We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kevinal522021
Auckland, New Zealand

Relaxing, Restful and Rejuvenating

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Apr 2024via mobile
We were greeted like returning family on arrival, and the staff are always friendly. The food is plentiful and delicious with a great selection too.
All facilities are top notch and well maintained, the daily room cleaning is quick and efficiently done.
At Navini you can relax on the hammocks or day beds, take daily snorkelling trips to amazing coral reefs, or even swim round the island before breakfast.
Night entertainment varies from ‘Island nights’ to folk tales of how Fijians arrived in the Islands, while sipping Navini’s great selection of cocktails.
Meeting new friends is always a bonus of staying at Navini Island.
Thank you to everyone who helped make our stay a memorable one.
We will be back
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Only reef shoes needed
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $278
  • Priceline
6.5 km from Navini Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Tripadvisor
$803
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.2 km from Navini Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $2,450
  • Priceline
8.8 km from Navini Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $640
  • Expedia.com
    $707
8.8 km from Navini Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $247
  • Priceline
9.0 km from Navini Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$1,014
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,014
9.2 km from Navini Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,043
  • Expedia.com
    $1,109
9.3 km from Navini Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Tripadvisor
$541
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $541
9.4 km from Navini Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$1,956
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,956
12.4 km from Navini Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Looking across the bay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
    $22
  • Vio.com
12.9 km from Navini Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Navini Island
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
408
44
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
408
44
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal dining other guests reef sharks fish sea lice every morning daily trips there is no air conditioning nearby reefs small number of guests every meal fijian night water equipment dinner on the beach beach volleyball marine life each guest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Our time on Navini island exceeded all of our expectations. The staff were extremely friendly and responsive to each of our requests. This included the water sports, food and beverage service, housekeeping and admin staff. The meals were delicious, varied and the serving sizes were very generous. We snorkelled each day on the home reef and it was incredible. Daily excursions to other reefs were included and allowed us to visit several snorkelling sites within the week.

Room tip: The home reef is amazing.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024

We were looking to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary by taking a trip to Fiji, a place we had celebrated our honeymoon on the Coral Coast previously. This time however, we wanted something more special, an Island! We hunted around, researched online, and stumbled across Navini Island. It was a place that seemed ideal, ticked all our boxes, and was a place that attracted repeat customers, and where you could find no bad review about. We reached out to the resort via their website, and soon after booked our week away for our first ever trip to Navini…
One of the smartest things Navini has done, is they make getting to and from the airport easy. We were met at the airport arrivals hall, whisked away to a car, and were at the Vuda Marina within about 20 or so minutes. We were warmly greeted by the Navini staff, were welcomed aboard their boat, and we were off! With the midday sun shining and blue skies on a beautiful Fijian day, we ventured off to Navini.

The boat ride was about 40 minutes or so with Simo and Sami crewing the boat, and what a sight Navini Island was at we approached! It proved to be our Island paradise for the next 7 nights. Wow.

We were met by a small dinghy, capable of carrying no more than 5 adults. Removing our shoes (they would not be worn again until we left), we headed to the sandy shore and were greeted enthusiastically by Liti who showed us to the communal dining area, arranged for some cold tropical welcome drinks, and our lunch was ordered as we arrived before 2pm (after landing at the airport at 12:15pm). Checking in, we then ate lunch before being shown to our room.

Walking to our room via manicured sand pathways under the shade of gently swaying palms and mature trees, we were impressed by the well-maintained bure that we would call home for the next week. Open plan room and large bathroom with double sinks, louvre windows with flyscreens to take advantage of the sea breeze, and a large ceiling fan positioned over what proved to be a comfortable bed (that was almost silent). There was a porch with views of the beach and ocean, with table and chairs, an undercover day bed, two sun loungers and an outdoor shower. What more could you ask for in paradise?

Meals are served three times a day in the communal dining area, at 8am, 1pm, and dinner at around 7:30pm. There is no need to wear a watch or set an alarm, as they play the Lali drum to let you know it is meal time!

You chose breakfast based on a decent menu, and your lunch order was taken from a set menu at this time, and at lunch, your dinner order was also taken. The food was simply amazing, and the menu was different every day for lunch and dinner. Nobody goes hungry at Navini, and we had no need to have any snacks in between meals.
Before dinner, there was usually entertainment; Fijian stories with Simo, the Navini choir performing, and if you were lucky (and we were), a kava ceremony, followed by a meke performance! Of course, sundowner drinks were always on offer. On our 7th and last night when the meke was performed, we also had a traditional lovo feast which was delicious! On our wedding anniversary we had a private table for two on the sand under candlelight, and were given lei necklaces, an anniversary cake, and were serenaded with a celebration song Fiji style! Everyone was made to feel very special at Navini!

Some nights after dinner, we sat down on the woven mats with some of the staff to play a Fijian board game called vidi vidi which was great fun to play.
Almost every morning, there was a boat tour (one was held in the afternoon) that involved a new reef to snorkel or a new island to see. And while in general the snorkelling was very good everywhere we went, in all reality, there was none better than at Navini.

The reef at Navini was in good health and alive with colourful and varied coral and marine life. Highlights of our snorkelling adventures included swimming with reef sharks, turtles, seeing a huge clownfish colony, the colourful coral itself, and learning how they restore damaged reefs through planting coral. We also enjoyed cruising past some of the other island resorts to get a feel for how they are different.
Around the island, the gardens and pathways were well manicured and cared for. Plenty of shade away from the beach. We have never seen so many hermit crabs in the one spot in all our travels as we did at Navini. There were loads of crabs in and around the rocky areas too, never to bother anyone. We also barely noticed any mosquitoes, and we felt that the evening sea breezes may have played a role in that during our stay.

While on Navini we also enjoyed some kayaking, and plenty of rest and relaxing on our daybed and sun loungers. While we did not manage to catch a sunrise due to it being cloudy over the mainland (it was wet season after all), we did manage to catch the sunsets almost every day.

The staff were truly amazing. Nothing was too much trouble, and before long, we felt like part of the family. The owner was present for most of our stay, and she often joined all the guests at meal times. We made some new friends with other guests too, most of whom were repeat customers. At one stage it felt like we had the entire island to ourselves – there are only 10 bures after all, and at one stage during our stay there was only four guests including us!

Our only one bit of feedback for Navini is the suggestion to consider air conditioning for the bures to ensure a level of comfort. When the wind was not around, it could get quite hot. However, when the wind was up in the evening, it was all you needed.

We loved our stay, and the only problem we now have is how and when we can return in future!

Room tip: Be prepared to take your shoes off once you get on the boat! You will not need them again until you get back to the mainlaind.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Redback_Venom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2024

The Navini Island Resort has a fantastic program for snorkelers. Each morning a snorkel site is chosen. The sites are within 30 minutes of the resort. We went to Plantation reef, Sand cay, Mushroom reef and Toso Mai reef. We also explored the Navini Island House reef. The coral is in excellent condition with many colors and shapes. There is abundant sea life....many small and large fish. Snorkeling is from their boat. It is with a small group. We usually spent an hour in the water. The boat followed us and will pick you up whenever you want to get out of the water.
The sea front Bure was very comfortable with a good bed and shower. There was a fan and usually a breeze, There is no air conditioning. There is a refrigerator in the room.
The food was very good. It is individually prepared. The resort is very laid back. We went to meals bear foot.
The weather forecast was always rain. The mornings were clear. We had rain one afternoon. It usually rained at night which was good because it cooled things off. The rain did not stop us from enjoying the resort.
The staff provides entertainment. WiFi is available in the dining room.
The staff is very good. I hope to return.

Room tip: Prepare to enjoy your self.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Time flies- can't believe my last stay at Navini was in 2012. I had a wonderful holiday here. Initially booked for 7 nights but extended my stay by 3 nights (thanks Cyclone Mal). The other option was to stay 6 nights and an overnighter in Nadi, not knowing whether flights would be cancelled anyway. I made the right decision to stay!

The transfer from the airport to Vuda marina and then by the resort's boat was fine. I wasn't feeling well and was concerned about the boat ride over to the island. The crew were great and made sure that I was comfortable.

The island is beautiful and is surrounded by a stunning ocean and reef. All bures face the ocean . My deluxe premier bure was huge and comfortable. A king bed, great pillows and an outdoor day bed- bliss. Complimentary sun balm, sulus and toiletries are included in all bures.

The meals were awesome- fresh and tasty with so much variety to suit all tastes. Again, no complaints at all.

All staff and the manager Kunal are wonderful. Such caring people who ensure their guests are happy and nothing is too much trouble. In fact, often guests re-book their next holiday during their stay.

During the days leading to Cyclone Mal it was a worry but guests were kept informed by Kunal and his staff. In my situation I decided to extend by 3 nights and Kunal sorted out my return flight with Fiji airways- fantastic service.

Do yourself a favour and visit this resort- you won't regret it



Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Blaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2023

My husband, I and 2 boys (age 8 and 10) have just spent a wonderful week on Navini, whilst travelling between New Zealand and Europe. We were looking for a traditional Fijian island, far away from the 'big resort' feel of the mainland and bigger islands. Navini surpassed all our expectations. We purposely looked for an island that did not have a swimming pool, constant wifi coverage, kids clubs etc. Instead our boys spent the day snorkelling (swimming with reef sharks and turtles), playing in the sand, playing volley ball every afternoon with the staff, learning traditional Fijian games and even sampling 'cava!!' they caught and ate their own fish and learnt so much about the marine life surrounding the island. The staff were so friendly and genuine that it was easy to fall into island time - no hurry, no worry. We cannot thank the staff enough, we have created wonderful memories and can't wait to go back. Thank you!!!

Room tip: - Bring good beach/deck shoes. Although the sand is soft, the coral can be sharp when the tide is out
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews