We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious ”

Delta Blues Hot Tamales
Ranked #30 of 1,040 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Description: We specialize in a type of regional tamale known as Mississippi Delta-Style Red Hots. As the name suggests, they are spicy! Customers can choose from our spicy pork or our vegan spicy bean. In addition, we also serve up milder dishes, such as Chicken Fried Chicken Fingers, Blue-Corn Crusted Catfish, Red Beans N'Rice, Southern-Inspired Tacos, and Crawfish Etouffee, just to name a few. These can be enjoyed inside or on our beautiful courtyard patio. For those with food restrictions, all of our food is naturally gluten-free, and we do not have peanuts, tree nuts, or sesame seeds in our facility. Likewise, we only have a limited number of items containing eggs, soy, and dairy, so we can accommodate those allergies as well. As always, please be sure to tell your server of any allergy or food intolerance you might have.
Restaurant details
Description: We specialize in a type of regional tamale known as Mississippi Delta-Style Red Hots. As the name suggests, they are spicy! Customers can choose from our spicy pork or our vegan spicy bean. In addition, we also serve up milder dishes, such as Chicken Fried Chicken Fingers, Blue-Corn Crusted Catfish, Red Beans N'Rice, Southern-Inspired Tacos, and Crawfish Etouffee, just to name a few. These can be enjoyed inside or on our beautiful courtyard patio. For those with food restrictions, all of our food is naturally gluten-free, and we do not have peanuts, tree nuts, or sesame seeds in our facility. Likewise, we only have a limited number of items containing eggs, soy, and dairy, so we can accommodate those allergies as well. As always, please be sure to tell your server of any allergy or food intolerance you might have.
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We love coming to delta blues it's bumping at night and then it's got the best brunch on Sunday's. I don't know how this place is such a well kept secret. Fantastic service very friendly folks.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Jansen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Catfish Belzoni with marinated cucumber salad as the side for me, gluten free, but you won't notice. The Crawdaddy for my husband with an ale, both of which he quite liked. We like sitting in the patio area under the trees and strings of lights. The service is always good, well informed and pleasant. This was our second trip there and it was fairly busy, but doesn't feel crowded. It feels peaceful. I wish I could be there on a Sunday for brunch, but haven't gotten to as yet.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Auroradancings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Down a cute alley, near other restaurants. Amazingly decorated. Bubba was our waiter and he was nothing but helpful and accommodating and shared the story of the place. Loved the food, good drink selection. Perfect for anyone with special food needs, they are super accommodating, have gluten free, vegetarian (vegan if memory serves) and others...just go!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alliswell252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

If you are a tamale fan and are missing the Delta just stop on by and get your fill!
It was a beautiful day so we sat in the courtyard and had our fill of tamales. My favorite tamales from the Delta are in Clarksdale Ms but while not the same these are pretty close. Service was great and portions were plentiful. Will definitely stop here again next time we are in town!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Went to Delta Blues hot tamales after reading reviews about the great food. I ordered one of the tamale dishes and it was ok but not outstanding as was advertised. No one in the party of 5 thought it was good as advertised. We wanted to try a new place and the location was somewhere we had not visited before. The outside sitting area was nice. Don't think any of would vote to go back there. Don't understand how it got rated so high.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank jerryf977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delta Blues Hot Tamales also viewed

 

Been to Delta Blues Hot Tamales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing