We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kylie H

Relaxing celebration

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Apr 2024
What an AMAZING holiday to celebrate my 40th birthday with my husband and parents! LOVED every minute of our stay at Tropica, especially the staff, food and the serene, quiet environment. We stayed in the Pool Sanctuary which was so private, with a large room and our own private plunge pool. Our favourite days were a trip to Cloud 9 and also just spending the day making use of the free activities at the resort. The only thing I would suggest would be to bring your own snacks/water/drinks prior to coming to the island, as their onsite shop is quite limited.

SUPER friendly team, who are always smiling and happy to go the extra mile. They really make you feel special and feel like family. Shout out to Paul the bartender and Fina our server, who really made our stay memorable :) God Bless you Tropica family, Sota Tale for sure!
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Pack snacks/drinks prior to arriving.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded 6 May 2024
Bula Vinaka kylierJ9796PO
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your very special day. We are delighted that you got to experience all that Tropica has to offer and you love how serene and quiet it was. We are also happy to hear that you got to involve yourself in our Guest activities and excursions. Our Staff are delighted to ready your comments and they are indeed the magic of Tropica. We look forward to welcoming you back home. At Tropica we never say goodbye! We say “sota tale” or until next time and we look forward to your next visit.
Your Tropica Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Tropica Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
$1,350
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Tropica Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $275
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Tropica Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $362
  • Hotels.com
15.4 km from Tropica Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
$1,035
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
22.4 km from Tropica Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,670
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
22.6 km from Tropica Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$726
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
22.7 km from Tropica Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Sofitel
    $1,006
  • Hotels.com
23.2 km from Tropica Island Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Exterior
$622
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
23.0 km from Tropica Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Malolo Island
Reviews (1,110)
Filter reviews
1,110 results
Traveller rating
872
167
41
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
872
167
41
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews happy hour beachfront bure outdoor shower porch swing our honeymoon fish feeding other guests relaxing holiday sota tale paddle boards infinity pool fiji time daily activities wonderful staff total relaxation feel like family food was amazing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,110 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2024 via mobile

The staff are amazing and a friendly. They treat every guest like family and passionate about making your stay special. It’s a small resort, there are limited guests, no kids, so it’s quiet. The resort itself is beautiful, totally secluded

Room tip: Plan your arrival and departure carefully, if you travel to the island from the airport on the main land after hours it gets expensive.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 810craigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Bula Vinaka 810craigz
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you got to experience all that Tropica has to offer and you love how secluded and quiet it was. Our aim is for you to relax and rejuvenate when you are with us. Our Staff are delighted to ready your comments and they are indeed the magic of Tropica. We look forward to welcoming you back home. At Tropica we never say goodbye! We say “sota tale” or until next time.
Your Tropica Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

Great spot for a relaxing holiday and plenty of active options including swimming, snorkeling, kayaking and paddle boarding available. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Great singing voices and hospitality experienced. I really enjoyed the basket making experiences, kava ceremony, dancing, karaoke, crab racing, bocee, ceviche making etc . The staff were kind enough to get us fresh coconuts for a refreshing drink , even though it was not on the menu.

Room tip: The ferry transfers is via South Sea Cruises - you have to pay for the bus from the airport but free on return.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Bula Vinaka simonaX7554BG
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you got to experience all that Tropica has to offer and involving yourself in all our activities. Our Staff are delighted to ready your comments and they are indeed the magic of Tropica. We look forward to welcoming you back home. At Tropica we never say goodbye! We say “sota tale” or until next time.
Your Tropica Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2024 via mobile

Our Fiji time at Tropica Island Resort, Malolo Island, was the best! We chose the resort based on past reviews, being an adults only resort, and as a place we could just relax, recharge and reconnect.

In addition to delivering above expectation on all those fronts, the staff were amazing! Fijians are the most warm, friendly, and inviting people you could ever meet. Resort staff were very professional, but also relaxed, fun and always there to make our stay unforgettable.

We stayed in a Beachfront Bure with its own plunge pool, and indoor and private outdoor shower. Very spacious, clean, well appointed with air-con, fridge, tea & coffee, safe, and very comfortable, but starting to look somewhat dated. However speaking to the resort owner during our stay, their rooms (bures) are going to be refurbished as part of their current resort upgrade works.

This is a resort that you can truly relax, recharge and reconnect with your partner. You can choose to do as much or as little as you would like. The resort does offer daily activities, which include the likes of snorkeling trips, sunset cruises, visits to local village, kayaking, SUP boards, and more.

The staff are amazing! They truly made our experience so much more than we expected. We could not fault the food and drinks. We opted to prepay for one of their food packages, which was definitely the way to go. Dinner menu changes daily, and there’s a great variety to suit everyone’s tastes from their Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner menus. You can also opt to have private dinners, including on the jetty. We will definitely return.

Room tip: Recommend booking through the resort directly, including your transfers to/from airport, the Port (boat transfer to island), or helicopter.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank StevenFKelsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Bula Vinaka StevenFKelsall
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to read your review and are delighted with every aspect of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
It’s not goodbye but “sota tale” or until we meet again.
Vinaka Vakalevu (thank you very much)
From your Tropica Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2024

Perfect location and amazing staff. Where do we start ! On arrival we were greeted with a lovely cold drink on the dock and introduced to staff. From that point on we were always addressed by our names by all members of the crew. Such a lovely resort - our beach front Bure was perfect ! Total disconnect with no TVs or internet in our Bure (note internet was available at the reception area if needed). Although we had an indoor and outdoor shower - we never used the indoor one. The 1/2 day trips we took with the resort were fabulous. Both Joes (big and little) were excellent drivers and snorkeling with Ziggy on the garden reef fabulous.
Kayaks, SUPS and snorkeling gear available for use.
If you’re looking for peaceful atmosphere without dealing with larger crowds - this is the place !

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Bula Vinaka sweny
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to read your review and are delighted with every aspect of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
It’s not goodbye but “sota tale” or until we meet again.
Vinaka Vakalevu (thank you very much)
From your Tropica Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

We booked very last minute and the communication with Tropica was easy and stress-free. We arrived to a musical welcome and were treated with kindness at every moment of our stay. The staff were all lovely and always noticed when we had been away on daytrips, greeting us upon our return. The food was lovely, particularly the traditional meal served on Wednesdays. All-round, the cleanliness of the room, the cooling air-con, the pool and the watersports available for free made this a thoroughly enjoyable 4-day retreat. Would recommend to all who are looking for a quiet and serene escape. (We were given a free foot soak too at the spa and splashed out on a few more treatments too which did not disappoint!)

Room tip: Sea front tables often get reserved so just make sure you ask.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Bula Vinaka K5162PXnataliem
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to read your review and are delighted with every aspect of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
It’s not goodbye but “sota tale” or until we meet again.
Vinaka Vakalevu (thank you very much)
From your Tropica Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews