We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
j0ejanice
Tauranga, New Zealand

40th Wedding anniversary

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
Such a welcoming, friendly, clean and efficiently run resort. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to family and friends...and would love to go back.
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$2,663
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    $2,431
  • Hotels.com
    $2,397
  • Trip.com
    $2,824
0.5 km from Malolo Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Malolo Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Malolo Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
$254
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $231
  • Vio.com
    $203
  • Expedia.com
    $274
2.7 km from Malolo Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
$235
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    2.7 km from Malolo Island Resort
    $658
    • Hotels.com
      $655
    • Expedia.com
      $734
    • Priceline
      $733
    6.1 km from Malolo Island Resort
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    $985
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      $988
    • ZenHotels.com
      $900
    • Priceline
    6.0 km from Malolo Island Resort
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    Looking across the bay
    $37
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
      $32
    • Vio.com
      $36
    • Expedia.com
    8.7 km from Malolo Island Resort
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    $54
    Fully refundable
    Earn Trip Coins after your stay
      8.7 km from Malolo Island Resort
      Beachfront
      Bar/Lounge
      $332
      Earn Trip Coins after your stay
        15.2 km from Malolo Island Resort
        View more hotels in Malolo Island
        Reviews (965)
        Filter reviews
        965 results
        Traveller rating
        718
        184
        39
        16
        8
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        718
        184
        39
        16
        8
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews beach bar treetops restaurant kids club meal plan kids pool family bure ocean view bure school holidays fish meal package kids menu fantastic family relaxing family holiday young families happy hour a la carte beach towels
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        10 - 15 of 965 reviews
        Reviewed 11 May 2024

        One of the best family holidays made special by the amazing staff, beautiful setting and wonderful hospitality. Will definitely visit Malolo again

        Date of stay: April 2024
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        1  Thank Lindsay C
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 5 May 2024 via mobile

        We stayed recently in the Tadra Bure it was beautiful clean and quite. The resort beach is nice clear waters and had the best views. The spa was impressive and the treetop restaurant was fine dining food was delicious. The only downside was there was no water in the room which you would expect in any hotels or resorts. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

        Room tip: Couples books Tadra villa
        Date of stay: April 2024
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        1  Thank zureen
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 5 May 2024 via mobile

        Unquestionably, it’s a magical spot and we had a wonderful week. But we won’t got back because it’s EXPENSIVE and for the money it cost us we expected luxury and perfection and it wasn’t.

        The food was honestly quite ordinary apart from the buffets which were delicious. And it’s getting quite rundown, the wooden pool deck is slippery and twice while we were there someone out their foot through it, so they came out with new floor boards and nails and patched it up. The best time of day is sunset at the beach bar but three nights a week you eat at the terrace restaurant for the buffet so can’t enjoy it. The (additional cost) meal package is supposedly all inclusive but not kids meals at the beach bar, so lunch involves a very hot, slow meal at the terrace restaurant if you want to use the meal plan, which is essentially just pasta for kids. The kids pool layout means parents are constantly running from one end of the pool to the other as there’s no one spot where you can see the whole (relatively small) pool. And after paying for a week and an “all inclusive” meal plan we still had a $1500 FJ bill at the end.

        It’s lovely, magical, spectacular, all of these things. We honestly had a wonderful week. But it’s very overpriced and there are cheaper, better options available that we’ll go to next time.

        Room tip: Take kids snacks
        Date of stay: April 2024
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        Thank SaschaH945
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Brad Calder, General Manager at Malolo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

        Dear Sascha

        Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with the Trip Advisor community.

        We are sorry to read that you found our culinary offering ordinary as the majority of our guest's rate this very highly and remark it was one of the most positive aspects of their stay.

        We offer our Kids Eat Free package lunches in the Terrace restaurant and provide a buffet so that the kids can see what they are eating and be instantly available for a quick service so they can get back to having fun.

        There is no restriction on Kids Eat Free dining in the beach bar for dinner however.

        Our Kids Eat Free buffet offers a daily changing menu and includes selections such as hot dogs, fish, meat balls, salads, sandwich station and pizza

        For parents purchasing the meal package for their children there is no restriction on dining in the beach bar for lunch. We do not have any extra charges for our meal plan unless your kids dine at the beach bar or you select a premium dish like lobster.

        Thank you for the tip on our 17 meter long kids pool, we have spoken to our gardener to trim the bushes so that parents can have an improved view from the comfort of their sun lounger

        Our apologies for the condition of the pool deck, we are conducting periodic repairs as we await our new stone pavers to arrive which will solve this issue permanently and will be a nice upgrade.

        Additionally, we have upgraded all of our landscaping, our rooms have had their yearly 5 day annual maintenance shutdown, we have added new King Coil mattresses to all Bures, new curtains so children can take a mid day nap, our new beach bar furniture arrived yesterday and looks amazing and by months end we will finish our Arrival Bure renovation and place the new furniture for their also.

        In the month of June we will be adding complimentary Wi-Fi for all guest rooms and Nespresso coffee machines also. By years end we will have our water bottling plant and will have complimentary water in all our Bures which will use recyclable bottles as part of our sustainable commitment.

        After 2 years closure we did have a bit to catch up on but as you can see we are working diligently to provide our guests with the best.

        We do offer a 10% discount for all of our repeat guests and if you book well in advance directly with us we offer an early bird discount additionally.

        We do regularly check our prices against our competitors to ensure we are in line or cheaper also.

        We do hope you will reconsider visiting us again and hope to be able to welcome you back.

        Warm Regards
        Brad Calder
        Group General Manager
        Ahura Resorts

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 30 April 2024

        Best holiday we have ever had. Our boys (6 and 7) had the best time at kids club, snorkeling and fishing and mum and dad left incredibly relaxed. Such friendly staff. Clean rooms. We will be back for sure.

        Date of stay: April 2024
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        1  Thank tantan694
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 25 April 2024

        A majestic island resort perfect for a family holiday. I would recommend Malolo to any keen traveller.

        Date of stay: April 2024
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        1  Thank akeighran
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews