We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
29
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool galana river easy access beautiful spot family tent african bush game drives conservancy bank kingfisher sala tents hippos gate camp coast km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

What a lovely welcoming camp. Beautifully situated on the bank of the river. Animals come down to get water. The bird life is wonderful. A small but very welcome plunge pool.
The tents are very comfortable. The staff couldn’t be more helpful.
We will be back.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank skvarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Kulalu for 2 nights to celebrate an 80th birthday. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was very good and we had Avery enjoyable time. With easy access to Sala Gate into Tsavo West, this is an ideal spot to spend some safari time.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DavidR1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

We found the camp empty - we were the only visitors. It had been damaged in the recent floods loosing their swimming pool. Repairs were underway. Most staff appeared to be away. The rooms could do with a though 'audit' our shower was full of ants and had to be cleaned. The camp manager was very keen to help and I'm sure all will get back to normal in a wee while

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2019

Great Location,- camp directly on the banks of Galana River.Very nice staff,; clean, spacious and beautiful tents. 5 tents only, one of them a cery spacious family tent - so very private. Very exclusive,, fabulous food.
No fence around the camp, so animals can pass throug any time
Only 12 km from Sala Gate and around 100 km from Malindi ( termac road). Entrance into Tsavo East is not necessary, because you can do game drives in the Galana Conservancy. Very private und nice landscape, good game viewing.
At the moment is Kulalu the far best camp in Tsavo East area !
We definitely wiill be back next year, we fell in love from the first moment!

Room tip: Perfect riverview from all of the 5 tents, comfortable new tents
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwanakarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2019

It was a delight to revisit one of my favourite bends in the Galana river and to find the camp beautifully re-established after the latest natural disaster. The river itself has changed shape, a few trees are missing, but the site is still as magical as ever. The beds are as comfortable, the showers as generous, and the atmosphere as serene as I remember. We were wonderfully looked after by Bush, who unobtrusively takes responsibility for almost everything, making sure your glass is full, your plate is more than full, and just about everything else is as it should be. He is backed by a friendly and welcoming crew, eager to make sure you have the very best of times.

We had some good sightings on safari but, for me, the real joy of Kulalu has always been being able to lounge outside your tent, or by the bar, and watch the comings and goings of the animals as they come down to the river to drink or to rest in the shade. This 'activity' has been hugely enhanced by the new addition to the facilities of a plunge pool.

Sitting or floating in the cool water after a lovely lunch, a group of very relaxed (and, I confess, rather giggly) people, watched warthog and baboon, hartebeest, zebra and impala inter-acting on the opposite bank of the river. We decided that this was undoubtedly the highlight of a thoroughly enjoyable trip.

Room tip: As far as I know, all the tents have a view to the river. You can ask for twin or double beds.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews