We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
mkgkiwi
Wellington, New Zealand

Wonderful stay in paradise....

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jul 2019
My wife and I recently stayed on Matamanoa, the Island Resort hotel. A stunning location and experience. The staff are wonderful, friendly, helpful, hospitable and always smiling!! The food was outstanding. We went out snorkeling & handline fishing with Deep Blue Fiji, the resident water sports company. They were excellent and showed the best places to go. To our surprise, my wife and I caught a 3kg Trevally each, plus Mahns, our fishing and snorkeling guide also caught one, I never a bigger smile!!. That evening, the local chef cooked our fish to perfection to our taste, the following day, we finished it off and it's the best fish n chips ever.
We thoroughly recommend Matamanoa, it's true paradise!!!
Date of stay: July 2019
Room Tip: All the accommodation looked beautiful, you decide if you prefer sunset or sunrise. I'd be...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded 8 Jul 2019
Vinaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Looking across the bay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $33
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
5.9 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Hotels.com
$1,450
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,470
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,341
  • Official Site
    $1,339
12.3 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
$244
  • Hotels.com
    $280
  • Agoda.com
    $211
  • Expedia.com
    $280
20.1 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Booking.com
$411
  • Expedia.com
    $465
  • Agoda.com
    $352
  • Hotels.com
    $465
20.1 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
$623
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $647
  • Tripadvisor
    $628
  • Priceline
20.2 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Beach at the Treasure Island Resort
Hotels.com
$641
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $655
  • Agoda.com
    $306
  • Priceline
21.2 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
$379
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $382
  • Expedia.com
    $382
  • Tripadvisor
    $382
25.7 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
If you are looking for that local Fijian experience. Wayalailai is the place!  Beautiful island, beautiful people and amazing local Fijian food. 🫶  Out of all the islands I visited it also had the BEST hike where you can see sunrise & sunset. Great for solo travellers and also perfect for family’s. There is limited phone reception giving you that perfect escape to enjoy the island vibes. You can dive, snorkel, learn weaving, local village tour & more. Highly recommend!!
Booking.com
$52
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $52
  • Expedia.com
    $95
  • Hotels.com
    $95
33.0 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Expedia.com
$87
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $83
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
33.7 km from Matamanoa Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Matamanoa Island
Reviews (1,375)
Filter reviews
1,375 results
Traveller rating
854
327
108
53
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
854
327
108
53
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon beachfront bure plunge pool fish every night day bed caesar salad dinner menu welcome song island resort half board scuba diving the great barrier reef daily activities white sandy beaches meal plan deck chairs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 1,375 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2019 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay 6 nights at Matamanoa Island resort from 16/6 to 22/6. Where do I start?

Beachside Bure sunset side was our first room, spacious, clean, beautiful view & comfortable bed. Loved the outdoor area, the plunge pool and relaxing cabana. The sound of the ocean lapping at the shores just metres away so beautiful.

Main area of resort offers a relaxing experience. Right near the restaurant, bar and office. Fabulous views both night & day. Many places to chill in the sun or out of the sun. Water on tap too, a nice touch.

Restaurant offers all meals & is the only restaurant on the island. I recommend purchasing full board as the prices are not cheap, a red meat meal for dinner costs around $70 FJ. The breakfast is not full buffet, they offer a menu, choice of one and basic buffet. Lunch & dinner menu changes each day and offers a wide variety of choice. We enjoyed the food immensely and the alfresco evenings were stunning!

The staff are just gorgeous, we met beautiful friendly souls who made our holiday even better. A big shout out to Nat, Adi, Deru (spelling?), Naomi and the general manager Mela. Cannot thank you all enough.

We also experienced a Beach Bure on the sunrise side of resort. Again, great spaces. Loved the hammock! I do not think I have ever relaxed that much in my life than when I was in that hammock.

Please if you can visit the local island village, it certainly put our Fijian holiday into perspective & gave us a wonderful opportunity to purchase souvenirs which assist the community. A highlight for us.

Snorkelling was just amazing, free hire and one metre in and you are all amongst it.

Wildlife:

The birds. The geckos.

Walking:

The walks we did were the volcanic cone, the low tide walk around the island and the bridge around to the villa side of the island.

Senakai spa was visited a number of times. Absolutely stunning views up there and great treatments on offer.

I recommend bringing in duty free alcohol, bar will provide ice and you have to buy mixers. Also, snacks are also a good idea to bring with you.

Activities were offered each day we loved the Cultural evening! The voices we were blessed to hear (every night at dinner and at the cultural evening) were incredible. My heart melted each time the staff sang.

All in all a wonderful resort. Loved it as you will.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ALW3197
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2019
Google Translation

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2019

Matamanoa Island is simply divine. We are so happy we booked a 3 night stay on this gorgeous piece of paradise. Only complaint is we wished we stayed longer!
The water is crystal turqouise blue and clear. The sand is white and soft. The lush greenery and birdlife is beautiful. The coral and fish are beautiful and well worth a snorkel. All the snorkel gear and canoe gear was free to borrow.
We were greeted with a beautiful welcome song and drink. The rooms are very clean and romantic and cozy with traditional decor. Fan and heatpump. There is no TV or wifi in the rooms but that's how we like it. If you want wifi it's just a quick stroll to the main area, where its free.
Everyone greeted us everywhere we went and staff were friendly. You felt like you were in a very high class establishment because it wasn't too busy and it was adult only. We like kids but sometimes you just want to enjoy a drink in the pool and not have a kid bomb next to you. We loved the adult only aspect. When we saw kids on the way home on the ferry we realised how good it had been.
The food is yum and not as expensive as some places in Fiji. The lunch menu in particular was very good and affordable. Breakfast was very good as well.
The spa offers a complimentary foot ritual on arrival which was just divine. The spa area is gorgeous and is just a sight to behold.
Every couple of night the hotel sets up an outdoor dining area right on the pool edge overlooking the sea. It was magical.
We felt like VIPs the whole time we were there. We are a bit sad that we can probably not return for a long time because we are expecting a baby.
Thank you Matamanoa for the highlight of our trip and for memories we will have forever!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shardae91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019
Google Translation

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019

SInce I was travelling by myself I was warned that I would be annoyed by all the honeymooners around. But honestly: This island offers enough space and I found my spots and enjoyed the beach and the food and the calm. You are shuttled by ferry to a meeting point off the island - and then there is a smaller hotel boat that gets you to the beach. Staff is so very friendly and you are greeted with the traditional lei made of small shells. The rooms are garden rooms, beachfront villas and private beach villas. I had a garden room - totally fine. AC and ventilator - no heat at all. Comfy bed, big bathroom with a nice shower, a small kitchen with milk and filtered water for coffee. No TV - thank god! Free Wifi only at the pool - but you can buy an international sim card beforehand - that will work with the Digicel net in Fiji and in your room, too. Daily cleaning, very nice ladies take care of your well being and provide you with everything you need... beach towels are provided - and changed. The food is great - nice variety of continental and local dishes. I almost always had fish, since they get it right off the ocean in front :-) beach is beautiful - low tide in the morning, high tide towards late afternoon. And during the night, the beach is completely washed up by the waves. You get to the beach from the pool area or next to the beach villas through a little pass in the bushes...The reef around protects from heavy surf. Clear water, nice snorkeling spots, the best are at the reef (outside of it) - where you see blacktip sharks and turtles. The diving company offers free snorkeling trips every day - so you can explore. I booked a trip to the next island - where Tom Hanks shot his movie "Castaway" - very interesting. 5 days of bliss at this resort. I would go there again!

Room tip: Garden rooms are fine
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shadia1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2019 via mobile

Wow we received such a lovely welcome back from all of the staff we met last August! A lovely Bula Welcome Back spelled out on the bed with delicate fern leaves! The Fijian people are such warm and friendly people. What more can you ask for Escaping the Winter in New Zealand to warm tropical weather here at Matamanoa!!!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rew2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Vinaka, lovely to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2019

BULA Matamanoa, First time guests, We stayed for 8 days Beachfront villa with original fiji style with our own plunge pool WOW gardens all around with beach access, white sand blue water amazing. The staff are the real deal , the warmth from the heart so helpful,respectful greetings everyday. my birthday 13/5/19 WOW, MELA and all the staff you went above and beyond and no doubt you do this with all guests who come here vinaka so much. The Owner,s you should feel very PROUD of your management and staff as they are the real deal of Matamanoa Island of fiji as the style and the design and the staff is what makes Matamanoa UNIQUE from all other,s If you ever wanted to disconnect an find serenity, relaxation, an rest. They have it all. Greetings from staff, and management, Reception, bar staff, restuarant chefs,ground persons activities, Dive shop, concerts, live music, housekeeping, special little details that i have observed to make oneself,s feel loved . The Massages were fantastic the staff were amazing , The Senikai Spa you should see it a wow factor, The initials : VINAKA , Mela J,L,K,K,M,L,M,A,N,J,M,S,J,S,T,T god bless we will be back the JACKSONS

Room tip: Northside are a quieter.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Moz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMatamanoa, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019
Google Translation

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews