We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Red Beach”
Review of Red Beach Cafe

Red Beach Cafe
Ranked #55 of 181 Restaurants in Tangalle
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Description: Red Beach Cafe is a restaurant run out of a reclaimed shipping container next to the waves of the famous Tangalle Bay Beach. Enjoy local ingredients, handmade breads, homemade desserts, fresh seafood, cocktails and delicious juices with the best restaurant view in Tangalle Bay. We serve Sri Lankan cuisine, pizza, pastas, soups, salad, and sandwiches but our signature dishes are made with local seafood. Eat next to the red sands and relax under the palm trees while basking in the fresh breeze from the Indian Ocean.
Restaurant details
Description: Red Beach Cafe is a restaurant run out of a reclaimed shipping container next to the waves of the famous Tangalle Bay Beach. Enjoy local ingredients, handmade breads, homemade desserts, fresh seafood, cocktails and delicious juices with the best restaurant view in Tangalle Bay. We serve Sri Lankan cuisine, pizza, pastas, soups, salad, and sandwiches but our signature dishes are made with local seafood. Eat next to the red sands and relax under the palm trees while basking in the fresh breeze from the Indian Ocean.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place has been established at a very prime location along the beach! It even has a gate that enables it's visitors to go to the beach. The variety on the menu is excellent. We have everything from burgers, to pizzas and pastas. The ambience is very soothing and relaxing. It's a must visit place!

Thank Vandana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Manager at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're so glad you visited us! Makes us very pleased you enjoyed everything, that is our goal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had walked down the main part of the beach past the same looking restaurants and bars so it was great to be directed to somewhere fresh and vibrant. The location was fantastic, you could feel the sea on your face. We had spicy fish croquets and a prawn curry which was some of the nicest food we have had the last 2 weeks. Very friendly staff too and a lovely place to watch the sun set on their roof.

Thank DrHorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Manager at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're so glad you tried our local cuisines and were able to enjoy all the characteristics of our location. We have a lot of pride in our restaurant and hope it shows! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Red Beach Café - Tangalle
On the way from Tangalle to Matara was this quaint little café on the beach which has opened recently. Set up with red garden umbrellas overlooking the ocean, we stopped over for a quick lunch. A limited menu of sandwiches and burgers with a bit of rice, the ambience was super. The portions were also well presented. The Chef took time to speak to guests. The staff was friendly and efficient. A breezy place to sit for a quick munch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Siraj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Manager at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're so glad you found us! We're expanding our menu so next time you come please try some of our Chef's favorites. Thank you for leaving a review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Sri Lanka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We have been two times in this restaurant during our stay in Tangalle. Fist for diner and we came again the day after for lunch. Nice place, with good atmosphere in front of the ocean. Food and service are excellent and all employees are very friendly.

Thank Lionel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Manager at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your return service! We are so pleased you came back to enjoy our beautiful ocean view for lunch. Hope you have a delightful stay in Sri Lanka and safe passage home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Located in a super location with ample parking. The owner is very welcoming. The staff is extra helpful. Food is simple fantastic

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBeach_Cafe, Manager at Red Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Beach Cafe also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Red Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing