this is expected this time of the year...our last visit we had sun out everyday.

    The food again was good and also the service. We did lots of snorkelling around the island and you need to get out to the drop off to see some good colourful fish. It was a shame to see the amount of rubbish floating in the water when the wind got up and blew it in..a lot of this comes off the mainland.

    We took a snorkelling trip out to the sandbar but the visibility was not great so our guide took us close to his home island to a place called paradise and dropped us in the middle of the ocean and that was very cool spot.


    The pool itself is overdue for a tidy up. Its suppose to be Adults only but this is not true..even the kids from kids club with their minders were in the pool. Also maybe the chairs need all the cushions replaced at the eateries as they are probably the original ones and look worn from years of use.

    Max was great and remembered us from our last visit.
    Please check your final account also as it would be easy to charge to other bures as its all paper written notes when you eat and drink.

    Note. Please use the 'in house' safes for valuables as we ran into our Bure neighbours at the airport and they had over $1000 in cash taken from their room. They acknowledged they didn't use the safe and were tipping the cleaner so be aware.

    The Fijians are amazing friendly people.

    We will be back again but not for so long next time.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Guide35981386768
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

    Bula Guide35981386768,
    Thank you for returning to Castaway Resort and for sharing your feedback with us.
    We are delighted to hear that you chose to visit us again and had an enjoyable stay overall, despite the weather challenges.

    We are glad that you found the food and service to be good, and that you were able to explore the underwater world through snorkeling, albeit with some visibility issues and the unfortunate sight of floating rubbish. We will continue our efforts to address environmental concerns and maintain the beauty of our surroundings.

    It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the personalized service from Max and enjoyed the unique snorkeling experience at "Paradise."

    We appreciate your suggestions for improvement, relating to our pool and furniture. These are already part of plans to enhance the guest experience.

    Thank you for raising awareness about the importance of using in-room safes for valuables, and we're sorry to hear about your neighbors' experience. While we will continue to emphasize the importance of security measures to ensure the safety of our guests' belongings, we have ensured full investigation into the incident.

    We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!
    Vinaka,
    The Castaway Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 March 2024

    People are great, food is good, spa services are nice. Manager and some of the restaurant staff was very friendly, the ladies at the front desk not so much. They seemed a bit grumpy which is very rare as compared to other Fiji resorts. People genuinely seem kinder and friendly.

    Kids club is fun, a lot of kids and well organized activities etc. We got amazing sun one day and rain the other. Snorkeling was not that great either, hardly any sea life and where they took us for snorkeling in a chartered boat did not having great corals (I have seen much better in other areas of Fiji).

    Reason for low stars - Overall the resort can use some upgrades. Rooms are old and dainty. They feel wet all the time with the weather and bedding towels, floor etc all feel wet. poor air conditioning (hardly works) and very old. And smell moldy.

    Concept of room service does not exist, there is no phone or cell phone reception in rooms. Even for towels or ice or making any reservations for boat or spa etc you have to constantly keep getting out. It pours a lot during the wet season, and very tricky to keep Walking to the front desk for anything basics. I get the concept of island time and no cell phone network in rooms but Checkin into our flights etc was not so fun.

    Not a place for luxury but jut basic island with nice friendly staff around.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Mehak K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

    Bula mehakk2013,
    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
    We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the food and spa services during your stay. However, we apologize for the shortcomings you experienced, particularly regarding the front desk service and the condition of the rooms.

    Your comments regarding the condition of the rooms and the challenges with room service are duly noted. We understand the importance of a comfortable and convenient stay for our guests and will look into the comments raised.

    We are sorry to hear that the snorkeling experience did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate your feedback.

    We appreciate that despite the challenges you encountered, you were still able to enjoy the friendly atmosphere and the activities offered, especially at the kids club.

    Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an improved experience.
    Vinaka,
    The Castaway Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 March 2024

    Absolutely amazing resort, with amazing staff. Best holidays that we will never forget. We will be going back again for sure.
    Best food I’ve ever eaten, most friendliest staff I’ve ever come across. 5 star service!!!!!
    If you’re looking for a beautiful place in Fiji it’s the place to go.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Lizzy R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

    Bula 920lizzyr,
    Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an unforgettable experience at our resort and that our staff made your holiday truly special. Your kind words about our food and service is humbling.

    We can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay!
    Vinaka,
    The Castaway Vuvale

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 March 2024

    What an incredible resort absolutely the most outstanding experience of my life it was packed with awesome activities like snorkeling in the crystal clear ocean, all you can eat buffet with the most delicious food and you can’t forget about the most wonderful bartender Dave, Dave was one of the most kindhearted, welcoming and funny people I have ever met he served world classes drinks and gave wonderful hospitality to all customers. 10/10 I can’t wait to go again.

    Room tip: Please go and give Dave all your love
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank sam r
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

    Bula K9291DLsamr,
    Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such an incredible experience at our resort and that it was the most outstanding experience of your life.

    It sounds like you truly made the most of your time here, enjoying the activities on offer and indulging in our delicious all-you-can-eat buffet. We're delighted that you enjoyed our cuisine offering.

    And of course, we couldn't agree more about Dave! He is indeed one of our shining stars, and we're delighted to hear that he made such a positive impact on your experience. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him, as I'm sure he'll be thrilled to hear them.

    Thank you for rating us 10/10, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful stay.
    Vinaka,
    The Castaway Vuvale

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 March 2024

    We arrived at Castaway to a warm welcome and a nice cool drink. We were allocated Bure 8 but soon after we were changed to Bure 31 without explanation. We checked out Bure 8, it was empty and we did like its location better being on the north side but Bure 31 was on the other side which was fine. We loved how beautiful the resort was with its lovely tropical gardens and traditional thatched roof top bures. It felt like you were living in a beautiful village.

    Staff: The staff were friendly, especially the gorgeous Boo-boo, she was fantastic, her interaction with us was so lovely, we loved her personality, her laugh and the way she ran to join us and the singing group on my birthday. A special mention to Eta, Boo-Boo (restaurant), Ben, Mesa and Paul (diving team), Isaac, Tito (bar), Amelia, Siji (housekeeping) and GM Steven and all the staff who we interacted with, sorry we cannot remember all the names. A Special mention to the lovely lady who helped me walk back to my room with my dinner and dessert on the night I was not feeling very well and couldn't stay in the restaurant. Sadly, I didn't catch her name but I want to mention her in this review and show her that I appreciated her help, Vinaka lovely lady. I wish I knew her name.

    Thank you to all involved in my birthday sing along and cake, especially Boo-boo who rang to my table to sing happy birthday, that was so sweet.

    Food: The food for us was all inclusive. The buffet breakfasts were good. Buffet and/or a la carte menu were available for lunch and dinner. The pizzas at the Sundowner were very good. Most of the buffet food was good depending on the theme but after a few days we ate more from the a la-carte menu for lunch and dinner because we enjoyed the food a lot more. We wanted to try the Asian 1808 restaurant but it was not open during our stay, it looked like it may not be operating any more.

    Accommodation: Our bure was clean and comfortable with a king bed and two singles used as day beds, lovely traditional decor, good aircon but water pressure was very low. Thank you to the housekeeping ladies who decorated our bure for my birthday, loved the big sign and the decorations on the bed, especially the towel birthday cake, that was gorgeous. Thank you to reception for offering us a late check out, it was great.

    Malua Pool: The so called "quiet" Malua swimming pool was definitely not a quiet environment as the pool rules state it should be. The pool was also very hot most of the time so not too easy to cool down. There really needs to be shade cloths over the pool to help cool the water down just to make it more pleasant to swim in. We saw several people get in, say it was too hot and get out. This pool is not adults only and no-one obeyed the Malua pool rules, especially a lot of loud kids and loud adults. At the managers cocktail party we did provide feedback about the water temperature and lack of shade cloths and it would be great if there was an adult only pool (we don't hate kids ok). There was no response about considering an adult only pool but they did mention they are going to build a water park so it seems that they focus more on kids here by the sounds of it. We enjoyed cocktails by the pool bar, lots to choose from which was great. It is just so rude of entitled guests that reserve the seats around the pool and the beach but are elsewhere, they know who they are.

    Snorkelling + Diving: During our stay the snorkelling wasn't so impressive, lots of coral but not much sea life. My partner loved scuba diving trips, especially the night dive, thanks to Paul and the diving team.

    Gift Shop + Spa: The gift shop was very expensive, especially water, drinks, snacks and souvenirs. Had a foot massage at the Spa for my birthday and it was enjoyable.

    Bill: Check your bill before you leave - Despite paying my accommodation in full 6 months prior to arriving I was surprised to be charged an unexpected substantial amount of money before we left. I was told I didn't pay enough but it took a fair bit of convincing it was wrong, and it was wrong. We were refunded the majority of it at checkout but after several emails back and forth from home we were told that they do not refund the 3% administration fee. Eventually it was finally decided by Castaway that they would refund the administration fee which made sense. For some reason our last remaining refund disappeared on my statement and then reappeared. This issue was the reason I didn't selection excellent, these errors were frustrating.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Butterflygirl54
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steven Andrews, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

    Bula Butterflygirl54,
    We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at Castaway Resort and thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. It's heartwarming to know that you found the resort to be beautiful, with its lush tropical gardens and traditional thatched roof bures, providing a charming village-like atmosphere.

    We are thrilled to hear about the positive interactions you had with our staff, particularly Boo-boo, whose exceptional service and infectious personality left a lasting impression on you. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the mentioned staff members, including those who assisted you during your birthday celebration and the staff who helped you when you weren't feeling well.

    Regarding dining, we appreciate your feedback on the inclusive buffet offerings and the quality of the a la carte menu. We regret to hear about the inconvenience regarding the closure of the Asian 1808 restaurant during your stay due to weather.

    Your comments regarding accommodation are duly noted, and we're pleased to hear that you found your bure comfortable and well-decorated, especially for your birthday. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the low water pressure. I am pleased to advise that we have identified and fixed the cause of the fault.

    Regarding the Malua Pool, we apologize for the noise disturbance and the temperature of the water not meeting your expectations. Your feedback regarding the lack of shade and the desire for an adult-only pool has been duly noted.

    We're glad to hear that your partner enjoyed the scuba diving trips, particularly the night dive, and we'll be sure to pass on your compliments to Paul and the diving team.

    Regarding the gift shop and spa, we appreciate your feedback.

    We sincerely apologize for the billing discrepancies you experienced. Rest assured, we will investigate this matter further to prevent such issues from occurring in the future.

    Once again, thank you for choosing Castaway Resort for your holiday, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an even more enjoyable stay.

    Vinaka,
    The Castaway Vuvale

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews