We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Hikkaduwa Villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful open ocean views from anywhere in the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful open ocean views from anywhere in the property
Ocean view across the dining table The front garden, pool and open Ocean views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Beautiful open ocean views from anywhere in the property
Ocean view across the dining table
The front garden, pool and open Ocean views.
Our swimming pool as viewed from above!
The house, wall and pool lit up at night (just choose a pool colour!)
Beach towels are included
The beach house viewed from in front of the swimming pool
The main house, sun deck and shaded veranda with monsoon blinds
Outdoor living.  Day and night
Sliding glass doors lead straight out onto a large shaded veranda and living area
Locally-made veranda furniture for lounging and dining outside
Relax in comfort enjoying the sunsets and the ocean views in any weather with monsoon blinds
Let us prepare a seafood BBQ for you to eat at the beach house.
Outside on the upstairs studio apartment balcony
Inside the upstairs studio apartment looking towards the ocean
The kitchen inside the upstairs studio apartment
Inside the studio apartment upstairs
The en-suite bathroom in the upstairs apartment
The ground floor double bedroom
The ground floor double room en-suite bathroom
The ground floor twin bedroom
The twin bedroom en-suite bathroom
The ground floor kitchen
The back garden with secure parking space. Driver accommodation available (on the right)
Entrance to the beach house from the side garden
You'll never tire of these amazing sunsets!
Another sunset view taken from directly in front of the beach house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rob D
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Perfect Hikkaduwa Villa”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Where else can you get a self contained villa with beach access in Hikkaduwa? Great Value, Great View and well managed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Very kind of you to say, Rob. You are already one of our valued returning guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
853canadi...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well Maintained Property on a Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We spent seven nights at the house in Mar-Apr 2015, along with our teens. Overall it was a very good experience and I would return!! Gavin and Mahinda made everything a breeze, from booking, to airport transport, to excursions, to meals, and more! The house has three units, and we only used two. Our teens used the main floor unit and the parents in the upstairs. Both units have what travelers would need to be comfortable. The units are clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. The upstairs has some traffic noise from Galle Road but this is unavoidable in the entire area and we got used to it quickly! We felt safe at this property, and the overnight security just added to that. Tuk-tuks always wait outside and cost 200rupee/approx. The property and house are well cared for. The surfing zone and town are about a ten minute walk on the beach. We ate at local cafes all week; prices are reasonable and the food is good. Careful for the undertow! We did a Yala Natl Park Safari and whale tour. The safari was a long day but well worth it. We saw many whales. Go with Mahinda's tour suggestions; he is a friendly person who wants to take care of his guests! The pick up at the airport went smoothly too, as did the return drive to Colombo.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2015
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Lysa. You'll all be welcome back any time with our returning guest discount!

Take care,
Gavin & the Beach House team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temporari...
2 reviews
“Amazing property in an even better location”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Basically paradise. If you've ever wanted to know what it's like to live a life that's next to a perfect beach, you should stay here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Glad you enjoyed it, Ben! You'll be welcomed back with our usual discount for returning visitors!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylveeGee
York
1 review
“Not off to a great start ......”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Arrived first night, went to bed, woke up to find someone had gotten into our bedroom and stolen my handbag (passport, cards, cash, technical items etc). Not a great start at all. Reported it to security who then said it had been found on the beach and handed in by someone (minus cash obviously). Were advised by police not to report it for insurance purposes as I would be likely to not get my bag back for a month or so whilst it went through the courts, oh but I could pay a small fee to the man who found the bag to encourage him not to report it.

Nice place, well equipped, great beach front location ... shame.
Other nice villas in same location, wouldn't recommend this one due to security issues.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
I am SO sorry this happened to you! The audacity of this theft has really shocked us. We have never experienced anything like this before and we are determined to prevent it from happening to us again!

I have already given the go-ahead for a night security hut / daytime snack bar to be erected in the bottom corner of the garden, which will allow us to keep watch over our guests 24/7. We will also be improving the security lighting we have in the gardens and installing some additional security systems.

I would also like to apologise for not emailing you directly but I have been communicating with James, who arranged your booking. His comment to me was as follows:

"Mahinda has been excellent in speaking with the police etc and done everything he can to solve the issues. On the whole it has been a minor issue but not one which has disrupted the holiday significantly. It certainly won't stop us from returning in 2015."

I can't understand the reasoning regards obtaining a crime reference number for you to make an insurance claim but I'll speak with Mahinda to see what can still be done.

As a general note, guests should always bring their valuables inside the property before going to bed at night. Close and lock the front doors from the inside. This is advice that should be followed wherever you stay on holiday but particularly necessary when staying in a property that backs straight onto a public beach. There will always be a trade off between securing the property at night and preserving the Ocean view during the day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay44
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“"Tropical Paradise"”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tropical Beach House is everything that is promised. Well, almost. The house is beautiful, exactly what you see on its website. The first floor room extending to an open kitchen is the best the place has to offer. The ground floor room is a little cramped, but really, who cares. You won't be spending your day there. It's the sit out area, both on the first floor and the ground floor, where you can chill and be just fifty feet away from the sea. And that is the USP of this place. The entire house is warm, friendly, and you feel right at home. It has everything you need for a long stay, and we ended up doing serious cooking. The beach feels like you own it, with not a person in sight for miles in either direction. This is your very personal paradise.

And then some things that we did not expect. There was no promised cook. Seems like he goes away in off season, something that caused some gloom and was a let down. Then, no Madinda to greet us when we arrived, slightly disoriented at around 8 pm, not knowing where our dinner was coming from. This despite speaking to him earlier in the day. And then, the young housekeeper boy, who sadly is the wrong person for the job. He imagines his job to be lounging in his cottage in front of the TV with a spaced out expression, and pretending not to understand a word of what you say. The best he could offer was to call Mahinda on his phone and make you speak to him when we arrived tired and hungry. A bit of a stressful start.

Mahinda of course came and went. Clearly, he had other fish to fry, and devoting time to the guests here was more on a remote control on phone, with once a day appearance. Having said that, he was still quite helpful, and guided us well.

One small word of caution. This place is about two km away from the Hikkaduwa town. So if you need to go to town, the tuk tuks will do their best to fleece you. Be prepared. Or else you can walk, an easy twenty to thirty minutes.

And lastly, DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE OF EATING AT THE NEXT DOOR CINNAMON GARDEN HOTEL. We did that our first night on Mahinda's (telephonic) recommendation. We were cheated. Paid close to 5000 sri lankan rupees, for a disaster meal by a very glib talking boy who assured us that most places in the town would be closed by then. He lied to us.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Firstly, Sanjay, thanks for the lovely comments about the house and its location. It's so nice to hear that you appreciated some of the beauty of the place especially given that you were staying in an off-season month, which explains why the beach was particularly quiet then.

We are definitely going to digest your constructive criticisms but here are a few comments that I would like to make in response:

1. The Tropical Beach House is offered on a self-catering basis. It is not a hotel. We can usually arrange for someone to prepare meals for you or assist in a myriad other ways. However, in this case, due to circumstances beyond our control, I believe that nobody was available to cook for you. I apologise but this is really just one of those things that sometimes happens. Given its proximity, Cinnamon Gardens was a reasonable alternative for you. Obviously, we have no control over the service offered this but I have always enjoyed eating there and have had lots of positive feedback from guests who have done the same over the years. I should also explain for the benefit of others that Rs5,000 is currently GBP£22 and this does not seem to me an unreasonable food and drink bill for 4 people.

2. Chaminda is primarily the caretaker at the property. His role is varied but he usually works much harder when there are no guests staying. When the property is occupied, he generally respects the privacy of guests and often enjoys a little well-earned down time. However, he should still be available to help out and clean your rooms as often as daily, if that is your wish. This is not what everyone wants, which is why I say in my welcome notes that you must make it clear at the beginning of your stay how you wish to be catered for. I'm sorry to hear that you had difficulties communicating with each other.

3. Mahinda is my local business partner and a fellow investor. He is almost always available to greet new arrivals but at this particular time, he really did have quite a bit else going on. However, as you say, he still made time for a daily appearance and was available to speak on the phone with you at any time.

4. The Tropical Beach House is indeed about 2km South of Hikkaduwa town, which makes it just about the most perfectly located beachfront property in the area for its proximity to the vast majority of activities that can be found BETWEEN the two locations yet still remaining in a largely residential area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing