We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$640
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ozzie O
Sydney, Australia

Amazing location for family holiday.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2024via mobile
The good:
Location was simply stunning and more than makes up for the bad. The beach is spectacular and snorkelling right off the beach is just as good as anywhere else.
Non motorised water sports all included and easily available. Water park was also a hit with the kids.
The resort itself never felt crowded despite being at full capacity and we always got a sun bed and somewhere to sit for a drink. Lots of activities for the kids and adults and I found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming.

The bad:
The food is average. Don’t go expecting gourmet or fine dining. The buffet food was the worst of the options available and very repetitive. Tavola and Black coral restaurant were better but not great and they book out fast.
The air con in the rooms work well but are loud and kept me up at night (sounded like there was a generator in the room with me) but the beds were comfortable.
We got dropped off at night without any map or orientation and it was tricky to find our way around in the dark that first night. I would take a head torch next time.
There could have been more sun shade for the beds around the beach and pool as the sun is very strong - take lots of sunscreen and rash shirts.

Overall I still had a great time in paradise and would return with the family. If I didn’t have kids with me I probably would book the adults only resort nearby as there are lots of young kids.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Take a torch, sunscreen and extra water bottle. Mozzie spray also very useful. Also take some...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,043
  • Expedia.com
    $1,109
0.5 km from Plantation Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Tripadvisor
$790
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Plantation Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $640
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Plantation Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $247
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Plantation Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$1,014
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,014
4.5 km from Plantation Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $2,101
  • Booking.com
5.8 km from Plantation Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $278
  • Priceline
15.3 km from Plantation Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $553
  • Booking.com
17.0 km from Plantation Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$1,073
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
18.6 km from Plantation Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveller rating
744
803
315
171
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
744
803
315
171
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plantation island garden bure coral restaurant kids club family holiday musket cove meal plan fish lomani end mini mart great family every night breakfast and dinner fiji time kids pool main restaurant malolo cat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2024

A great place for families, with lots to do for the kids.
Several pools and bar areas, and multiple restaurants.
We had 5 nights here in a two bedroom beach front bure. We couldn't believe how close we were to the sea. At high tide the water was about 5m from the front door. It was an exceptional spot. Ask for room 210.
Only a couple of small issues during the stay.
We find the staff are very friendly, but quite slow. You could go to the bar to order a drink which had 3 staff standing behind it, and they would happily finish their conversation before serving. One night we ordered drinks while dining and did not receive them, so I returned to the bar and they said they had brought them over. I said look for yourself there are no drinks! They said they had brought them over and wouldn't take it off my tab....so some words happened....and then a waiter came wandering over slowly and explained to the staff member he had delivered them to the wrong table 25 minutes earlier.
There were some extra charges on our room account when we checked out, the hotel could not provide a signed receipt for them, so they removed the charges - fair enough.
The diving right outside our room was very good. Large snapper, bluefin trevally, and barracuda right into the shallows. We even say a sea snake on two occasions.
Will return.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian_E_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

The two stars represent the positive experiences we have but sadly, the negative has outweighed the positive for us. I'll start on a happier note:

-The vibe is very relaxing. You literally stay in your bathers all day and go from beach to pool to food and back again
-The beach is gorgeous and much better than what you would experience on the mainland
-Resort guests were very friendly and we made alot of friends (sadly none from where we were from). It was a very social resort
-Buffets were a hit and miss. Roast Buffet was very disappointing but the Pacifika buffet was sensational. However you don't come to Fiji to experience Western food so head to the buffets and try the food that relates to their culture. If you happen to see Banana in Coconut Milk, definitely give it a try! It looks absolutely gross but it is amazing and so much flavour!
-Buffet breakfast was about a 6/10, it was ok but we've had better. The food supplied was nice but quite a limited selection in comparison to other resorts
-Kayaking and other activities were included

The Negatives
-We gave our laundry to reception to wash at their request and we sadly lost half our clothes including some brand name and brand new items. We didn't realise until we moved onto our next resort. They found them, said a resort guest must have taken them by accident however it took 3.5 days for them to be returned to the laundry. The timelines also didn't add up and it seemed highly suspicious. They shipped them home to us however only 2 of the items we listed as missing were returned. We spent 2 years saving for this holiday so to have our belongings stolen was disappointing. Apparently this has happened before so based on this alone, we won't return to this resort and don't recommend it.
-The rooms are quite dated. We booked a bure being told it was one of their best rooms and it was mediocre and not what we booked via booking.com. We were supposed to have a porch and our room was meant to be in a T-Shaped configuration but it wasn't so I'm unsure if we got the wrong room.
-We had no hot water for 2 of our 5 night stay.
-Our drains flooded and the room then stunk like sewerage. We had to keep the bathroom door closed and the fan constantly on or otherwise the bure would smell horrible
-There are no TVs in the rooms. Now you don't come on holiday to somewhere as beautiful as Fiji to watch TV however there is only so much you can do and sometimes the kids just need to wind down with a movie in the afternoon
-The air conditioners are old and barely work and they're just waiting for them to conk out before they replace them (Maintenance staff's words, not mine)
-Insanely expensive for what it is
-Pools were filthy. One pool we couldn't even see our feet at chest water height

Overall, it was not worth the large price tag we paid for it (especially considering breakfast wasn't included). We also recieved a very large bill at the end and that was just for buffet breakfast, smoothies for lunch and buffet dinner- the most cost effective way to eat. No extra experiences, no tours or anything fancy. All up our 5 night stay and added bill was over $3500 which is quite exorbitant compared to the next resort we went too which was alot more luxurious, rooms were much nicer, breakfast was included (and quite a vast and impressive collection of food to choose from) and the pools were way cleaner.

Room tip: Watch your belongings
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fefemcgee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

It was a beautiful resort, and wonderful snorkelling. They had a fun area with an underwater table set up m, underwater golf kart.

I wouldn’t stay here more than 2-3 nights as the restaurants and food are overly priced. They charge you literally for everything. You are kind of trapped to pay for everything.

They provide you with 1 bottle of water upon arrival but charge you for any other.

If you decide to go, pack extra water, drinks, snacks and easy foods to cut down costs. They do have a mini fridge and kettle in the rooms. There is a small grocery store (little more priced than the mainland but still better than some of the overpriced foods), 10-15 min walk near the other resort by airplane landing strip.

The resort is pretty spread out so expect lots of walking. It was no problem for us personally.

Pools were just ok, they were warm with cloudy water unfortunately with lots of kids. Close very early ad well (6pm….)

The bouncy castle out in the ocean was awesome. But we were told ‘ocean closes at 6pm….’

We were entertained by the frogs and land crabs that came out st night on the grounds and the big bats.

Room tip: Go snorkelling early morning to see wildlife. Be close all restaurants close by 10:30 and don’t open until 12.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WorldBeachHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex Wilson, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Bula World Beach Hopper,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and highlighting your concerns.
There are various outlets including, restaurants, snack bar, shops, etc with different offerings, we will continue to keep improving in areas you have highlighted. Vinaka
We appreciate the time you've spent posting this review and look forward to welcoming you again at Plantation Island Resort.
Vinaka,

Alex Wilson
General Manager
Plantation Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

This resort is lovely, but their financial approach is less so.

I am sorry to write this because the staff are truly lovely and the island and location are wonderful. It’s very welcoming for families

However, when we checked out, a fishing trip worth $1000 FJD and $850 unspecified visa prepaid card were on the invoice along with our food and drink. I’ve never fished in my life, and didn’t get a Visa card. We pointed this out and charges removed and we paid the invoice

Then a week later, charges corresponding to the amount for this unknown prepaid visa were taken from my bank by the resort. I have contacted them to ask them to refund or have any documentation of me buying or requesting it - you sign all receipts there. They haven’t replied after a couple of weeks

For this reason I can’t recommend. Anyone can order stuff onto your hotel invoice due to the systems there and from my experience at least the resort do nothing about it

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024

This was a week of lazing and enjoying swims and snorkels.
Be prepared not to do a whole lot as island hopping requires a trip back to Denerau, about an hour back on the ferry.
We did a couple of local boat trips including the reef snorkel which I'd highly recommend, and then the spinner dolphin trip - which we didn't see any dolphins on but saw flying fish, a turtle and plenty of colourful fish during the snorkel stop.
It was extremely hot so taking refuge in the room's aircon was required between swims.
We got really sunburnt during the reef snorkel despite putting Consumer NZ recommended block on so maybe take a tee and shorts to wear if you plan to be in the water longer than a few minutes.
Staff were great and rooms were basic, but that's all you need when you're there for the golden sands and clear sea water.
The a la carte restaurant, Tavolu was ok, but the buffet at Copra had something for everyone at dinner.
The smoothies from the snack shack were a great way to top up for lunch after the buffet brekky.
Overall, while it might not look flash when you turn up, you soon realise you're in paradise.

Room tip: Take SPF50 and even then, wear what you can to cover up!
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews