We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Tandori Chicken but loved the Naan!!”

Pak Putra Tandoori & Naan Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 861 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Pak Putra is mostly an outdoor dining experience but the cool thing is you can watch them preparing the chicken and naan. The menu selection is actually quite wide but I only went with the Tandoori Chicken and Garlic Naan. I've been 3 times and it's always delicious. Unfortunately, no beer/alcohol served so I went with the Mango drink which was quite refreshing. Service is also pretty good but this place can get quite packed as it's very popular. Still, they do a good job of being attentive. It's really all about the food though! YUM!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Bill_Stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Love the cheese naan, mango lassi and tandoori chicken. However crowded from 7pm onwards. Locals as well as foreigners enjoy eating here

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank chris306997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

A must visit fr dinner (as it opens 530pm-1am). Its on jln lakshamana, about 5 min walk from hotel casa del rio.

The chicken tikka is just so juicy, soft and amazing, one of the best i have eaten so far

The naan they serve is supersoft, and goes so well with the chicken tikka

And 1 plate chicken with 1 naan for 14 ringgit.. indulge urself

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SPSurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We wanted to eat a good old tandoori and we went to this place. First of all the plastic tables and chairs, on the street, are near big plastic dustbin, full of mosquitoes. Then mosquitoes are bitig you incessantly. Then the waiters are all big sheriffs, on their own, wanting to come and take your orders whenever they feel like it. The food is quite expensive without even offering you the benefit of a good quality dish. The tandoori is not like the real tandoori. It seems as though they have just put extremely spicy spuces to fool you with the color red, without givibg you any good taste. It is so spicy and so stupidely mixed with strange, hallucinating spices that you only feel a bitterness, due to the excess of spices, in your mouth. The meat is not tender or chewable and worst of all and the highest crime possible in a restaurant: it IS EXTREMELY DIRTY. AND UNHYGENIC.
I wouldnt recommend it to anyone. Not even to my worst enemy, for that matter. The indian waiters threw the forks and spoons in a big, dirty dirty, plastic container, of dubbious color, i think it had been blue in 1954 or around that time, but no more... Then, as I was eati g with my own fork and spoon, I saw a very dirty indian, more like a beggar, than a waiter, with dirty blouse and an even dirtier handkerchief come near us, take the big plastic container, to take it back to some empty place, where not so many people could see him. I followed him with my gaze and saw that he was using a very brownish color water, inside another plastic container to actually wash with his hands and that dirty handkerchief, the used forks and spoons by the customers...!!!! he was actually cleaning (and not washing with any soap or dish soap...) the spoons and forks, giving the last touch, with his brownish dirty handkerchief. He then took all those spoons and forks to the place, where customers have to take their spoons and forks...! OMG.This is one of my worst memories, ever, as a turist who has seen more than 80 countries...
And poor Chinese, Indian, European, Middle-easterners came and without knowing the manner with which those spoons and forks had been cleaned, took them and went to their tables,not knowing that in an hour or so, thdy would feel sick and be afflicted with acute diaharrea... Doubled with the spicy food... Horrible image. I was about to throw out my first bite, when I stood up and without wanting my husband to turn his head around to see that dirty waiter, I told him to just pay the bill and run... Absolutely NOT recommended. Unless you wish to experience acute vomiting, diarharrea, sickness and stomac infection...

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank Farideh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

The best tandoori chiken in melaka in the center of town . Memorial place to sit and enjoy dinner .price is reasonable

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank OmidMohajerani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pak Putra Tandoori & Naan Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Pak Putra Tandoori & Naan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing