We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
India Food Tour

The tour was fun and well run. Our guide was knowledgeable and informative. He went out of his way... read more

Reviewed 10 July 2018
Jacqueline N
via mobile
Great time with Jaidev!

We had such a wonderful tour with Jaidev. His knowledge of Delhi and the local food was... read more

Reviewed 16 February 2018
jmtuthill
,
Detroit, Michigan
Read all 48 reviews
  
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
46
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highly recommend this tour short notice great company his knowledge tours culture india gems airport
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Please note that this India Food Tour was more than just stopping for food.

It is like traveling thru time, seeing Old Delhi in more ways than one.

This part of New Delhi is not often seen by people on a work visit, however taking a day to visit Old Delhi by foot one bite at a time was a wonderful experience.

I was lucky to go solo as it was a mid-week tour. Jaidev, my guide took the time to explain not only the history of each stop but also the ingredients of each plate...

He did warn me to simply taste and not finish every serving as there were many more stops ahead. It was very hard to taste and go...

Each and every stop had its uniqueness, flavors and history. To know a country and its culture, once must taste their food and this was no exception. Expect to eat what the locals eat. You will not find India Express or India Hotel food here...

I will come back and I will do this tour again. THANK YOU Jaidev!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank bens627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at India Food Tour - Private Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Namaste Ben,

It is always good meeting people who appreciate and love food, it was our pleasure to have you on food tour with us. We would love to see you again on your trip to India and this time it will be different cities and more food.

Thanks
Team - Food Tour In Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

It's the fourth time I do this with a group. And it's a highlight comparable with Taj Mahal and Varanasi. Just do IT!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank AndreasAase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at India Food Tour - Private Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Namaste Andreas,

It was our pleasure serving you and your group always. It is such an honor to be compared with Taj Mahal and Varanasi.

Thanks
Team - Indian Food Tour In Delhi (Private Tour)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We booked this as part of my husband's birthday present. He is an avid fan of Indian food, and we like to think we're pretty adventurous with food, keen to try authentic dishes, but unsure of how to go about trying street food on our own.

This was the perfect solution. We were picked up from our hotel by our host for the tour Jaidev Jamwal, and taken on an unforgettable food journey through Old and New Delhi, taking in the amazing tourist sights and smells that bombard you.

We were taken down side alleys in Old Delhi, visiting street vendors who specialise in specific dishes, many of whom are continuing a family business established in the late 1800s, so known for their dishes - not that you'd ever know this as mainstream tourist. Along the way, we visited the spice market, got a behind the scenes view of an area where spices are sold wholesale around India. We also visited behind the scenes of a Sikh temple that feeds 10-12,000 people daily.

Day culminated in a meal at a restaurant frequented by locals.

Some of the food we tried (provided by the tour operator) included:

1)Kachori, samosa ( 2 types each), Puuri, Aaloo sabzi (potato curry) , gulab jamun, lassi.
2) Daualt ki Chaat (white fluffy snack)
3) Aalo chaat, Paav Bhaaji
4) Aaloo Tikki
5) Kulfi (Mango, pomegranate)
6) Cholay (chick peas), kulcha, Chole bhatura
7) Dahi chaat
8) Mushroom patty
9) Keema matar, Saag Chicken, Kofta curry, Naan, Rumali roti.
10) Naan Khatai (cookie)

Establishments visited included:

1) Lakshmi Misthaan Bhandaar (for Rajasthani Thali ) , sweets (doodh bundi ke laddoo)
2) Salty/sweet Lassi in walled city, M.I Road (early morning) .
3) Sanjay omelette ( for egg dishes)
4) Rawat Misthaan Bhandar (Pyaaz ki kachori)
5) Tea Shop - Tapri Cafe
6) Handi Resturant for Dinner at M.I Road

A great day if you love food but aren't brave enough to 'go it alone' - with the added bonus of seeing the sights.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at India Food Tour - Private Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Namaste Fiona,

Thank you for taking time out and writing us such a wonderful review, much appreciated!! It was pleasure meeting you both. Glad to know that you enjoyed the eateries in Jaipur as well.

Hope to see you guys again on your next visit.

Thanks
Team - Food Tour In Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Venturing where every travel book warns not to go.. back alleys eating fresh fruit and other street food... was awesome. Mr Rajeev Dalhoy himself took us and three other guests around for the day. The tour consisted of a ride in the car to Old Delhi. Starting off at a 1910-established eatery we time-traveled through the history of Delhi through delicious curries, sweets, breads, ice cream and other delights.

We took rickshaws to get around the bustling crowded streets on a busy Monday afternoon, all the while accompanied my Raj and his wife who were always at the ready with wet wipes, hand sanitiser and mineral water.

I could recommend this tour and this company to anybody visiting India. Rajeev also gave us fantastic recommendations for the rest of our trip in India.

We also did not see a single other tourist for the whole day.

Don't think twice - book this tour today!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Zani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at India Food Tour - Private Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hi Zani,

Thanks for taking time out and writing us a descriptive review, much appreciated. It was pleasure to have you and John with us. Hope you will equally enjoy the suggested eateries in other cities in India as well.

Thanks
Team - Food Tour In Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

This is a great chance to sample the very rich regional cuisine. Additionally, we enjoyed the glimpses to daily life in sections od Delhi that are not easily accessible to tourists. We had a great time and the guide and experience were superb. We highly recommend the tour to those interested in cuisine and culture.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank fbertoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at India Food Tour - Private Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Hi Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review. It was our pleasure to have you on tour.

Thanks
Team - India Food Tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews