We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
23
2
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
2
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Comfortable one bedroom apartment with well functioning kitchen, sitting area with a view of the ocean, nicely decorated with special touches, patio all screened with a view exceptional, ocean and dock leading out to gazebo. Quiet spot close to Mangroves, hosts Carol and Ron always there to make your vacation something very special.Sandy Bay is just a great spot and my husband and I have spent the last six years coming to this lovely little one bedroom . Highly recommended

Room Tip: There is a 1-bedroom; 2-bedroom and a Cabana to choose from
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We just spent a month at Captain Ron's Hideaway and enjoyed it very much. Our apartment was very comfortable and had everything we needed. It was very clean and bright and right on the beach. It was so nice to go to sleep hearing the waves a beautiful peaceful place. There was a dock where we had happy hour at five o'clock and we watched the beautiful sunsets. Ron and Carol are fantastic people I feel that I have became good friends with them. They do everything possible to make sure you have a memorable holiday. The only draw back I could say there is the turtle grass but if you can get over it and I did there is a fantastic reef not too far away. The rent is very reasonable and I will be going back miss you guys see you next year.

Room Tip: It is very quiet here and you have a beautiful view of the oceon
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phollida1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

This was our first trip to Roatan and won't be our last. The hospitality Ron and Carol gave to us was totally outstanding. We have never received anything like this before in all of our travels. They introduced us to their local friends which are all the very best. The 1 bedroom apartment was comfortable had all the amenities we needed. Carol had everything spotless. The view was gorgeous to get up in the morning and sit on the screened in patio and look out to the sea was so relaxing and enjoyable. The beach was awesome, walking distance to Blue Island Divers for scuba and snorkeling which you could do right in front of the apartment. Ron has kayak's available also for your use. The location was perfect we liked the quietness. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: both apartments have great views
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Just not what expected based on few photos on website. They have added a 3' cement wall around the apartments which are built out under their home. Where the open patio was in pics is now enclosed behind wall and screen. There is the beach you can sit at beyond the wall, but can't see view from inside. View out kitchen is obstructed by chain link fence. I share this just so others aren't surprised by difference from website photo. They are working to complete remodel and due to this we didn't feel like they were quite ready for us. Lovely very long dock with seats at end that guests can enjoy. If you want to feel like you are living in Sandy Bay this is good taste.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank beachdreamer1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We have stayed at West End Beach, so this time we wanted a bit more quiet, space, and a feel for the "old island style". We love feeling as though we discovered a bit of hidden paradise, and this place has just that. Still conveniently located to all the amenities we needed.
As advertised, Ron met us at the airport, took us shopping at Eldon's grocery, helped us get settled in, and offered to show us around. The hospitality and help getting orientated was a bonus you rarely get at other properties.
The location makes exploring the island a breeze. Eldon's grocery is 5 minutes drive or taxi. West End is 10 minutes, West Bay 15 minutes.
Carol is a great hostess, making sure we never lacked for anything. We asked in advance of our stay if they had a dartboard, and we were thrilled to see a new horsehair board ready for us to play. I know not everyone plays darts, but it is our hobby and we loved playing on the beachside porch each night. Great quality TV with loads of cable stations. We travel with our own HDMI cable so we can watch our own movie collection, and the new TV has a HDMI connection. The kitchen is well equipped, bathroom is clean and well appointed. Bed linens are 100% cotton of good quality.
A new second bathroom is under construction and will be a great addition to the 2 bedroom unit when completed. The one bedroom unit has new tile floor throughout the unit.
Ron and Carol have many expat friends on the island, and they will invite you along if they are entertaining. We enjoyed fantastic dinners at Tong's Thai in West End, Bananarama in West Bay, and the Blue Parrot nearest the house. We met several of their friends and enjoyed the comraderie.
Snorkeling is great just in front of the house. We enjoyed the reef and fish being so close. We dove with Blue Island Divers for our scuba, and have recommended them in their own review.
We are heading home relaxed, rested, and with happy memories of our time here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews