We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, Friendly hosts close to the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apartment 'Masha'

Bedroom / living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom / living room
Bedroom / living room Bedroom / living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Bedroom / living room
Bedroom / living room
Bedroom / living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom 2
View from balcony
View from balcony
Exterior
Exterior
Location on the map
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hvar, Hvar Island, Split-Dalmatia County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Barney D
1 review
“Excellent location, Friendly hosts close to the harbour”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Good location, within a 5 minute walk of the supermarket and harbour. The kitchen was well stocked so easy to cook in. The second bedroom is quite small so beware of that, other than that was an excellent stay and would definitely stay there again. Olga and her husband were both very nice and accommodating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
We are sorry if you felt disappointed.The apartment is categorized 2+2- that means that the extra beds (in the small room are cheaper ).And at least they are completely separated.And all of this visible on our add.
We are glad that you found us nice and would like to stay in our house again. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel T
1 review
“Pleasant stay in apartment for four - 5 minute walk from the heart of Hvar (Town) and harbor.”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Apt. Masha is situated just up the hill from the center of Hvar near the base of the old city fort. The view from the master bedroom balcony includes most of the harbor and the nearby church tower and we enjoyed our meals and a few glasses of wine watching the sunset and the yachts coming and going. I stayed here in July with 3 others and found the amenities to be convenient and modern. There is a kitchen with large fridge and dinning table, master bedroom with TV and air-conditioner with a comfy couch, and a bathroom with storage space and modern shower/toilet/medicine cabinet. The second bedroom is fairly small with enough room for the bed (which may be a little soft for some) and a night stand, but we did not spend much time in the apt. other than meals and sleep so it was fine for us.

Location is great as it is just up the hill from the center of town and harbor. From the ferry it is about a 5-10 minute walk depending on how quick you can get up the stairs (which there are a few but they are manageable if you are in shape and have no issues with climbing them or physical handicap. Groceries are easily available about 10 minutes away. I would skip the studenta(sp) market by the main square and walk another block up by the bus station. There you will find a large supermarket that is not as crowded and limited in selection.

As Hvar is know for the partying and boating types I would not suggest you plan on drinking or being rowdy in the apartment. The location is great but it is in a quiet neighborhood and the owners live below you. Speaking of which Olga and her husband are delightful people that welcomed us to the apartment and shared with us tips and suggestions on seeing the sites and getting around.

There are tours for a few hundred Kuna to sail to other islands and or rent jeeps for some off-roading adventures. Honestly, after checking a few offers in town Olga was able to find a great deal that left a little later in the day and included lunch which several other tours in the port did not. Additionally, I would suggest renting a car and getting out of Hvar (town) to see the island. Several of the other towns and hillside vinyards are 35 mins -1 hour away along mostly empty roads with plenty of beautiful site seeing along the way.

All in all the Apartment Masha was a great find and we would recommend it for a couples retreat. Olga is responsive and helpful via email when setting up reservation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Well, thank you! We just treet our guests the way we would like to be treeted. It is just a little kindness .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Olga was a fantastic host - very helpful, very friendly! The apartment was perfect for 4 adults to enjoy a great few days in Hvar. 5 minutes walk from centre of Hvar Town. Lots of stairs to reach the building, however this was not an issue for us, and meant the views were fantastic. Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thanks! We are really grateful that the effort is recognized. We just wish that our guests get what they need while being with us. People should always be friendly and ready to help each other whenever they are able to. This is what we believe!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDD70
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday in Hvar at Apartment Masha”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic two week stay at Apartment Masha in Hvar, a perfectly relaxing holiday with great weather, a beautiful town, friendly locals and fantastic hosts in Olga and Jurij. The apartment was very clean and very comfortable, well equipped and felt very much like a home from home. There are superb views from the balcony and the apartment is very close to the centre of Hvar but far enough away that you don't hear the noise from the busy waterfront area. For the first week of our two week stay our teenage daughter and her friend came with us and they also loved Hvar and what it had to offer and again Olga as our host had some great local advice for the girls with regards where to go and what to do.

The local people were very friendly and engaging and my own view is that the restaurants around Hvar offered very good value for food and drink with regards the quality and quantity, yes there are one or two places that were a bit more expensive but there are many more that offer great food at a good price. In particular I would recommend Dalmatino (book ahead if you can) absolutely fantastic food and service, Fig (for lunch) and Bistro For - great value food.

It was also a personal pleasure to meet Olga and Jurij and of course 'Masha', great hosts who were genuinely interested ensuring we were comfortable but also providing some history and background of both Hvar and Croatia, I only hope that when visitors come to Scotland they are met with the same warmth and hospitality.

I would also concur with all of the comments from the previous review from JPCoveney.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts, Close location to centre of Hvar, weather, view from balcony, WiFi excellent
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Our guests are really important to us, and we are glad we managed to make your holidays memorable.Hoping to meet again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPCoveney
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our best holiday so far!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay at Apartment Masha for two weeks at the end of June this year was absolutely wonderful. The apartment is extremely comfortable and clean, in a quiet residential area with a lovely view of the bay from the balcony. The welcome and attendance from Olga and Jure was, without exaggeration, beyond expectation. I would like to say that it felt staying with relatives, but I do not have any relatives who are that pleasant!
Hvar is an amazing place, around the main square there is a warren of stepped narrow lanes. These are easily navigated by steps down means toward the square and up the opposite, no steps being parallel. Just take the time to wander around though as there is something at every corner, glorious blooms hanging into the lane, stunning views framed between the buildings, children playing on the steps……….etc., etc.
The harbour is an ever changing vista, with the arrival and departure of ferries, excursion boats, yachts, cruise ships in the bay and from our balcony in the morning or evening it was fascinating to watch.
Olga and Jure gave us very good advice about using the water taxis to the outlying islands, what too see, where to eat and not etc. We followed their advice and had a lovely relaxing holiday.
Finally there is something that I should mention. There appears to be three types of visitor to Hvar, those like us there for an interesting and relaxing holiday in a beautiful environment, those who are there for a day visiting from a cruise ship and those on short stay partying visits for the night clubs. The day visitors get lead around in groups like sheep and appear not to get a chance to really flavour the place and the party goers arrive at night and seems to be generally well behaved and have a good time but don’t see the place at all. To these visitors I would highly recommend going back to Hvar, take your time, talk to the friendly locals and have a really close look. I know we are going to and we shall be staying again at Apartment Masha!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Bertie the Mosquito!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thank you, John,for your kindd and wonderful review. We just feel like we are hosts to our guests not a lendlady and a lendlord to tourists. So, we help as much as we can. We would be very happy hosting you again in our apartment .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing