We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$1,016
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Steven Kelsall
Kyneton, Australia

Best Fiji Time Experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Apr 2024via mobile
Our Fiji time at Tropica Island Resort, Malolo Island, was the best! We chose the resort based on past reviews, being an adults only resort, and as a place we could just relax, recharge and reconnect.

In addition to delivering above expectation on all those fronts, the staff were amazing! Fijians are the most warm, friendly, and inviting people you could ever meet. Resort staff were very professional, but also relaxed, fun and always there to make our stay unforgettable.

We stayed in a Beachfront Bure with its own plunge pool, and indoor and private outdoor shower. Very spacious, clean, well appointed with air-con, fridge, tea & coffee, safe, and very comfortable, but starting to look somewhat dated. However speaking to the resort owner during our stay, their rooms (bures) are going to be refurbished as part of their current resort upgrade works.

This is a resort that you can truly relax, recharge and reconnect with your partner. You can choose to do as much or as little as you would like. The resort does offer daily activities, which include the likes of snorkeling trips, sunset cruises, visits to local village, kayaking, SUP boards, and more.

The staff are amazing! They truly made our experience so much more than we expected. We could not fault the food and drinks. We opted to prepay for one of their food packages, which was definitely the way to go. Dinner menu changes daily, and there’s a great variety to suit everyone’s tastes from their Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner menus. You can also opt to have private dinners, including on the jetty. We will definitely return.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Recommend booking through the resort directly, including your transfers to/from airport, the Port...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Bula Vinaka StevenFKelsall
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to read your review and are delighted with every aspect of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
It’s not goodbye but “sota tale” or until we meet again.
Vinaka Vakalevu (thank you very much)
From your Tropica Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Tropica Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from Tropica Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $247
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Tropica Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$1,016
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Tropica Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $604
  • Hotels.com
4.5 km from Tropica Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$791
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Tropica Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,036
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Tropica Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $279
  • Priceline
15.4 km from Tropica Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
View more hotels in Malolo Island
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveller rating
867
167
41
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
867
167
41
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews happy hour beachfront bure outdoor shower porch swing our honeymoon fish feeding other guests relaxing holiday sota tale paddle boards infinity pool fiji time daily activities wonderful staff total relaxation feel like family food was amazing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2024

Perfect location and amazing staff. Where do we start ! On arrival we were greeted with a lovely cold drink on the dock and introduced to staff. From that point on we were always addressed by our names by all members of the crew. Such a lovely resort - our beach front Bure was perfect ! Total disconnect with no TVs or internet in our Bure (note internet was available at the reception area if needed). Although we had an indoor and outdoor shower - we never used the indoor one. The 1/2 day trips we took with the resort were fabulous. Both Joes (big and little) were excellent drivers and snorkeling with Ziggy on the garden reef fabulous.
Kayaks, SUPS and snorkeling gear available for use.
If you’re looking for peaceful atmosphere without dealing with larger crowds - this is the place !

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Bula Vinaka sweny
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to read your review and are delighted with every aspect of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
It’s not goodbye but “sota tale” or until we meet again.
Vinaka Vakalevu (thank you very much)
From your Tropica Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

We booked very last minute and the communication with Tropica was easy and stress-free. We arrived to a musical welcome and were treated with kindness at every moment of our stay. The staff were all lovely and always noticed when we had been away on daytrips, greeting us upon our return. The food was lovely, particularly the traditional meal served on Wednesdays. All-round, the cleanliness of the room, the cooling air-con, the pool and the watersports available for free made this a thoroughly enjoyable 4-day retreat. Would recommend to all who are looking for a quiet and serene escape. (We were given a free foot soak too at the spa and splashed out on a few more treatments too which did not disappoint!)

Room tip: Sea front tables often get reserved so just make sure you ask.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Bula Vinaka K5162PXnataliem
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to read your review and are delighted with every aspect of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
It’s not goodbye but “sota tale” or until we meet again.
Vinaka Vakalevu (thank you very much)
From your Tropica Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

An incredible location and the accommodation is very comfortable and private. As a solo traveler, I was made to feel extremely welcome and never lonely with the beautiful friendly team who anticipated every need. The day spa was exceptional, with a good menu, professional staff and quality products. Nice wine choices and the meals were delicious, with a varied menu each day and generous servings. An abundance of activities if you can tear yourself away from lounging on your personal deck, just gazing at the amazing view. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and definitely returned home feeling rested, relaxed and restored!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbar3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Bula Vinaka V1412DMhelenb
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to read your review and are delighted with every aspect of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
It’s not goodbye but “sota tale” or until we meet again.
Vinaka Vakalevu (thank you very much)
From your Tropica Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024

My wife and I stayed for four nights for our honeymoon. We love the place. The manager and most of the staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Charlie, Sunny and some other staff are the stars. The room is clean. Bed and pillow are comfortable. Breakfast is good with some choices. Dinner is also good with plenty of choices, menu is changed every day. Price is also reasonable. And there are plenty of activities you can do everyday, and it’s changing everyday. The massage is very relaxing. We booked the Black Friday deal, so we received free couple massage, one free guided snorkeling, and one bottle of sparkling wine

Room tip: If you want to keep a budget and you don’t eat much. You should order from the menu. Don’t get full board or half board
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Yichuan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Bula Vinaka yichuan2024
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to read your review and are delighted with every aspect of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
It’s not goodbye but “sota tale” or until we meet again.
Vinaka Vakalevu (thank you very much)
From your Tropica Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

Utter brilliance from start to finish. The most warmest of welcomes and greeting on arrival after a short informative boat ride from the ferry provided by Ziggy (absolute gent). Sarafina guided us to the reception, lovely tea in hand, to help us get checked in.
The rooms (bures) were spectacular. Huge, comfortable king size beds with indoor and outdoor showers and stocked (daily) minifridge. The rooms were meticulously turned over every day without interruption or bother.
The food was delicious, especially on the Fiji night of which food was served prepared from a traditional Lovo.
I genuinely cannot say that I have ever witnessed a more friendly, caring, likable and invested group of staff in all my days of hospitality. Coming from a service industry background myself, the level of training and care to detail is astounding. I'd like to name each and every person that made our stay perfect but the list would go on and on. However I would like to mention Tasi, Cheri, Mila, Sarafina, Ziggy and the other absolute legend who's name I forget now but seemed to be bar manager. The staff made this stay. Thank you and Ma Te Wa.

Room tip: Utilise the spa facilities, you won't be disappointed.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Enda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tropica Island Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Bula Vinaka 423endag
Greetings from Tropica Island Resort and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you you discovered the true essence of Tropica which is to relax and rejuvenate and especially our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
It’s not goodbye but “sota tale” or until we meet again.
Vinaka Vakalevu (thank you very much)
From your Tropica Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews