We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
stevejan1954
Tokoroa, New Zealand

Wow

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2019
My wife Tricia and I just stayed here recently.We cannot thank the staff or management enough, it was our 43 year wedding anniversary and they made our stay very special. You guys know what you did for us, thank you from the bottom of our hearts,this memory will stay with us for the rest of our lives. The island has a great feel about it, every staff member so helpful and warm to you. We will be back.
A big VANAKA from Steve and Trish.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded 24 Aug 2019
Vinaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Looking across the bay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $33
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
5.9 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Hotels.com
$1,963
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,902
  • Agoda.com
    $1,808
  • Expedia.com
    $1,963
6.3 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
$1,450
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    $1,339
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,341
  • Booking.com
    $1,470
12.3 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
$244
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $211
  • Vio.com
20.1 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Trip.com
$326
    20.1 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Booking.com
    $411
    • Hotels.com
      $465
    • Agoda.com
      $352
    • Expedia.com
      $466
    20.1 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Hotels.com
    $647
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      $623
    • Trip.com
      $583
    • Expedia.com
      $628
    20.2 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Beach at the Treasure Island Resort
    Hotels.com
    $641
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      $654
    • Agoda.com
      $306
    • Priceline
      $333
    21.2 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    $379
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      $382
    • Expedia.com
      $382
    • Priceline
      $379
    25.7 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    $52
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $52
    • Expedia.com
      $94
    • Hotels.com
      $95
    33.0 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
    View more hotels in Matamanoa Island
    Reviews (1,375)
    Filter reviews
    1,375 results
    Traveller rating
    854
    327
    108
    53
    33
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    854
    327
    108
    53
    33
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews our honeymoon beachfront bure plunge pool fish every night day bed caesar salad dinner menu welcome song island resort half board scuba diving the great barrier reef daily activities white sandy beaches meal plan deck chairs
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    124 - 129 of 1,375 reviews
    Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

    We only tell about our own experience here ! We had a villa 52, which was beautiful! With a great view and a secluded beach access! Something to keep in mind - there is a pump right next to it at the villa 53 that when on makes a lot of noise. Service at the place was really nice - friendly stuff! Food was mediocre if not to say less. Breakfast was ok! You can only choose one option from the menu without being charged. We skipped lunch and had dinner - rather expensive and mediocre! Fish was over cooked all the time !
    Massage was so so. We had a great experience at the complementary 15 min one and book a full hour- wasn’t that good at all unfortunately... But the worst part that we checked out and left an expensive converter in the plug. Called the hotel a few hours later same day to let them know that we need it back and never heard back from them. Called again and no luck again. Unbelievable that such thing can get lost on the island!!!! Very disappointed.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Mbykova
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    SouthPacificIsland, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2019

    Bula Mbykova,

    The General Manager has spoken to the Executive Housekeeper regarding your expensive converter plug, both the EH and the Front Office Manager checked your room, unfortunately there was nothing left in your villa, if we had found it, it would have been logged and we would send to you.

    Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your villa with secluded beach access.

    There is a huge breakfast buffet to choose from and you can go back and choose as many times as you like, the a la carte breakfast menu is a choice of one item, however choose as many as you like from the buffet.

    Also pleased to hear that your complementary foot massage was a great experience.

    For the remainder of the negative comments posted above, we have taken all on board and are sorry that you experienced these, rest assured quality service and delivery is a top priority at Matamanoa Island and your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for scrutiny.

    Vinaka and please don't hesitate to contact me further should you have any other comments or if you locate your converter plug.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 August 2019

    Nevill & I have just returned to NZ after 8 wonderful nights staying in a beachfront villa with pool at Matamanoa Island Resort. The welcome we received on the beach was like no other and also the farewell by the staff the night before we left. We have visited Fiji several times and always try to get out to an island for a week or two - Matamanoa is by far the friendliest Resort we have stayed on & definitely exceeded our expectations. Very good value compared to others. Staff were extremely helpful and made us feel very special. Special thanks to Mila, Kitiona, Naomi & Nat 🥰. Lovely main pool area, good dining, evening activities were varied & fun, good standard of housekeeping, plenty of water activity opportunities with Trev & Emma’s team - Look forward to returning soon 🌟☀️

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Thank Robyn B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2019
    Google Translation

    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 August 2019

    Stayed for 7 nights at Matamanoa Island Resort and was greeted to paradise with some of the friendliest and most hospitable staff that I have met. The food was amazing and varied from night to night and the rooms were beautiful. The recent renovations to the island are superb and the main resort area is a fantastic spot to relax. There is also an abundance of activities if you wish to explore island life and Fiji itself. I would highly recommend Matamanoa Island Resort to anyone wishing to relax, explore, feel at home and be greeted with hospitality.

    Room tip: Would recommend beach front villa for a more quiet location with a more secluded beach and plunge pool.
    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank ExploringWithHarts
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019
    Google Translation

    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 July 2019 via mobile

    Having been to Matamanoa before I was interested in going back to see how the recent renovated resort fared. What a pleasant experience. The main pool area looks fantastic as does the new bar area. The sunset bures are the pick of the accommodation. The restaurant has been refurbished and still presents great food and friendly service. The island and staff are fantastic. Seko is a winner and no request goes unanswered. All in all a new face with the same friendly service. Will return next year.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank philipc263
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

    Vinaka and looking forward to a big Bula welcome back

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 July 2019

    My wife and I are sitting enjoying the beautiful sunshine in our Norfolk (uk) garden reflecting on our amazing few days on Matamonoa...it was our second time on this incredible island and we loved every minute of it, so much so that 3 months on we daily discuss this magical place... what has prompted to write this though is to counter some of the negative reviews that paint a somewhat different picture to our collective experiences. The island is spectacularly beautiful and the surrounding waters clear and teeming with marine life. Yes it is tidal so at times you need a little imagination to get out to the reef but the experienced and brilliantly helpful staff in the water sports centre will point you in the right direction...boat trips to other islands are available and we took full advantage of the exclusions offered including a 2 hour scuba diving course which was one of the highlights of my life. Our air-con bure was spotless and beautifully turned out with fresh flowers being added daily...the restaurant with its views across the ocean was everything we could have asked for...the food was delicious and staff so friendly and attentive...fijian are a hard working and smiley race and for those who found otherwise I can only conclude that they got back exactly what they gave...anyone planning a trip to Matamonoa should be aware that everything has to be transported in by sea and therefore unlike hotels on the main island are limitations in foods/alcohol choices and the purchase prices are higher...but we ate and drank really well and sang (really badly) along with the resident band long into the night ...a truly unforgettable experience and one that only distance will stop us repeating again...and again...

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank NorfolkHudson
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019
    Google Translation

    Vinaka

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews