We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is what you are looking for. Best hosts ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cozy cottage with spacious rooms with attached bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy cottage with spacious rooms with attached bathrooms
Kitchen and TV area Snapshot of the dining and rooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Cozy cottage with spacious rooms with attached bathrooms
Kitchen and TV area
Snapshot of the dining and rooms
One of the sample bed rooms
Our glam camp with attached bath
Our last guest sent us this shot !
Robin ( Village local) helped us make our signboard. We Respect his talent being a one hand man.
River Tista for angling
Rangli Ragliot tea Garden - Day tour
Monsoon sky
Sunrise from the farm
View from the rooms
A Panorama of the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District, West Bengal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gaurav M
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is what you are looking for. Best hosts ever!”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I am a regular homestay and farmstay traveler. And among all the one's that have hosted me, Auks Farm was undoubtedly the best. If you're looking for a review to decide, then the TLDR part is this - if you're looking for a quiet getaway in the hills of North Bengal, in a semirural setting but don't want to give up on the niceties of food and cleanliness and have the urge to meet great people, THEN BOOK AUKS FARM. IT'S BRILLIANT AND THE HOSTS ARE THE NICEST FOLKS YOU'LL EVER MEET.
Now the longer version. I landed up in Auks Farm with my wife right the day after our reception. We both love mountains, have a weakness for homestays or farmstays and shirk away from the hotels. We selected Auks Farm and Soreng for this and one major reason - after the maddening marriage thing we needed a break from it all. Given that we were short on time, Auks Farm and a few other places were on the list, all in North Bengal.
The reason we hit on and stuck with Auks Farm was that from the very first contact, Sushmita, our lovely host was extremely open and helpful. She was charming to talk to, easy to deal with and knowledgeable about all the weird questions a new groom asks!
And then we reached the property. It's tuck on a hill slope smack opposite Kalimpong.
It's a big farm with 4 accommodations - cottages of varying construction. One bamboo hut, a mud hut, a newly built (and may I say very lovingly constructed) wooden hut and a brick mortar one. All of them are small and cozy but big enough to accommodate families. And they do not lack any of the things you are used to - the bathrooms are modern and very clean, the beds are super nice, the decor is simple but tasteful, the furniture ample. Check the pics if you are in a rush. The total accommodation is limited to 16 max and that's by choice. Too much of a crowd would actually take a lot away from the hospitality that we found so endearing!

And the hospitality. Sushmita and her family are the owner's of the place. It's her brother, his wife and their mum who stay on the farm along with Sushmita. They are the loveliest and nicest hosts I've met in a long time. You could easily chat with them over a bonfire and a drink for hours on end and just have the best time. They cook all the food on their own and from produces from the farm itself.

And oh the food ! Imagine mouth watering pork, home made garlic bread, tossed chicken, freshly made pasta dinner or even the rice-dal-chicken lunch. The food was lip smacking and the lovely dining room was a place to just lol around. We were even served a barbeque of some of the most succulent pork ribs on our second evening. Sad that we were too busy eating and forget taking pics. They were served with so much care and good love that we were overwhelmed.

To end it all, even if I was a cynical critic of homestays, I don't I would find a single out of place at Auks Farm. The place, the people, the food, the hills - IT WAS A STAY WORTH REMEMBERING.

We will be back.
Keep em ribs ready Sushmita!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely descriptive review Gaurav :)
Please do visit us again we had a great time hosting you too.. !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnanyaTri...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Mesmerized with the soundlessness of the Nature.”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Excellent hospitality and delicious recipes have actually surged the comfort during our stay in Auks Farm . In the midst of serene nature we have nurtured our originality. The cottages in the Farm are nicely built to offer all the basis amenities and the surrounding flora adds beauty by all means. Anyone can re-discover himself while his stay in Auks Farm.
Love to visit again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Thank you for visiting us Ananya and Tuhin!
Please come again..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priya1976
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We (a family of 6) stayed here in December 2016. I had planned a trip to Sikkim/West Bengal and was looking for off-beat local homestays when I cam across this option. Nothing I saw or read on TripAdvisor or the Auks Farm website prepared me for the actual beauty of the place. Set apart from the usual touristy towns, Ashish, Bijaya and Sushmita offer a unique experience of a rural homestay. Sushmita was extremely friendly when I contacted her about the booking and sent me pictures and suggested various options among the cottages. She was very prompt to reply to emails and messages. Ashish arranged the pick-up from the airport.
The farm is a small family-run unit. You can read about the history of the farm and their mission on their website. We went there with no agenda - just wanting to relax for three days - and that is exactly what we did!
The cottages are all very clean and nicely furnished, each in its own style, showcasing local handicrafts and handlooms. Ashish and Bijaya provide delicious home-cooked food, mostly sourced from their own farm. A rambling walk through the woods, a picnic lunch (lovingly packed by Bijaya!), a visit to the local church on Christmas day to watch the village band perform, mornings spent in the verandah drinking tea and watching the sun rise, taking my toddler to throw food for the fishes in the pond and one lovely evening with a bonfire and local fruit wine - just chatting with Ashish and Bijaya - these are some of the things we did.
For those expecting five-star comforts - please do not come here. This is not a large commercial establishment and there are glitches like frequent power failures. But what stands out is the natural beauty and tranquility of the place and the fact that the hosts are doing their best to make their guests comfortable while conserving the ecosystem. Sushmita, Ashish and Bijaya (and Aunty!) - thank you for a memorable holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely and kind words Priya. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and your family. Do visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete M
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a unique place to relax, do nothing, and eat fantastic food!”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family for three glorious days and it was an exceptional experience. Our hosts Ashish and Bijaya were wonderful, and the food they prepared was seriously the best that we had during our three weeks in India. And what a relaxing place! We did nothing but chill, eat and take in the gorgeous views. Sushmita, who handled the booking, was phenomenal as well. Thanks so much Sushmita, Ashish, and Bijaya for everything - you made our stay at Auks Farm unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review and for being the perfect guests :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorer4...
1 review
“Heavenly experience”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

cozy comfortable stay, both Ashish and his wife were warm, friendly and caring.the property is just right for people who want to laze around and enjoy nature. weather was good. They even have a small book shelf with lot of readable stuff.

sorry Ashish for rating very good and not excellent as it will just raise the expectation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: i could see mountain from my bed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review. Do visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing