We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southern Restaurant”
Review of Walton's

Walton's
Ranked #27 of 650 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Great food, service and deserts. The pot roast was great and the pecan pie was some of the best ever. I do not know if they take reservations but if they do I would go that way. We got inside in the nick of time.

Thank Smokey1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

Food was a bit average. Service was good though. The hash brown casserole was great though. Would probably ordered something different than the country fried steak.

Thank dchassell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Reviews on Trip Advisor led me to Walton's. The food will keep me coming back. My daughter and I were greeted by a friendly staff and then quickly seated. Our waitress was very appropriate and gracious. Our entrees were prepared within a reasonable time frame. The catfish, okra, turnips and hashbrown casserole were delicious. According to my daughter, other restaurants had cheated her when serving chicken fried steak. Saving the best for last, the carrot cake is AMAZING! I can't wait to return. The restaurant has a good crowd and should be around for a long time.

Thank cbrown9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrinceWaltons, General Manager at Walton's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for the great review cbrown9802!! We appreciate your visit and hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Our family was visiting Hunstville and decided to try something different. As we walked in hubs asked host if it was a buffet (as we prefer not to have buffet.) One of the waiters overheard us, poked the waiter next to him and told him we asked if it was a buffet and they both cackled like we were asking this at a fine dining restaurant and walked off. Unprofessional and a little immature, but whatever.

We ordered the friend green tomato appetizer, and they were very thinly cut and just fine. The waitress warned us they were spicy, but we didn't encounter that issue - at all. We were never brought small plates so we just ate our appetizers off napkins...seemed a little weird for this caliber of restaurant ?

We ordered chicken & dressing (mainly chicken with a little dressing thrown in,) sweet potato casserole was good, country fried steak (hubs said was good,) kiddo got a hamburger with friend green tomatoes on side (it comes on it.) When the waitress brought burger, it was a grilled chicken sandwich. He had ordered the green tomatoes on side and she held out the plate and said 'You want em?' (as if he had somewhere to put them other than a napkin) He said no, and she had to go get him a burger made, so by the time we were done with our meal, he got his.

Unfortunately this restaurant missed the mark for us, and we wouldn't be back. Maybe with a few staff tweaks it would have been a little better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamaicaboundin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrinceWaltons, General Manager at Walton's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you jamaicaboundin06 for your review. We appreciate your honesty as it helps us improve as a restaurant.

The behavior of the servers when you entered the restaurant is unacceptable. We are capable of a much better experience than that but failed to do so in your case. I am personally sorry for it and will work with our staff to make sure that no one else has that same experience.

Thank You

Edward Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Typical Southern cooking--nothing heart healthy--many carbs--average food quality. Has the potential to be unique but they went for the price fix at $9.99 for the entrees. Service is spotty at times. We went with 2 elderly seniors with mobility issues--they had a hard time understanding that we needed a table and not a booth, so they stuffed 6 of us at a 4 top with the two teenagers hanging off the end. Tired then 2 more times (without the elderly seniors)--nothing special.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cynthiaa202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrinceWaltons, General Manager at Walton's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your review cynthiaa202. We appreciate your honesty as it helps us learn how to improve. I am personally sorry that you were not seated at the table of your choosing. We should have put 2 tables together for you as we do often for many parties but obviously failed in your case. Please let me know if you would like to give us another chance to impress you.

Thank You

Edward Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walton's also viewed

 

Been to Walton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing