We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Cozy cottage with spacious rooms with attached bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy cottage with spacious rooms with attached bathrooms
Kitchen and TV area Snapshot of the dining and rooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Cozy cottage with spacious rooms with attached bathrooms
Kitchen and TV area
Snapshot of the dining and rooms
One of the sample bed rooms
Our glam camp with attached bath
Our last guest sent us this shot !
Robin ( Village local) helped us make our signboard. We Respect his talent being a one hand man.
River Tista for angling
Rangli Ragliot tea Garden - Day tour
Monsoon sky
Sunrise from the farm
View from the rooms
A Panorama of the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District, West Bengal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
William T
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great but why so expensive?”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I've been hesitant about writing this review cos it is a difficult one. On the one hand there were lots of positives, on the other hand none of these can justify the price we paid. Here we go:

We arrived in bagdogra airport and the owner picked us up. Great guy, impeccably on time and perhaps one of the best drivers in India (he actually pulled over when phoning, never honked ...). And 2000 for the pick up is probably a reasonable price.

So that was super. The place itself is quite nice too. It lies on a hill opposite kalimpong and whilst it s not really remote or far away from it all - a lot of people live around auks farm - it s still a calm area with nice surrounding.

The cottage - it s essentially one room - was nice. A decent bed, a decent bathroom and a water boiler for tea. So really OK.

Then the owners. They are super nice people. Very hospitable, great cooks (food was really good!), and just nice to talk to. They also have a nice story to tell and seem genuinely interested in developing the place in a way that benefits the villagers too.

So all in all, this is all very good. So why the average rating?

To start, one significant downside is that there is no heating which in December is a problem. We were really, really cold basically any time the sun wasn't shining. A bigger problem is that the dining hall is clearly not designed for winter. It s open and again it has no heating. So even though dinner was great you just enjoy it a little less when it s 3 degrees.

None of this is a disaster. Darjeeling is not Switzerland so don't complain, right?

Well, that s the thing. We were charged rs6000 per night. It s more than we're paying for a posh hotel in Calcutta, much more that we paid for some great places in sikkim & Darjeeling and just simply absurd if you consider that the place had no heating, doesn't have a unique view or historical value or just anything that justifies this rate.

So, wrapping up: it s a great place with nice owners but if u consider going there, negotiate the price downwards (a lot) especially in winter.

And if the owners read this - I see a lot of owners are reacting to critical reviews these days - don't take this in a bad way. We like the place, we like you & I'm sure you'll get many glowing reviews & happy customers if you adjust your price to a more reasonable level. Cheers, William

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Thank you for all the positive feedback William. We strive to be an exclusive non touristy, quiet getaway for people who are looking for calm peaceful holiday with good healthy food and comfortable stay.
We are very clear about our rates when we converse (email) with our guests prior booking. They are welcome to decline their booking if they are uncomfortable with the rates. Its unfortunate that you overlooked the price which was clearly mentioned in my email with you .
INR 3000 per person with all meals included is a fair deal, we feel .The bathrooms have geysers fitted, you have a kettle for hot water and tea, coffee amenities are provided. We use all organic farm produce and the meals are carefully cooked by us ( family members) to give you a healthy yet sumptuous meal all the time .

I was told that even your cab to Gangtok was organised at a much lower cost (2000 as against 3500 )

Regarding room heaters or central heating, Auks Farm is situated in Soreng which is much warmer than the main Darjeeling town hence we've never had complaints regarding the comfort , non existence of room heaters or even pricing for that matter. However, we'll definitely look into this and see if we can provide heaters for guests who have this problem. Also, keeping in mind that this is a farmstay and not a luxurious place :) and we like to keep it like that.

I'm relatively new on trip advisor, more active on Airbnb. This was our first feedback on pricing so we'll promise to think about it. It was lovely to have you both at our farm. Wishing you both happy travels!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishipishi
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Reading through the past reviews left us with a lot of expectations and excited about our stay at Auks Farm. Needless to say we were not disappointed at all. All the good things are so true! In fact it was all of what we thought it would be and more.

Auks Farm was a home away from home but such a picturesque and calm home with a spectacular view, neat and cosy rooms and best of all delicious home cooked meals. What made it truly special - our hosts - Sushmita, Ashish, Vijaya and a special mention must be made of Aunty (Sushmita's mother). We loved the conversations over garam chai and meals. Thank you for the special birthday treat. So glad we chose Auks for my birthday getaway.

My only regret is that we didn't plan a longer stay. During our stay we visited parts of Sikkim and the nearby town Kalimpong. I would have loved to spend a few more idyllic days at Auks. Its the perfect getaway to simply relax, read a lot and be happy doing nothing! Such a delight for a city dweller. I guess I am already looking at my calendar and planning my next stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review Ishita! Hope to see you soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sorel2015
Ahmedabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A memorable gem”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Make sure you visit Auks Farm which was a haven to this 73 year old solo woman traveller from Scotland. Having spent 6 weeks in big cities I was so ready for the authentic experience that is Auks Farm. Sushmita and her brother Ashish entranced me with their enthusiasm for their project to create a homely, comfortable and welcoming retreat on this secluded hill right in amongst the farms of Soreng. Surrounded by terraced land, and hills rolling into the distance my memory is of sunshine, healthy home grown meals and peace. The shared jeeps from Darjeeling and to Kalimpong were well driven and safe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The hostess and host, and the location
Liked least: I liked it all
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Sorrel!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariadxb
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ms.”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at auks farm for two nights, it's a gorgeous secluded farm house perfect for those looking for some quality down time. The farm has absolutely stunning u obstructed view of the mountains, lush green garden all around and perfect little nooks for catching up on reading, stretching on a yoga mat or just being there watching and taking it all in. Sush who owns this place doubles up on cooking duty as well and we enjoyed gorgeous, fresh healthy meals whilst there right from traditional fish curry to vegetarian meals( with vegetables grown on the farm). Absolutely loved being there and would definitely be going back. All the best

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Maria! Please visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;