We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,336)
Filter reviews
1,336 results
Traveller rating
378
672
215
47
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
672
215
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews history room mini museum jonker street quad room historic hotel standard room peranakan house no lift peranakan style night market within walking distance third floor antique furniture breakfast is served common areas location is great baba nyonya
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,336 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Come down KL with friends. Did not know what to expect in this quite little quaint town. Drove down a one way street. Walked in through the doors and WOW. Surprise, surprise, surprise. Goose bumps. Stood there to take it all in. Unbelievable decorations, furniture, paintings etc. Let the mind wonder back 150-200 years. The heat and humidity quickly brought me back to my senses. Checked in was quick etc not going to bore you with those experience. Went up to the room and was hoping the air conditioner was working. Wow, was it working. Had it down to 16C and believe me needed every single degrees. Out to see the sights, old buildings, narrow streets but very new modern latest model cars, BMW, Mercedes-Benz and Lexus. Ummmm...Started out at Jonker Street. Little shops selling tourist souvenir, handicrafts the usual. Found a coconut vendor, made a beeline, refreshing but not cold. This is suppose to be about the hotel not Jonker Street. Went back to the hotel after walking around for 2 hours. Opened the door to the room and literally hit with a refreshing blast of cold air. Ahhhh. Jumped into the shower. BTW, the shower "stall" could have fit 6 people. The water even on "hot" was cool. Didn't care, it was so refreshing after the long walk. Learned later on had to turn on a switch located outside the bathroom door to turn on "heater" before shower. The breakfast was al fresco in the open air garden. Prefect meal to start the day. Fantastic place to stay while in Malacca. Didn't know the price for a night at the hotel until I decided to write this review. All I can say the "welcome" toiletries basket was worth the price alone. Go and enjoy this property. Thanks for reading.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BadBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

If you are into authentic looking places, this is the right choice. Forget about luxury but go for traditional feel. Plenty of places to walk to and eateries to satisfy your hunger or just to "try out".

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank 227susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Stayed in this beautiful and homey hotel last august after a 2 hour bus ride from KL, we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in Melaka world heritage area. The front desk personnel were friendly and efficient. We were billeted at the second floor and the room we had was clean with no outside noise to bother you. Breakfast was served buffet style and already comes with the price of your room, it was very good on the first day and on the second day it was okay but on our third day it was still more of the same, we suggest they add more variety. The location of the hotel was very convenient with just a few steps to Jonkers street where most of the shops are located, it was also a short walk to the Melaka river and to the Dutch Square, overall a nice hotel to stay when in Melaka.

Room tip: our second floor room was very quiet.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jsipalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

I have the opportunity to stay at the beautiful Hotel in Malacca, what a little gem it is, it has been beautifully renovated to blend in with the area, it is very close to Jonker Street as well as a lot of the main attractions.
There is a little museum room in the hotel with a brief history of the area.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, as I would stay here if I come back to Malacca.
Thank you to all members of Hotel Puri

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Staff is friendly and observant.

I was expecting to check in at the usual 3pm, however, the reception let me check in 30 mins earlier as there are rooms ready and cleaned.

As for breakfast, it is still good as usual, menu is change daily.

One point to note,
I would suggest for the food label, it would be good to indicate 'spicy' if needed. I tried the nasi goreng but never expect that it is so spicy. Imagine if the kids are to take it, they might have to put it aside which is wasteful.

I was staying in room 225 and noticed that the aircon is not cold. Probably the management can look into it.

Overall experience is good and will come here again

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Alex_Singapore_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews