We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Chefchaouen Medina
from US$44.00
More Info
from US$45.00
More Info
from US$100.90
More Info
from US$83.34
More Info
Reviews (3,804)
Filter reviews
3,804 results
Traveller rating
2,907
750
109
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,907
750
109
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue city old city blue color every corner rif mountains the main square beautiful town walk around other cities ras el shop owners take photos narrow streets day trip small city spanish mosque blues
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 3,804 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

Morocco is filled with unique experiences throughout the country and Chefchaouen’s Medina offers a wonderful opportunity for shopping and dining.
The small shops were filled with trinkets, art, clothes and entertainment.

Surprisingly, we were not bombarded with over eagered sales people trying to sell us things.

It is a good walk for young kids also, just as long you are willing to stop every other store to buy them something.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank waway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020

“Hostel Aline is always my best option in chefchaouen, I am a recurrent customer & I am always satisfied with the services in that beautiful hostel. It's equipped with everything you need, with great location & very beautiful authentic interior design. I am familiar with the personal & I am always happy to pass my vacation at hostel Aline”

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank eslamf464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2020

This is a unique historical Medina. People travel from all corners of the Earth to see this blue coloured district. It was built in 1400s to fight the Portuguese invaders. You can see myriad shades of blue painted on the facades of houses, mosques, restaurants shops, doors, windows and flowerpots. There are many legends associated with this blue rinsing. Some say that when the Jews moved here they wanted to define their identity so they started painting the houses with paint mixed with indigo, as opposed to the green Muslim houses. Others claim that the blue colour was their method as it repelling mosquitos and evil. Another explanation is that the blue colour does not retain heat and keeps the houses cool. Some believe that the blue colour is the essence of of spiritual life as it symbolises the sky and heaven. But as most locals relate that at some point in history someone came up with the idea of painting the town blue to increase tourist traffic. Now the locals take pride in this colour and own it.

Date of experience: January 2020
92  Thank HINAWASEEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

The medina is clean and the people are not as aggressive as the large cities like Marrakech and Casa B. The down side is if you are not fit , it will be challenging because of the steep steps and cobblestone walkways. Thanks to Magic Desert Tours !

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank Vitatibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

I don’t think there are enough words to express how much I loved this place.
It is stunning, but also a great way to see some normal Moroccan life.
The people are lovely and we did not experience any hard sell or pushiness.

I am in love!

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank dribble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews